We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed at the Trump International Waikiki for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon and it was fantastic! From the moment we were greeted at the car door, to when we were waved off at the end the service was always exceptional. When we arrived we were greeted with a lei each and welcomed by name. And the cool towels and complementary drink are a nice touch. Although we were 2 hours early for check-in this was of no trouble to them as they took us to reception. We had booked a premium king room with sea view, and I had requested a high floor. We were upgraded to a 1bedroom Sea View Suite with Den which was huge! 2 lounge areas, kitchen, 2 balconies, 2 bathrooms, deep soaking tub looked out through floor to ceiling french windows to the sea and the views to the ocean were fantastic! The infintiy pool on the 5th floor really is not done justice by the pictures. Yes it is relatively small but was never busy! You could always find a patch of sun (particularly good in the afternoon so we always headed to the beach in the morning then the pool after lunch). The hotel is slightly set back from the beach behind a small park but you are talking a 1 minute stroll, and don't forget to pick up your daily beach bag from the concierge (who was also excellent, we spoke to him daily for advice, bookings, directions etc) which includes cool bag, towels, water, fruit and sun screen. We only ate in the hotel a couple of times as Waikiki has so much choice but the food we did eat was great and their 'World's best Mai Tai' is worth visiting for on it's own. Location is at one end of the beach just before the Hilton Hawaiian village, which is nice because it's slightly quieter but still right on the edge of all the shops and restaurants. I am glad we ended up here after many hours of internet research as I didn't see another hotel that topped it! Will definately return.
If you visit there are a few things I would thoroughly recommend:
'House with out a key' at the Halekulani (2 hotels along) - Beach front cocktail bar / restaurant, plays live traditional Hawaiian music every night from 7 with accompanying Hula dancer. Great fun for a couple of hours although I would recommend arriving before 6 if you want a seat!
Surfing Lesson - Loads along the beach, all excellent, and where better to learn.
Aloha Stadium swap meet - about a 15min drive from central Waikiki, $1 to park, great market for all your Hawaain essentials (shirts, jewellrey, ukelele etc) and a lot cheaper and seemingly more authentic (I'm sure they are probably not but is a more enjoyable experience) than town.
North Shore - You must take a drive around the island to the north shore to see alll the surf towns and fantastic beaches! The hotel have a suggested route to take that includes Pearl Harbour (free to enter and well worth a trip), Japanese Monestry, famous road side shrimp trucks and many other places.
Hawaii also has one of the US's lowest purchase taxes at about 4.8% so also a great place to shop.

Room Tip: I would recommend as high a floor as possible for the best views.Fill in your pre arrival form that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JackC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,965
    460
    120
    29
    21
See reviews for
1,007
1,037
85
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Big Island, Hawaii
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We travel to Honolulu fairly frequently for various things and we've stayed at most of the better hotels on the island. We wanted to stay in Waikiki this trip to do some surfing and check out a couple of restaurants, so we decided to try Trump because we were traveling with our 10-year old and our 20-year old in school at Manoa was going to come over, so we wanted more space than a hotel room at the Halekulani, Surfrider, or Royal Hawaiian. The one bedroom suites at Trump were running quite a bit cheaper than our suite options at the other hotels, plus it came with a kitchen.

I'm not a Donald fan, but I have to give him props for this hotel. It's awesome! The suite was very large, with two lanais and tons of windows and a great, completely stocked kichen with top of the line appliances and a mini wine cellar, flatscreen TVs, great bathroom, comfortable bed, and a pullout sofa bed in the living room. The restaurants and pool were very chic. Hawaii 5-0 was fillming while we were there and we saw camera crews and security and running actors, it felt like a little bit of LA in Hawaii. We did screw up by not requesting a higher floor as everyone says to do, we were on the tenth and the road noise in the morning was loud. We didn't mind the views of all the hotels and condos and pools, we like being in the city and enoying the "scene", but for the noise factor, elevation is key.

It's a block to the beach, the concierge sets you up with towels and a beach bag and water. Service is impeccable but friendly. The lounge has great happy hour specials. The breakfast buffet was very good. This is definitely our new, cool spot to be in Waikiki and we will be back! It would be especially good for longer stays because of the size of the rooms and the awesome kitchen. It is not at all "Hawaiian", and that may turn some people off, but for locals like us who just want a great stay in the city, it was perfect.

We walked to dinner one night at Taormina Sicilian, highly recommend!

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SheaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Trump international. Our room was a 'standard' room but there was nothing standard about it. It was huge and fabulous! Goodness knows what the more luxurious rooms are like. We asked on arrival if an upgrade was available, they told us an upgrade would be available from the following night, but we were so happy with our room we didn't bother chasing it up.
The pool and area was very small, like a 'business' hotel, which is the downside to this place. But don't forget the greatest pool on earth is only a block away! It is very comfortable, top quality as you would expect, but the atmosphere doesn't really have that holiday vibe most visitors probably come to Waikiki for.
If that's not so important to you, you will enjoy the comforts of this excellent hotel, but for that holiday feeling, maybe consider splashing out (even more!) on the Royal Hawaiian, or a little less on the Outrigger Reef on the beach, or possibly the Ala Moana.
Finally, for anyone who has never been to Waikiki, it is not, surprise surprise, a little group of thatched huts on an idyllic beach, as some people may think! It is a big American city, with all the great things and not so great things that go with that. For that reason, all the hotels will have an element of 'city' ambience about them.

Room Tip: I very much doubt there are any 'bad' rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Helvellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Loved the Trump hotel. It was an ideal hotel for adults and most specifically it was same sex couple friendly. It is very well located and just slightly removed from the main shopping and restaurant area which can be somewhat too busy for my taste. The service was fantastic, however, I found the brunch buffet rather ordinary. We booked a city room view with Expedia which I will not consider doing again. It was discounted to 300 a night (not exactly cheap) and we ended up with a room next to a fire exit which met we had no closet space. The balcony was also was across the street from another hotels air condition system which was extremely noisy and as a result we never used it. We will never book with Expedia again. Cheaper rooms = least interesting room. The bed was extremely comfortable and the gym was rather basic.

Room Tip: Avoid fire exit rooms as they are the smallest and ensure you are not facing the hotel across the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Just returned from 3rd visit to Waikiki, spent 4 nights at Trump International Hotel. Best 4 nights ever spent in Waikiki. Great location, close to Lewers st, and beach. Fort DeRussy park is great and just accross the street. Beach is surprisingly good and quieter than Waikiki and with all the things you need for a great beach day. The hotel was classy, service was 5 star from the time we checked in till the time we left. The hotel had none of that over commercialised in your face stuff like shops and tour desks and people trying to sell you something in the lobby. Great pool, very quiet, great pool deck service and could get a good feed and cocktail from pool deck. Got a bit breezey the day we spent up there, not sure if that is the norm or just a breezy day everywhere. On arrival we were upgraded to a suite, had a decent kitchen which gave us the opportunity to avoid the buffet breakfast trap. Room was huge, seperate bedroom, 2 sitting rooms. A good bar downstairs and a decent restaurant (BLT) good meals a bit pricey, service was o.k but for the price expected a bit more. All in all a great experience, when we return we will definitely give this place high consideration.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Our family stayed in a two bedroom apartment for 5 nights in January 2012 and like others we not disappointed.
QANTAS Holidays messed up our booking dates so on arrival there was some concern over having a suitable room available. The Reception Manager found a room and difussed the situation beautifully with an offer of complimentary cocktails and appetizers for us while we enjoyed the sunset and the new room was sorted - nice handling of it.
The "Ocean View" room we received was on the north western corner which really was very limited in terms of ocean views but the apartment's spaciuos living areas and amentities made this a minor detraction.
Thoughout the whole stay you could tell the staff was very well trained and attuned to providing top level service.
The pool area was a little disappointing (small and crowded) but the little touches like special treats for our teenage kids and suggestions of good family things to do was appreciated and we very much enjoyed this property and stay.

Room Tip: The western side (I think) of the hotel is definitely not "ocean views" - best to clarify...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

My boyfriend and I had initially booked a room at the Moana Surfrider, but after reading reviews about outdated small rooms, inconsistant service and construction-work on the beach, we decided to shop around for a different hotel. We found a perfect room at Trump and saved $200 on our 4 night stay compared to the Moana. Not only that, but we got an upgrade as well. Our room was situated on the 23rd floor with a balcony facing the ocean and the city. You can't beat getting up at 9 am, making eggs and toast in your own fully supplied kitchen, and sitting on the balcony in the sun reading a book!
The service was impeccable and the quality of the hotel was visible throught every detail. From the first step you take onto the property till you leave you only get the best of the best!

I definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to spoil themselves to a little luxury!

Room Tip: Try getting a room as high up as possible. The rooms on the east side facing the city and ocean do g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KristinaLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#3 of 85 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#6 of 85 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Property: Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump International Hotel Waikiki has been rated the #1 TripAdvisor Waikiki hotel since October 2010 and is the first and only Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star Hotel on the island of Oahu. As part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, it is one of the premier luxury hotels in Waikiki, Hawaii. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway. Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotels to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attache - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing