We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“depending on room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Köln
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“depending on room”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

hy

i spent there 10 days from 16.3.-26.3.2012.
i already have been there last year from 21.2.-1.3.2011

last year its been great enough to come again this year. but this time we had bad luck with the rooms.
i had reserved a room with 2 queensized beds. (as i had last year)
we got an even room than reserved for the lower price (oceanview instead of partial ocean view, but exactly same kind of room), but with 1 queensized bed and a incredible ridiculous joke of a sleepcouch with a mattress so thin, that you had to lie on the grid.
for a Hotel like the Trump an unbelievable joke.
the queensized beds are ok, but nothing special.

3 days later we got another room in the 10. floor and the other side. the room before was on the 19 floor (city+ocean-sided)
the view in the new room was really great, but the noise from the road was rather loud.
and in the morning(around 5:00 am) we were waked up by the noice of riding backwards trucks.
(in Amerika they do a real loud noice when riding backwards)

yes- you can shut the door. yes - you can use the air condition.
but in the other room and the room last year, it was not necessary. there we could let open the door, enjoying the hawaiian air and didn´t risk to get sick by air condition.

so my advice to everyone:
-try to get a room as high as possible.
(the cheaper ones go up to floor 23.)
-visit hawaii, when its not to overcrowded - the possibility to get a great room is a lot higher, because its not possible to get a fix reservation. you can only get a "strong request" to your rooms/wishes.

well - the rest of the hotel is really impressive and nice and the service is nearly perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,163
    489
    127
    35
    24
See reviews for
1,130
1,122
89
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Probably the nicest hotel (room plus service) I have stayed at. A bit disappointing that you are not right on the beach, on the other hand the beach isn't much to get excited about. The room was huge, impeccably appointed. The service second to none. Pool was small but wasn't an issue for us. I wouldn't return to Waikiki but if I had to, this is where I would stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadiantraveller29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, CA
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at the Trump during the last 4 nights of our 9-day trip to Oahu in July 2011, and I wish we had booked our entire stay here. From the moment we arrived, the service was friendly and top-notch. We were greeted with a kukui nut lei and escorted to the reception desk on the 6th floor. Once check-in was complete, we were given a quick tour of the public/dining areas in the hotel and then shown to the elevator that would take us to our floor.

I had booked an ocean view studio, but they upgraded us to a huge and beautiful 1 bedroom suite with a den, living and dining room, and full kitchen with granite countertops. Our suite had two lanais with incredible panoramic views from the ocean to the mountains. We even had views of the ocean from our extremely comfortable king bed. Our suite was beautifully appointed and very quiet. We loved the marble tiled bathroom with large soaking tub, separate walk-in shower and double vanities.

Each day when the valet would bring our car around, they would always give us bottled water for the drive. When we returned to our room each evening, the lights were dimmed, the bed covers turned down, slippers and robes laid out, and tranquil, Hawaiian music was softly playing.

We had a delicious and relaxing dinner at the Wai’olu Ocean View Lounge our last night, and the service from our waiter was impeccable!

We didn’t use the pool, but I do agree with other comments that it is rather small and more like a lap pool.

The hotel is located at the quieter end of Waikiki, with first class shopping and many excellent restaurants in the area. The heart of Waikiki, as well as the beach and Fort Derussy Park are just a short walk away. If you have a car, another plus of staying here is that you don’t have to fight the horrible traffic on Kalakaua Avenue in order to get in and out of the hotel.

I do quite a bit of traveling and have planned many events at high-end boutique hotels for my company. Without a doubt, the Trump was one of the nicest experiences I’ve had in all of my travels. My partner commented that the Trump Waikiki is now his all-time favorite hotel. We are planning another trip to Honolulu in April 2012 and this time we will spend our entire stay at the Trump!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Retr0Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We ended our first vacation Hawaii at this hotel and, having stayed in a number of highly rated locations over a two week period, we were very pleased to enjoy the impeccable, friendly service and ambience of the Trump International on the final night of the holiday. We were upgraded to a much larger, beautifully appointed suite than we had requested and got to watch the sun go down and the Friday night fireworks from one of our two balconies! Our Saturday night flight did not depart until 8 pm and, on check-in, the staff assured us that there would be no problem nor any cost, to provide us with a hospitality suite. We packed up early, our suitcases were transferred to the suite which really gave us an extra day's vacation because we had a place to store our luggage, change/freshen up for the flight home and enjoy the sights of Waikiki for the entire day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom for four nights in March 2012.The size of the unit was great. Spacious living room, great appliances in kitchen, good utensils, pots and pans for cooking. No spices, saran wrap or tinfoil.

The pool on the 6th floor is pretty small and the sitting area gets pretty crowded. The hotel is off the beach and requires a quick walk. The beach conceirge is a seperate company that rents youu chairs, umbrellas, and equipment. The website implies you can order food from BLT and have it delivered to the beach, Never saw this option.

They do provide a beach bag evaeryday with towels, fruit and water. Greatt!!!!!!!

There is a washer/dryer in the unit. The dryer took forever to dry a normal size load.

We were on the 20th floor and the wind made the lanai unuseable (not that TIH could control this). Just FYI.

The unit was cleaned very well everyday. The maids even organized our shoes.

Turndown service was disappointing to say the least. They pull the sheets back and put the breakfast menu on your bed. Then turn on a radio...... and that's it. Having stayed at Trump International in Manhattan we were expectig the same turn down service (robes and slippers laid out , chocolates, lights dimmed, TV tuned to music and sheets pulled back). Apparently they also do not perform turndown service on your last night.

The bed was uncomfortably SOFT. The pillows incredibly SOFT. Not to our liking.

Overall, not a 5 star if compared to Trump International Manhattan. As for value, I pay less for a similar room in Manhattan and get better value for money. I would not stay here again in Waikiki. But will stay nowhere else in NYC.

After four nights, I would look at one of the hotels right on the beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FF118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The rooms at the Trump are good (size and set-up). The staff is exceptional and helpful, which almost makes up for the hotel's lack of character and personal touch. The trump is a wonderful hotel but is sterile. On it's own it is a great place to stay but when compared to the Ala Moana Surfrider or Halekulani it becomes just another hotel comparable to a marriot or sheratton. Dear Mr. Trump please give your hotel some personality.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slefleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

There is a reason Trump International Hotel Waikiki is number one on this site. The hotel, rooms, service and restaurants are top notch. My friend and I decided we needed a quick getaway and we decided to take a long weekend to Hawaii. Trump International made our relaxing getaway perfect. We arrived late (10:30 PM) and check in was a breeze. The room was well appointed and the beds were extremely comfortable. The cookies that they provided in the room were also delicious! We started our day with breakfast at InYo Cafe which was pricey but extensive. The breakfast smoothies were delicious - try banana and guava - so good! We stopped in the lobby to pick up our beach bag (such a great idea!) and off we went. When we got to the beach, we went to the small Maui Jim desk to rent our loungers and umbrella. We were taken care of by Melvino and his crew who checked in with us from time to time to make sure we had everything we needed. The next day, we rented a paddle board and kayak from Melvino and his crew who again took great care of us. We had massages booked at the Spa at the hotel which was perfect after some exercise out in the surf. The therapists were both very good. The Spa does not have a sauna or steam room which is unfortunate but they did allow us use of the couples jacuzzi that they have in one of the couples rooms which was a nice touch and felt amazing! We had dinner at BLT Steak and the service and food were top notch. Our last day there, we had a very late flight and the hotel provided us a hospitality room just for us that we were given until 8 PM. This service was incredible! We were able to enjoy our entire last day on the beach, showered and had a nice light tapas dinner and watched the sunset from the Wai'olu Lounge before we headed to the airport. All of the employees at the hotel were helpful and friendly. An unbelieveable stay in Hawaii thanks to Trump International. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,009 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Property: Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump International Hotel Waikiki has been rated the #1 TripAdvisor Waikiki hotel since October 2010 and is the first and only Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star Hotel on the island of Oahu. As part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, it is one of the premier luxury hotels in Waikiki, Hawaii. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway. Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotels to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attache - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing