We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Our second visit- plan to return when we can” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Our second visit- plan to return when we can”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We visited Hawaii and stayed here 5 years ago, liked it. Returned in March 2012. Hotel was as good as we remembered if not better. Hotel is centrally located and literally right on the beach.
All staff very friendly and helpful, room nice and clean, all food excellent.
They now also stock some locally brewed beers which I enjoyed.
Hope to return to Hawaii again when we can, no doubt which hotel we will choose.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LornaPuna, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Aloha colin p, mahalo (thank you) for your review. Please don't wait another five years to visit us again. The majestic sands of Waikiki and the local brew are awaiting your return. Come see our new pool and deck due to be complete on July 1, 2012. In fact you can sit on the deck of the pool while being served a nice cold one. We anxioulsy await your return, Aloha and a hui hou (thank you and until we meet again).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,367
    1,419
    379
    125
    56
See reviews for
1,333
1,919
102
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach two times and both were wonderful. Staff are friendly, check-in and check-out is very quick. Location is the best, it is located in the middle of Waikiki and convenient to everything from the Cheesecake Factory, Senior Frogs, and so many other restaurants, the Zoo and Aquarium are within walking distance. Entertainment is all around this area. Dukes Canoe Club is great for breakfast and lunch for families with awesome views. Dinner and later in the evenings are more adult and college age groups with the bar and such. Also, the pool closes early, if you have children. Overall, this is a great place to stay and the location cannot be beat.

Room Tip: Ocean view is good, but Ocean front is awesome with views of Diamond Head
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lec0257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LornaPuna, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Aloha lec0257, thank you very much for your review of the Outrigger Waikiki. The staff here at the hotel takes great pride in the service they offer and I am so happy to hear that you felt their Aloha. There is no doubt that the Outrigger Waikiki has the perfect and best location on Waikiki Beach. You can't get any better then getting out of the elevator and walking right onto beautiful sandy beach of Waikiki. Come back and visit us again soon! Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights on way from Sydney to Seattle. The flight arrived very early morning and we envisaged having to hang about for 6 or more hour but hotel staff worked hard and moved things around so by the time we had breakfast a room was available. King room with partial beach view -stunning. Lots of room - a comfy couch - desk and chair - large TV - big safe - basin separate from shower/toilet - all good.

The hotel is undergoing renovation which it does need but staff warn you about delays with lifts and NO POOL and the price and assistance compensate for that. Friends recommended Moana next door (at much higher price) but the same view of the same beach why would you? We ate at both restaurants, Dukes and The Grill - both were good.

The beach is at your doorstep with towels, chairs and umbrellas for hire, paddle and surf boards for hire with lessons if you want. Outriggers and large sail boats pull up right there to take you out onto the water. Or you can just sit and watch all the activity from the beachside bar.

We had a very late flight out and a room was made available for a freshen up for half an hour. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

The bad. Well the lobby while huge is tired. As are most of the public areas but I did say they are renovating. If you can put up with a few issues associated with that then take advantage of the discount rates on offer.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Granny-Mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LornaPuna, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Aloha Granny-Mae, thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Outrigger Waikiki. I am happy to hear that the staff was so accomodating in getting you into a room shortly after your arrival. Our employees take great pride in showing our guests the meaning of Aloha.
We are offering an extra special deal on the rate of the rooms due to the renovation. Like you said, if you can put up with a bit of noise then you should take advantage of what little rooms are left at our spectacular renovation rate. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crescent Head
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon and loved it. Great location, great food, great service. Highly recommended as a perfect place to stay

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrescentHeadTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LornaPuna, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Aloha CrescentHeadTripper, Honeymoon Heaven, what a great memory to behold. Sounds like you will have to come back and celebrate your yearly anniversaries at the Outrigger Waikiki. We will always have this great location, the food will remain great, and the service will never dissappoint you. We hope to welcome you back real soon! Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I've stayed at this hotel four times (in city view, ocean view, ocean front and deluxe ocean front rooms) and been responsible for over 30 day worth of stays, but I'm not going back.

The good (or at least ok): The rooms are acceptable, but nothing better that the competition. If you rent a car, parking can be had at the hotel for about the same cost as the competition. There are three restaurants in the building all of which are good, including Dukes, arguably the best bar on Waikiki. The Outrigger Waikiki is on a great stretch of beach, although so are a dozen other hotels. The rooms are clean, although on one stay there was a musty smell.

The bad: If you pop for an ocean front room, stay above the fifth or sixth floor. Noise from Dukes and the restaurants can make open-window sleep very difficult, if you turn in before ten or eleven. The ocean view rooms have some view of the beach but none can see Diamond Head on the east side of the hotel. The lobby area is unimpressive. In fact, it's not on street level. If you're doing any kind of meetings in the lobby with clients, there are some places to sit, but the hotels on either side are much nicer. A final issue is that ocean front rooms often get too hot for the (rather noisy) air conditioner to keep up. Often the rooms are very hot when you return in the afternoon.

The ugly: Over Christmas 2010, my entire family was at the hotel. The only request I made of the staff was to get me the name of the supplier of the flowers on the Christmas tree that my mother had taken a liking to. Given our total bill of over $6000, I thought this a small request. I made the request several times and never got an answer. In my last trip, there was a probowl street party taking place in front of the hotel. My friend and I were able to drop of wives off two blocks from the hotel, but were unable to park until 1:40 am. The ramps were full from the party goers, so that option was out. The hotels on each side of the Outrigger Waikiki thought enough of their customers to arrange parking. Not the Outrigger. They gave me a free nights parking for my trouble. I drive around for almost 4 hours and I get $25 in free parking?

This is my bottom line: There are a lot of great hotels along Waikiki. Chances are you'll have a great time if you stay at the hotel. But, if something goes wrong, don't you want to stay at a hotel that puts your interests first? I do. That's why I won't stay at the Outrigger again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1960Corvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

The Outrigger has several things going for it.The rooms are large and comfortable andwell equipped with lots of wardrobes, large television with cable channels. There is also a good safe in the room. The hotel is well located inthe centre of Waikiki. A real bonus.

The Bad. The is a large noisy air conditioning unit opposite one side of the hotel so I would advise you book a room away from the bad side.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 255100Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LornaPuna, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Aloha 255100Max, Thank you for the review of the Outrigger Waikiki. Come back again soon as we will be done with our renovation this year and the rooms will have a refreshed look. The pool and deck will all be brand new! We look forward to your return. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanna, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Great hotel with great restaurants! Dukes and Hula Grill are both excellent. Loved being right on the beach although it is a little noisy; BUT LETS FACE IT, your are at the best place in whole world as far as I'm concerned so what's a little noise?!?! Staff is great and always eager to help!

Room Tip: High floor the better... Less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shawna032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LornaPuna, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Aloha Shawna032, I agree with you, there's nothing better then being smack dab on the beach sipping on a cool beverage from Dukes! The Outrigger Waikiki is the happening place to be even though it can sometimes be noisy from all the excitement going on. Thank you for the review and happy to hear the staff treated you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,348 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,894 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelsforEveryone and Booking.com so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Honolulu, Hawaii
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing