We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place for outgoing, adventuresome travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostelling International Waikiki
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This is more fourth or fifth stay, and it keeps getting better and better. If you thrive on being able to meet new people from all over the world and enjoy catching up on one another's adventures rather than being isolated in a hotel, this is the spot. Just remember, don't be a priss, clean-up after yourself, be polite and inviting, and you'll return with a collection of stories you'll never forget and friends you can't wait to see again.

Room Tip: Only been in one room, so I don't know if they vary much
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeddleGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

The biggest problem with staying at the HI Waikiki is something they cannot control at all -- noise from the garbage trucks early in the AM. Bring your earplugs if you can't stand morning noise (and it'll be pretty loud as you'll want the windows open). Alternately, USE the noise to get out of bed and get an early start on the day, whether it is planning your next road trip around Oahu, a jaunt into downtown, or just watching the sunrise atop Diamondhead.

The facilities are VERY clean here, which not all the hostels on Oahu can say (specifically Backpackers dorm was gross (but still fun)). The kitchen, like all hostels needs new pots and pans, and NOT non-stick which get trashed easily and then present a health hazard from teflon flaking off in food (yikes!).

The staff were OK, but could be friendlier. Maybe it is because they see so many people come and go, but they could reach out a little more and it would go a LONG way. The vibe of the hostelers was very friendly overall. It was easy to meet people and go out on the town or on a day-trip.

Be aware that they are not computerized and will not send you an email confirmation of your reservations, this resulted in us being listed as a no-show for one night when we did not _intend_ to stay that night. Had we been sent something that showed the wrong date, we could have called and clarified what we wanted. Without proof, we had no recourse, which was $70 down the drain.

Room Tip: Away from the street and up high if you can (might help minimize dumpster noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This Hostel is not the most amazing place ever but quite ok if you just need a place to stay for a couple of nights. It's located in a 'quiet' side street 1min off Waikiki Beach. All rooms have an ensuit bathroom which is cleaned every day. The doors of the room are pretty noisy so when people come in later at night they wake up the whole room. Unfortunately there's no gentle way of opening and closing the doors - bummer ! Also the bunk beds are quite loud and shaky.
But the staff is nice and helpfull and the kitchen is big enough for everyone to prepare meals. There's also a little community room with a TV and comfy couches.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cobain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Hostelling International Waikiki on three separate occasions over the last 4 years and each stay has been great. The staff is unfailingly friendly, knowledgable, and helpful. The rooms are clean. The kitchen and common area are both clean, well-lit, and user-friendly. They have a LOAD of stuff (for free!!) to help you enjoy your vacation, like beach mats and snorkeling gear. We even brought our baby with us last year and he, too, was welcomed with open arms. We really love staying here. You absolutely cannot beat the experience for the price. I definitely and enthusiastically recommend staying here.

Room Tip: They all seem equally good...just depends on how many stairs you want to walk up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Very friendly & helpful staff, friendly guests, quite comfortable & perfectly clean rooms, including bathroom; three blocks to the beach and public tennis courts; convenient bus & parking; attractive architecture a refreshing alternative to high-rises in the area

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitingparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I was very happy here the people where nice and friendly. Very Very helpful its a really great vibe here you should check it out get location . Bad an amazing stay wish i could have stayed here longer then 7 days

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sa-RahCaroLineSmITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I loved my stay here. I stayed in a female dorm and a private room. The beds were cozy and the rooms were clean. The staff is awesome, very friendly and helpful. The location was great since its close to everything specially to 3 surf spots at waikiki! I would go there again and can highly recommend that hostel!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,931 reviews
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
#73 of 84 in Honolulu
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Waikiki Beachside Hostel
Waikiki Beachside Hostel
#13 of 47 in Honolulu
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Waikiki

Address: 2417 Prince Edward St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3229
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range: $71 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha, we host all kinds of short term travelers from around the world: backpackers, gap year travelers, airline & cruise ship employees, students, families & single travelers. Thanks for considering HI Waikiki! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hostelling International Waikiki Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing