We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,479)
Filter reviews
4,479 results
Traveller rating
3,142
935
262
92
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,142
935
262
92
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe studymorimoto restaurantsunrise pooliron chefday bedpool areawaikiki beachala moana shoppingour honeymoonadult poolamazing hotelmain poolmin walkpool staffred lobsterturn down servicepartial ocean view
Filter
Updating list...
3,452 - 3,457 of 4,479 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Waikiki is full of the chain hotels that cater to the masses and offer mediocrity in bucket loads. The higher class properties offer an element of architectural charm as their point of difference but the room product is compromised with out dated facilities and space.
The Modern is the first hotel in Waikiki to provide a cool and modern product in an established destination.
The design is light, pared back and simple but without being austere, in fact it is very comfortable throughout.
The service is second to none. It's bright, enthusiastic and genuine. It is refreshing change from the robotic and over enthusiastic scripted service you receive at some of the restaurants in Waikiki.
Nothing is too much trouble and the attitude is nice and easy which is just what you need for a relaxing holiday.
We will certainly be back and recommending it to all of our friends.

Room Tip: Book the Ocean View. We didn't and regretted it. We went for the Partial Ocean View which offered a great view of the marina and ocean from the balcony but we hardly used the balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamsonNIte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMHmgr, Rory C, Guest Experience Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Aloha SamsonNIte,

Thank you for the great review! I understand that in Waikiki there are so many other hotels that offer an array of services combined with a great location in Waikiki that may make it difficult for visitors to choose the exact place that fits their needs, style and expectations. Your review embodies the very essence of the direction we’re heading in. I am so pleased that our boutique hotel will be your premiere place of relaxation and comfort when you come back to Honolulu. I insist that you let us know if there’s anything we can do to make your next stay even better than the first!

Mahalo nui, (Thank you very much)

Rory Cosma
Guest Experience Manager
THE MODERN HONOLULU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great hotel, well situated, perfect location, close to the harbour, where it is not so louded, you can walk to everywhere, and the hotel is great, roms ar comfortable, clean, modern style, and all the staff is very attentive, we uswd the spa, which is fantastic. We where is a romantic traveling and they did their best to pamper us, including an upgrade. Every night there is turn down service and they offer complimentary internet wifi and coffee every morning. Concierges are exceptional arranging tors and activitties. I work for hospitality, and I have loed tnis hotel. Great value for what you pay, it exceeded our expectations.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CaribbeanMagicTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our stay at the Modern Honolulu went beyond our expectations. The moment we drove up to the hotel, the valet already set the tone as to what to expect from the rest of the hotel staff and the hotel itself. Our room was beautiful with a view to die for. LOVED the bathroom's style.

Room Tip: Rooms on the other side of the elevators get to see a BEAUTIFUL sunset.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nilo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I've never left a review about anywhere in the world, but the Modern certainly deserves the effort. Everything was PERFECT - from the staff, to the room, to the pools, to the food, Wi-fi available in the rooms and all around the hotel. And I could go on. Such quick service in room, as well as at the bar or dining. The place is absolutely stunning, and I've definitely never stayed anywhere cleaner in all my travels. A perfect stay at a perfect place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felicity C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our stay at the Modern Honolulu was second to none.From the moment we arrived we were met by friendly and helpful staff,accommodation was very clean and comfortable. The hotels restaurant was amazing. We can't wait to go back to the Modern at Xmas.This hotel is an absolute must if staying in Honolulu. Fantastic !!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hsvilka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews