We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lagoon Tower - the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lagoon Tower - the best”
Reviewed 24 March 2006

We just returned from a 7 night stay in a 2 BR in the Lagoon. We are timeshare owners but still like to put in our two cents. The first four nights we stayed in a 2 BR corner unit facing the Rainbow tower. We were on the 6th floor and the lanai had wonderful palm trees that were at our level - very cool. Also because it was a corner unit, we had another lanai off the dining room. The unit was very spacious and living room quite a distance from the bedrooms. Nice kitchen area with pantry. Last three nights were supposedly upgraded but was far from it. Room needed some definite upgrading, faced the harbor but also seemed really too close the other hotel property next door. The living room was a lot smaller, dirty carpet, smaller bathroom and tattered furniture in master bedroom. We did get a couple great sunsets from our lanai but even the lanai was smaller -- what upgrade? But, all in all a lovely stay, nice to get away to the lagoon pool also ask about the hospitality room to shower before flying out (it's at the hotel)Also if more than 4 people, ask about the stretch limo to airport, in coupon book, for $29 pick you up right at Lagoon tower.(otherwise shuttle is $8 per person and you have to lug your suitcases around to Tapa tower.) Staff was wonderful, unbelieveable but they remember your name after and a couple of days and always have a hello and smile on their face.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Lynn6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    476
    158
    72
    48
See reviews for
741
378
29
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2006

The Hilton is a collection of towering blocks around a tiny pool. At ground level there is a maze of shops selling designer goods. First impressions is like staying in Manhattan with a few more trees. This is the second impression as well. Expect a pitch to sell you a Hilton time-share at the welcome meeting.
Everything in the Hilton can be found outside the Hilton at half the price but if you are the sort of person who want to stay in a complex for everything then I suppose you deserve to pay over the odds.
The beach is swept daily and the hotel is located right on the beach front, however it does matter which block you are in for views. The room we were in was large by European standards with two double beds and a small bar area. Filter coffee is provided, but you have to pay for the coffee. Internet is provided, but you have to pay for the internet. You can park overnight (for a fee). Get the idea? Everything is $5, hence the staff motto 'The only thing free is the Aloha and the morning newspaper'. There is a pretty sterile attempt to soften the concrete by importing in a (very) few penguins and flamingoes.
It is well-situated for bus routes and all buses on O'ahu cost $2 and are air conditioned but are very infrequent (it is not unusual to have to wait more than 30 minutes for a bus even in rush hour). To get to the Arizona Memorial (Pearl Harbour) walk out of the hotel to the right and catch bus 20 or 42, this takes about an hour with frequent stops.
Rather than book trips, I would advise you to rent a car on the Internet from Dollar and pick it up at Hale Koa Hotel (which is the next-door hotel to the right). This costs $60 a day instead of $60 per person per trip. The service at the Wailana Coffee House (out of the complex and turn left) is excellent and the prices are very reasonable and the food is always hot and filling but can be let down by the presentation.
To summarise the Hilton is an overpriced concrete jungle. Other than laying in the sun, you will get most enjoyment from this hotel through your attempts to escape from it.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2006

Just back from an excellent total of 8 nights (in two seperate stays) in the Lagoon Tower.

First three nights with my family of four in a One Bedroom Suite. Sofa Bed and Roll Away in living room still left lots of room to move around.

Last five nights I was booked in a Studio, but was upgraded to a One Bedroom Suite at no additional cost.

Both rooms were on 18th Floor, with excellent views towards ocean and downtown Honolulu. Room was very clean and well maintained.

As a transient guest (not a timeshare owner) in the Lagoon Tower, we received daily maid service, in addition to free wireless internet service and as much coffee as we needed. Suite kitchen facilities were well equiped and the appliances looked brand new. Also, never had to wait for the free laundry machines located on the floor either.

Service was absolutely wonderful in the Lagoon Tower. Staff was very friendly and there was NO timeshare sales pressure. It was far less hectic than in the main (regular) hotel towers. Lagoon Tower pool was also very nice and much less crowded than the main pool. Only downside is that there are only 3 guest elevators for this 23 story building and no staff service elevators, thus during peak use times, the waits can be quite long.

Grounds of the whole Hilton are beatuiful. Restaurants and beach services are VERY expensive, but there are other nearby, off-property, affordable restaurants and beach rental services within a short walk.

I highly recommend the Wailana Coffee House for breakfast. Fast and cheap, it's hard to beat their All You Can Eat Pancake Special for just $4.95!

All in all, a wonderful stay. Will look forward to returning in the future!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank MButteBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 February 2006

6 Night stay in a two bedroom. WHAT A WAY TO VACATION. The Master bedroom was extremely large, the second bedroom had two full beds. Seperate bathrooms and a sofa bed in the living room. Five stayed very comfortable... Entire family loved it.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2006

We just returned from a 6 night stay at the Lagoon Tower. We had a 1 bedroom suite that had all the dishes and pots and pans that you would need to feed a family of 4, including a crock pot, toaster, fullsize refrigerator and a stove with ovens. The coffee was free and there were small containers of soap, a laundry basket for the washer and dryer down the hall which was free, too, broom and dustpan, iron, and ironing board, and a dining and living room area. We had a room on the 11th floor with a balcony which had 4 chairs and a table. It overlooked the Rainbow Tower, but also had a beautiful ocean view. The king size bed was very comfortable. The maid only comes once during a 7 day stay, unless you pay extra, but they provided us with fresh towels when we asked. There is a small pool and a sauna tub just for the use of the Lagoon Tower people. The best pool is the Super Pool and of course there is the wonderful sandy ocean beach. Towels are provided for swimming in all areas. There are many shops on the property, the best priced one is the ABC store, which has just about anything you would need. There is a Coffee Shop across the street with reasonable prices and good food. The restaurants on the property are pricey, but two are recommended by most travel books. The military resort next door lets you use their snack bar to buy hamburgers, salads, ice cream, etc. which are very reasonably priced.The attractions desk in the lobby was very helpful and booked us a circle tour of the island with a stop at Pearl Harbor and lunch on the North Shore, which lasted about 9 hours. It was very good. They also booked a trip to the Polynesian Cultural Center, with a luau which lasted 11 hours. The luau food was just okay, but the 7 islands were both educational and fun to visit if you like learning about the culture of the people. There wasn't enough time to do all the areas as completely as I would have liked. We did not use a car at all as we spent time enjoying the water, and walking into the city, maybe a 10-15 minute walk. The only drawback to this resort is the long wait for the elevators on check out day, everything else was wonderful. I forgot to mention that there is an airport shuttle that will take you to the resort for $8 one way or $14 roundtrip, which you just walk to at the airport, or you can take a taxi.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank CruisingSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2006

I was hesitant about the entire Hilton property after reading many reviews on this site. Let me just say that this is one of the best hotel properties I've been to in a long time.

We stayed in the Lagoon Tower. We had a 1 bedroom suite and an adjoining studio room for 4 adults. The bedrooms, main room, bathrooms, furnishings, kitchen were wonderful. Maid service doesn't come each day, but whenever we needed towels or more coffee they brought it up immediately. Our room faced the Rainbow Tower and the view was fabulous, and each room has a lanai which we spent the majority of time when in the room hanging out on. One complaint we had was the noise of taxis & garbage trucks around 7am. One thing they did not do a good job of planning the resort to have these service vehicles away from guests. However, it did not detract from our stay in any significant way. Another downfall on the Lagoon Tower is the elevators which you will end up waiting for during peak times.

The super pool was great. Chairs were hard to come by if you got there between 11am - 2pm, but we always ended up finding room to sit as a group. We did not bother using any of the other pools, as this one had a much better atmosphere. The beach is amazing, and I highly recommend getting up (when you hear the noise at 7am) and going for a walk on the beach at sunrise.

The restaurants and bars are overpriced as any hotel will be. For lunch, consider walking next door to the Koa Hauna hotel pool. They have great prices on burgers and you can bring them back to the Hilton pool! For dinner, we always went elsewhere in Waikiki or into Honolulu by taxi.

The hotel has a Hertz office on site, which we used for renting a car to go to the North Shore for the day. Shuttles and taxis are also always available on the property 24/7.

Overall we were very impressed with the Hilton Hawaiian Village property and would definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank jimmithing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village

Property: Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village
Address: 2003 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1917
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village, you'll have access to the Village's spectacular amenities, including an exercise facility to maintain your workout routine, over 20 restaurants and lounges, complimentary shows and live events, first-class shopping and a wide variety of activities the whole family will enjoy. Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village offers studios, one and two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Hilton Hawaiian Village Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Honolulu Hilton
Hawaiian Hilton Village
Hilton Grand Vacations At Hilton Hawaiian Village Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing