We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
30
14
5
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
14
5
5
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 57 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2016

We really enjoyed 3 nights at this relaxing and comfortable B&B on a quiet street under Diamond Head. Joanne is a wonderful host. We really enjoyed hearing stories about Hawaii's plantation history and raising her family on the islands; she truly embodied the aloha spirit we were hoping for. The Princess Ruth suite was quite large, as was the en suite bathroom. The island decor, as well as Joanne's and other local artwork greatly added to the ambiance. The suite had both a garden and partial diamond head view, with a private outside veranda-patio. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The fresh breakfast was authentic and delicious; with various fruits such as papaya, and egg dishes. The back patio is quite nice for an evening cocktail or glass of wine. Diamond Head market and Grill (good traditional plates) is a short walk away, as are Kapiolani Park and the Zoo.
It is a short drive (or slightly longer walk) to Waikiki or to the parking area for an early morning hike up to the diamond head lookout to watch the sunrise.
If you want a slice of Hawaiian life, then we highly recommend you stay at Joanne's Diamond Head B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank butchcassidysr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2016

The Diamond Head Bed and Breakfast in Honolulu was quiet, beautiful, and interesting. Close to a nice public beach. Accommodating and informative hostess. We loved the highly vegetative grounds and neighborhood.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Amber655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2016

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at this lovely B & B. Owner Joanne was gracious and helpful and the breakfasts were terrific. The second morning we were treated to some very delicious dim sum -- after another guest had requested it and my husband and I expressed our enthusiasm for the idea. Our room -- the Makai Suite -- was large and the view of Waikiki from our second floor lanai was fabulous. The location is perfect -- on a quiet street and only a 10 or 15 minute walk to Waikiki Beach. It was wonderful to be able to leave our car there and not have to worry about parking in Waikiki! We feel that this place is a very good value for the money, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank sminchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2015

Sure...this place has seen better days, however, our room was huge with two double beds - an amazing view from our full length veranda. It overlooked Waikiki night lights. Bus transportation was around the corner - # 2 or 23/24 were good. Back gate will get you to main road or walk down thru the park towards the beach - easy.
Old Hawaiian feel.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank cakeface0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2015

If you prefer the comfort and clinical sameness of chain restaurants and hotels, then this place is not for you. But if you travel for new experiences and appreciate the quirks and eccentricities of local culture, then a stay at the Diamond Head Bed and Breakfast is the kind of authentic Hawaiian adventure you'll enjoy. The proprietress, Joanne, is an artist whose late husband worked for the Alexander and Baldwin sugar company. Their home is a mid-century gem nestled in a grand neighborhood situated between Waikiki and Diamond Head. Although we had a car (parking is no problem), it's a short stroll to some key attractions and public transportation. Yes, the house is in need of some updates, and there is a cluttered, lived-in feel to the place, but the funky floor plan, stunning art work (much of which is Joanne's), breezy views, and laid-back feel to the environment make this a unique and special place to stay.

We stayed in the Makai Suite, a huge room with two beds (one queen, one double) that is encased by giant, curtain-less windows. The room feels like it's resting in the treetops, high above Honolulu and hidden from the rest of the world. Even without curtains, you feel like this is your private hideaway from the hustle and bustle of nearby Waikiki. There is no air conditioning, but with the windows open and a fan running, the night breezes kept me cool and comfortable. I'm a morning person, and I loved waking up with the sunrise and the birds chirping. Hawaii is a tropical island, so of course there's a slightly damp feel to the room, which isn't climate-controlled like a soul-less hotel. Regardless, I had the best, most restful sleep in this room of any of the places we stayed in Hawaii, perhaps because it felt so much like it was truly an organic outgrowth of the islands.

A note in the bathroom from Joanne's daughter explained that there is nothing her mother hates more than waste, which is why there was a cabinet filled with an odd collection of items left behind by previous guests. We were encouraged to use or take these items, and to use the little plastic bags provided to take home the soap bars we had opened and used during our stay. The bathroom was clean and spacious, there were lots of towels, and the water was hot. What more do you need?

The best part of our stay was breakfast every morning with Joanne. Good strong coffee, fresh local fruit, and some sort of bread, grain and protein were typical fare. I particularly enjoyed a concoction of toast, pesto and tomatoes that Joanne prepared one day. There was a delicious, elegant simplicity to the meals that matched the aesthetic of the surroundings and the hostess. If you appreciate history, be sure to get Joanne talking about her life in the islands over the past 60 years or so. We were fascinated by her stories and lingered over breakfast much longer than we normally do. Don't be surprised to see a couple of tiny geckos resting on the walls of the dining room - another authentic Hawaiian home experience - and take the time to admire the beautiful display of glass bottles and jars that line the far end of the dining room. We had an early morning tour one day, and Joanne prepared "bag breakfasts" (granola bars, etc.) the night before for us to take with us.

Overall, staying here is like staying with your eccentric, Bohemian great-aunt in the cool house she's lived in forever. You'll be surprised by odd things here and there, and you'll need to remember that she's waiting up for you to come home at night (you won't get any keys), but you won't regret the memories you'll take away from your time with her. The reasonable price, convenient location, and truly unique experience it offers are why I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Diamond Head Bed and Breakfast again the next time we're lucky enough to be in Honolulu.

Room Tip: The Makai Suite is spacious and breezy.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank USA-rama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews