We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My parents surprised me with an overnight stay at the Modern the night before my birthday while they watched our babies.

Even though we only live 2.5 miles from the property and I've grown up in Honolulu, my husband and I truly felt like we were on vacation as soon as we arrived. We were greeted by a friendly and informed staff. Our room was ocean front, which because the way the hotel is situated, when you go out on the balcony you look directly at the marina from the side we were on. So pretty.
The decor was just our style, crisp and clean with pops of color. Updated features like a keurig and ipad upon request delivered to your room. The marble bathrooms and comfortable bedding...beautiful. I loved the 3 sarongs hanging on the wall in our room.

We had breakfast at Morimoto's. Seriously, what a GORGEOUS foyer!
Then we enjoyed an afternoon at the salt water pool. So relaxing. My mom even brought our kids by so they could have some pool time. There is a long and wide first step into the pool that is about 3 inches deep and it was perfect for my 1.5 year old to splash around in. The pool staff was super friendly and brought us refreshing complimentary glasses of lemon water for all of us as soon as we found some lounge chairs.

I actually worked at the world famous Halekulani, but the Modern is more my style and I would rather stay here.
The Kamaaina rate is awesome and we will definitely make this a yearly tradition!

(it looks like my pictures are posting sideways....sorry!)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kejustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,188 - 3,194 of 4,185 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

Waikiki is full of the chain hotels that cater to the masses and offer mediocrity in bucket loads. The higher class properties offer an element of architectural charm as their point of difference but the room product is compromised with out dated facilities and space.
The Modern is the first hotel in Waikiki to provide a cool and modern product in an established destination.
The design is light, pared back and simple but without being austere, in fact it is very comfortable throughout.
The service is second to none. It's bright, enthusiastic and genuine. It is refreshing change from the robotic and over enthusiastic scripted service you receive at some of the restaurants in Waikiki.
Nothing is too much trouble and the attitude is nice and easy which is just what you need for a relaxing holiday.
We will certainly be back and recommending it to all of our friends.

Room Tip: Book the Ocean View. We didn't and regretted it. We went for the Partial Ocean View which offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamsonNIte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMHmgr, Rory C, Guest Experience Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Aloha SamsonNIte,

Thank you for the great review! I understand that in Waikiki there are so many other hotels that offer an array of services combined with a great location in Waikiki that may make it difficult for visitors to choose the exact place that fits their needs, style and expectations. Your review embodies the very essence of the direction we’re heading in. I am so pleased that our boutique hotel will be your premiere place of relaxation and comfort when you come back to Honolulu. I insist that you let us know if there’s anything we can do to make your next stay even better than the first!

Mahalo nui, (Thank you very much)

Rory Cosma
Guest Experience Manager
THE MODERN HONOLULU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Great hotel, well situated, perfect location, close to the harbour, where it is not so louded, you can walk to everywhere, and the hotel is great, roms ar comfortable, clean, modern style, and all the staff is very attentive, we uswd the spa, which is fantastic. We where is a romantic traveling and they did their best to pamper us, including an upgrade. Every night there is turn down service and they offer complimentary internet wifi and coffee every morning. Concierges are exceptional arranging tors and activitties. I work for hospitality, and I have loed tnis hotel. Great value for what you pay, it exceeded our expectations.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CaribbeanMagicTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Our stay at the Modern Honolulu went beyond our expectations. The moment we drove up to the hotel, the valet already set the tone as to what to expect from the rest of the hotel staff and the hotel itself. Our room was beautiful with a view to die for. LOVED the bathroom's style.

Room Tip: Rooms on the other side of the elevators get to see a BEAUTIFUL sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nilo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I've never left a review about anywhere in the world, but the Modern certainly deserves the effort. Everything was PERFECT - from the staff, to the room, to the pools, to the food, Wi-fi available in the rooms and all around the hotel. And I could go on. Such quick service in room, as well as at the bar or dining. The place is absolutely stunning, and I've definitely never stayed anywhere cleaner in all my travels. A perfect stay at a perfect place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felicity C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Our stay at the Modern Honolulu was second to none.From the moment we arrived we were met by friendly and helpful staff,accommodation was very clean and comfortable. The hotels restaurant was amazing. We can't wait to go back to the Modern at Xmas.This hotel is an absolute must if staying in Honolulu. Fantastic !!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hsvilka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Modern was by far the best hotel we slept in during our 3-weeks journey.
Spacious and well equiped rooms with free Wifi, large bathroom. And great service as well.
A good swimmingpool but not that much sunbeds so you might have to wait a bit sometimes but you can go up to the 'sunbathing' pool (only +/- 30 cm deep) where you can get some suntan with your feet in the water.
Close to Ala Moana Shoppinh Mall and a 10 minutes walk (over the beach) to Waikiki center.
If you have a car : at only 100 m there is a parking lot.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jokke62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMHmgr, Rory C, Guest Experience Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Aloha Jokke62,

Thank you for your very kind words in sharing that THE MODERN HONOLULU was the best hotel you stayed at during your three week holiday. I too love our location! Our sleek hotel IS perfect for the discerning shopper to take a 15 minute stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center or over to the Convention Center for a meeting or event. Mahalo for your superb review! We look forward to welcoming you back to MODERN paradise.

Mahalo nui, (Thank you very much)

Rory Cosma
Guest Experience Manager
THE MODERN HONOLULU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
352 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $313 - $770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing