We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Love Love Love the Outrigger and BEST Location on Waikiki” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 85 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Bothell, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love Love Love the Outrigger and BEST Location on Waikiki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

This was our 2nd trip to Waikiki, and our family of four (kids ages 8 & 14) traveled from Feb 21-27 and LOVED our stay at the Outrigger. We had booked an Ocean View room, and we checked in late (11 PM) and Stacey with the bell service was so friendly and helpful, he met us up at our room with our luggage - so awesome! We had really wanted to upgrade to ocean front, so I had called earlier that morning and spoke with Mikala who asked me to come see her when we got up the next morning and she'd see if she had an upgrade available for the remainder of our stay. She showed us two different rooms and she was so accomodating in moving us to a room we liked. I've never experienced great customer service like that so a big Maholo to her!!! She was awesome and very nice too!! We ended up in a 3rd floor room (#320) which was two rooms from the front on the diamond head side of the bldg. We had a great view of the ocean and loved watching the surfers day and night. The maid service was great, brought us extra towels when we requested them and kept the room clean. The only negative we have were the beds were a little "springy" for our liking... not bad, but would have liked a little more comfortable bed. We did get used to them after the 3rd day. We didn't spend much time in the room anyway (just to sleep and change). We didn't mind the short wait for the elevators... and never had much of a problem like some of the other reviews i've seen. You had to have a key to get to any floors so that was nice for security.

We loved Dukes...from the buffet in the morning, to the salads and burgers/fries for lunch to the great cocktails and live music in the evening - it was the best place to eat and relax. The beach was nice.. a little crowded... but we loved boogie boarding and playing in the surf. The sand is really soft and the water is clean with medium waves fun enough without being to scary. The surf school in front was nice too, kids took surfing lessons and then the older kids rented boards for a few hours. Catamaran ride was fun.. only $25 for adults/$10 kids, so pretty inexpensive and was really fun, they take you out for an hour and sometimes see dolphins, whales and flying fish.. we only saw a whale, but was still lots of fun and people in the front got soaked on the way out. The pool area was not big but nice and clean, most chairs were occupied early, and you could get and exchange towels as often as you needed which was really nice. The Deli in the lower lobby had the best sandwiches and smoothies and was really reasonable too. Lots to do right there on the beach in front of the hotel which was really nice.

We rented a car and the valets were VERY efficient even though a little spendy $30/day but worth it if you want to explore the island. We went snorkeling at Hanauma Bay, did a jungle tour at Kuloa Ranch and went up to the north shore a couple of days to to watch the surfers on pipeline, and take a surf lesson at turtle bay. Stopped at Ted's Bakery on the northshore and had the best breakfast sandwich, cornbread and pie ever!! Every evening we came back to the hotel and the valets were so quick and helpful. Also, every evening went out shopping and to a different restaurant every night. Loved eating at Jimmy Buffets Beachcomber, Tiki's, and Lulu's. Lots of great stores - from the The International Market right across the street to the ABC stores on every block and all the little specialty shops in between. The street entertainment was the best too... from magicians, to dancers to artists... the evenings always flew by so fast and it was nice to be able to walk to everything - we stayed out til 11 every night shopping and walking around. We did make a trip to Walmart on our first day (what an experience that was!!) to get snacks/breakfast stuff/bottled water - to save a little money and calories! Loved having a coffee shop Seattle Best right in lower lobby too, to grab a coffee every morning.

Overall we loved the "smaller" hotel type feel the Outrigger has where everyone is so friendly and you don't need a "map" to get around the property. We felt like we could really relax and be "at home" for a week. We are already planning on coming back next year!! They are doing renovations (new doors, soundproofing, new carpets, better lighting in bathroom, pool/beach areas) too so it will be exciting and can't wait to see how it turns out.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms toward the front of the hotel have a good view, try to ask for a room on the diamon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gelene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,418
    1,465
    390
    129
    57
See reviews for
1,383
1,960
106
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed four nights in a corner one bedroom suite at the beginning of March. We got a great deal because they said they were going to be refurbishing, but they actually didn't start until our last day. We couldn't believe how big the suite was, how friendly the staff was and the BEST view! We've been to Waikiki many times but we've never splurged and stayed on the beach before, now we're spoiled. It is DEFINITELY worth the extra money! We will be back to the Outrigger.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glbtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rödermark
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

End of February 2012 we spent four night in the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. The hotel is ideally located in the center of Waikiki with direct access to the famous beach.
In spite of our early arrival we were offered a room immediately, even with some kind of upgrade with a nicer view than our booked category. The hotel staff at the reception was very helpful, we could even choose between two available rooms after having seen them.
Of course, the hotel is not brandnew and would need some renovation here and there. But all staff was very helpful and friendly.
The rooms are clean and well equipped. Daily room service was perfect. A minor disadvantage was availability of elevators, which were always very crowded. An hotel of this size and with guests, who come and go frequently, would definitely need more elevators. But time doesn't matter so much, when you are on vacation.
The outdoor pool is not very fancy but ok. There were plenty of beachchairs available and towels were always available at the pool. Anyhow, if you go to Waikiki, beach should have fist preference against the pool. The beach was also clean, but the different services offeríng catamaran sailing, diving or surfing did occupy a bit too much space with negative effects on available space for enjoying beach life.
The Outrigger is offering a convenience store in the basement, where you can get all small items including alcoholic beverages until late evening. In addition one can find several boutiques with swimwear, souvenirs etc. The hotel is also offering different restaurants, one is including a beach bar with life music in the evening. All of them offer their service from early morning breakfast, lunch, diner and snacks until late evening. The resturants are operated independently but in close co-operation with the hotel. Our preferred place was Duke's, which will get a separate recommendation.
Leaving the hotel you find all kind of shopping opportunities and restaurants. The International Market with life entertainers and artist is on the opposite side of the street, where you also find one of the many ABC shops with a huge variety of products including a good selection of wines at reasonable prices.
We do recommend the Outrigger mainly because of its ideal location and the friendly service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael0357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LornaPuna, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Aloha michael0357,
Nice to hear you were able to get right into your room upon arrival and that the staff was so accomodating. The hotel is in the process of updating the elevators and things should be up and running by July of 2012. In fact even the pool and the guest rooms are being completely refurbished at this time. Please come again soon so you can experience all of the updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

This was my wife's fist time to the Hawaiian islands, but I have been many times in the 80's and 90's. I already had a lowered expectation of Honolulu and only booked a short stay on a 3 island vacation. Honolulu is very different and cleaned up with many new restaruants, high-end shopping all with the sounds of locals literally singing and dancing along the streets block after block. Within all of this Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach has a spectacular location on Waikiki Beach.

The hotel is beautiful with many shops and restaruants on the ground floors. We were there while the elevators were being renonvated causing longer than normal waits, but everything else in the hotel more than made up for this. The hotel staff, as well as, the staff at Duke's and Hula Grill were extermely nice and filled with the Aloha Spirit. The concierges were very helpful and the valets were very attentive, They always smiled with many alohas and mahalos. We booked an oceanfront room and were pleased to learn we had been upgraded to the spa tub. The view from our 11th floor lanai was an amazingly beautiful postcard picture from Waikiki Beach with Diamond Head in the background. The room was clean and comfortable with nice amenities. Our bathroom was elegant with the spa tub only separated from the room by sliding doors. My wife wants to tell all the ladies that the shampoo, conditioner, soap, etc. were better than our high-end stay on another island.

We both left wishing we had more time having had our expectations exceded by by both the hotel and Oahu, in general. When we return to Hawaii, will defenitely return to Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach.

Room Tip: Splurge on the oceanfront rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B and P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LornaPuna, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
MAHALO (thank you) for the great review. Oahu and the Outrigger Waikiki are awaiting your return. We are currently undergoing a renovation and soon we will have a completely fresh look in our guest rooms and the pool area. Don't wait too long to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Our stay at Waikiki was for four days with an ocean front room on the second floor, which was just above the patio for the hotel. The views were through palm trees to the softly rolling ocean waves. All day long you could see surfers going to classes held out where the waves were breaking. The waters were a pale aqua color and your gaze up and down the strand gave you a view of other great hotels and Diamond Head to the left. The room was clean and orderly every day. You had gorgeous weather from the start to the end of each day. You could take a walk along the street up to the park areas, where in the evening singing and dancing performances were held free to the public. Restaurants abound with good dining, especially if you like seafood. We were in the same hotel that Duke's Bar is located. This is the same place where the father of surfing, Duke Paoa Kahanamoku is honored and great beverage selections and tavern food are available. What can you find to criticize, when you are in paradise and everyone you pass on the street or beach has a smile on their face? Just a fantastic place to spend some relaxing time. And don't miss the Polynesian Cultural Center as a side trip. The entire day is needed to gain a small familiarity with the island peoples that came to populate Hawaii. And of course, do not miss a visit to the Pearl Harbor Memorial, for you gain quite an appreciation for the duplicity of nations, engaging in political discussions while initiating a surprise attack upon our nation. The solemnity of the Arizona Memorial is particularly touching, with the names of all the deceased carved into white marble walls. I have never been to a memorial site in my travels before where all ages of visitors where absolutely respectful and discreet in any conversation with their group. Not a shout, loud conversation, joking or other disruption to each individual's personal contemplation of the tragic history that took place at that precise spot. The only thing left to say is that two weeks went like the wind, and with deep regrets did we climb the stairs to the airplane to return home.

Room Tip: Hard to find a poor room from the wide selection of hotels available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LornaPuna, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Aloha Peter S,
Your wonderful review makes me want to go on a vacation too. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time on Oahu and at the Outrigger Waikiki. We are lucky to have such beautiful weather year round in Hawaii. We await your return to the islands. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldwell, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

The Outrigger Waikiki on the beach is the best. Great location across fron International Market Place and next door to the revamped Royal Hawaiian Marketplace. Our room was clean and comfortable. Love Hula Grill for breakfast, not so much for dinner. Try their version of Loco Moco, wonderful!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spoons1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LornaPuna, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Aloga Spoons 1970, thank you for your comment that the Outrigger Waikiki is the best. We do strive for flawlessness in our service and happy to hear you found your room clean and comfortable.Mahalo for choosing to stay at the Outrigger Waikiki. We hope to host you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed in outrigger on the waikiki for total 3 nights during our trip to oahu. Our stay was very memorable.

The highlights of the hotel are:

1) valet parking. When I say valet parking, I mean it. There are always staff waiting outside the hotel 24/7 at your service.

2) luggage : all your luggage will be in your room. You really do not have to carry the luggage yourself into the room. This might not sound like a big deal, but when we went to maui, we stayed at one hotel where valet parking was available. But there was no staff parking your car nor there was staff available to help you get your luggage into your room. After 18 hours of journey to Honolulu, this really mattereded to us and thank you outrigger waikiki. I wish you continue this tradition. These things matter.

3) location. Right on the beach. The. Ocean views were awesome. Cannot beat this location. only thing is that we liked the beach at Hiltons Hawaiian village. The waters were rough at this location where as at hilton village, waters were more peaceful. But that has nothing to do with this hotel performance. I am not going to reduce the points :)) when they say ocean views, it is the complete ocean view. Not partial. You get the bang for your buck.

You are right in the heart of shopping area. Abc store is right in front of the hotel.

4) Food. Hula grill breakfast was awesome. You can fill your belly and start your trip. They have ton of options. Eggs, cereals, all kinds of fruits (by the way I loved their papaya.), pancakes etc. Only suggestion is: get there early. Otherwise you have to wait. Having breakfast sitting on the beachside, watching those palm trees on the waikiki with nice breeze is itself a feeling of heaven. You cannot beat this.

4) Rooms. Clean, very good room service. They will provide microwave, paper plates,Cups without extra charge if you ask them. Room service is good. The safety locker is spacious too. It could fit my laptop, 2 tablets, chargers in that.

These are the things I enjoyed here. Obviously, it was a very pleasant experience. I will definitely recommend this place to anyone.

P.S : I liked their green pens. I wish I asked them few more :)).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanikai4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LornaPuna, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Aloha Lanikai4life, thank you for the fabulous review of the Outrigger Waikiki. I am so glad to hear that you had such a pleasant experience. The staff prides themselves in sharing their aloha with our guests. Please come and visit us again soon.

Puna
Front Office Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#3 of 85 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,668 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 85 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#6 of 85 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Honolulu, Hawaii
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing