We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Makes Hawaii all the more magical”
other travellers have booked this property
King Bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
King Bed
Great for morning coffee, or dining. Kitchen & interior dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
King Bed
Great for morning coffee, or dining.
Kitchen & interior dining
Aloha Gary's Place
Royal Kuhio Condominiums
Clouds cresting the Koolau mountains
Living Room With Ceiling Fan/Light
Left View from Lanai
Center View from Lanai
Right View from Lanai
Covered Sun Area ~ 7th Recreation Deck
PingPong & Pool Tables ~ 7th Floor Recreation Deck
Sauna's Male/Female Separate
Exercise Room ~ 7th Floor Recreation Deck
Crockpot, Blender, Waffle maker, electric opener
Glassware
Kitchen stuff
Magic Island view of Hilton Hawaiian Village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Honolulu, Oahu, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
T-2SanDie...
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Makes Hawaii all the more magical”
Reviewed July 31, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This is our second stay and I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else, we've gotten so spoiled with the location, included parking, and wonderful fellow guests in this building- after years of staying in hotels this has won our hearts. Love having a kitchen and although I am not on vacation to cook there were times it was just so nice to relax without having to run out for a meal. Nice large full size frig, and all the dinnerwear you need for four. I especially appreciate that he has some plastic cups for kids. And some plastic storage containers as we did cut up some watermelon and pineapple. The pull out accordion wall nicely divides the bedroom from the sofa bed couch at night. And we have met the nicest fellow guests and staff here. Perfect for us, we love visiting Waikiki. Gary is great to work with. Thanks for a 2nd great Amazing trip!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2018
Thank you for the wonderful review! It is rewarding when guests leave Hawaii full of the Hawaiian Spirit. Thanks for having such a grand vacation!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skjordan
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Gem in Hawaii”
Reviewed July 25, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We booked this place and boy were we glad we did! The apartment is located only 5 minutes away from the main Waikiki beach, opposite a 24 hour McDonald's in case you get peckish and fairly central to where everything is going on.

Starting with the owner Gary who we sadly never met, was fantastic. After I booked the property he advised he would be sending the Key's in the post to us in the UK which for me was a first but Gary calmed my nerves as we were going world travelling and were unsure what would happen if we didn't get them etc. Was really great at that.

We got the Key's anyway no problem and they worked fine.

The property is located on the 31st floor out of 38 floors in total so very high up! It had a kitchen with all you could want amenities, good WiFi, TV, shower, bath and a great bed. Also had air conditioning which was a life saver! Be advised it does fill up so you need to empty the water manually in the bath but this was not an issue.

The balcony was fantastic and many a night was spent up there. Also, because it's high up and rather windy, mosquitos never venture up there which is always good!

The car parking was a godsend. We hired a car and the metal fob on it worked a charm to open the gate. Private parking spot as well. Gary again helped us and explained all of this over email whilst we were there.

Really couldn't fault the property. Two of the three elevators were out of service the whole time but this shouldn't be a problem for people arriving soon. Also, a tip. If there is an issue with them then go to the right of the lobby and get the elevators to the 32nd floor and walk down two small flights of stairs. People rarely used it so it was very quick and you didn't need to stop at all the other floors.

Thank you Gary you were fantastic. All the best.

Jordan and Mary

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2018
Aloha Jordan and Mary. So very glad your World Trek stop in Hawaii was such a success! Thank you for sharing your experience at Gary's Place. I strive to provide exatly what you experience. Thank you again Jordan and Mary your were great guests! Mahalo and Aloha, Gary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T-2SanDie...
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“AWESOME in Every Way, Loved IT!”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Could not have had a more perfect time, Loved the location, the people and staff were all wonderful, helpful and quick to smile. So quiet up there on the 30th, great parking spot. We rented another unit in Apr as this was already booked and that parking spot was challenging. And although 2 blocks away theirs a much lower floor so plenty of street noise, this was sheer heaven.
The little touches made for such a nice stay, plastic containers for the fruit we bought at the market, great refrigerator, we were not on vacation to cook but he had what you needed if you wanted to. Our grandson loved having McDonalds right across the street. Easy walk to the beach. Appreciated the use of the boggie board :0)
We cannot wait to stay again and I know we will have to plan sooner as this unit will be in demand- so perfect for us. One tip I can offer, we were our first day and the car leaving ahead of us did not see the pressure plate to open the garage gate, fortunately a helpful person coming in opened it for him- did I mention how great everyone in this building is! Anyway, when you pull out, easy to run your car wheel over this pressure plate- the security in this building was fantastic, we also used the laundry room in the building- HUGE. Pool temp delightful.
There is also a handy little tour company in the lobby that we used to book a luau as I didn't have a printer, even saved a few dollars through them. Please don't get too popular, we want to come back and stay again! We have been to Waikiki 6 times and nothing else came close. Thanks so much for making it the perfect vacation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
So very happy you enjoyed your Hawaii Vacation, and that Gary's Place
was part of your adventure. Thank you for pointing out some of the great attributes of the condo and area: great security, affordable, free parking, higher 30th floor for more quiet, HUGE laundry room, warm pool, and your own in-house travel agent to assist with events. Oh, and thanks for mentioning the ability to cook full meals. Can't wait to have
you back, and again thank you for your business!!
Mahalo,
Gary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R C C
1 review
“Best deal for my money.”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This was my first visit to Hawaii. I was pleasantly surprised at the location and how nice the condo was. The bus stop is directly in front of the building; restaurants and shops are within walking distance; nightlife is bustling we couldn't hear a thing. The condo was ready when we arrived. We appreciated the extra linen and kitchen items. Free parking was a definite plus! I would definitely stay at Gary's Place again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2017
RCC, many thanks for sharing your experience of Waikiki and Gary's Place. Having a base right in the middle of everything has always been a great feature. The free parking allows "driving experiences" to the wide open beaches and all the island adventures. Again, so glad you had a great Hawaiian Experience! See you again!
Mahalo,
Gary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Va...
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed June 29, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Excellent! Wonderful vacation, Wonderful Gary, Wonderful Condo, Wonderful location, Wonderful Hawaii...Will be back! Love!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2017
Thanks Marina, so very happy your vacation was a GREAT SUCCESS!
Your questions and communications played a great part in a successful holiday. Thank you for pointing out how important location, condo, and
communications are in a great trip!

See you in Hawaii, and again thank you for your business!

Aloha to then,
Gary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 May 2017
Aloha and thank you for highlighting some of the most sought after features of a Waikiki condo. I am most pleased the free parking was of value. Hope to see you again soon!

Gary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
blacky101
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Central waikiki”
Reviewed May 21, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stayed at Gary's place for 3 nights on our way back to Australia. It is comfortable and really central to everything in Waikiki. Really enjoyed our stay there. Will look it up next time we go to Waikiki

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2017
Thank you for mentioning the the comfort and central location! These are two of the most sought after rental items. Thanks again, and hope to see you again!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing