We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hawaiian Cuisine in a High End Setting”

Alan Wong's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Alan Wong's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 2,352 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$51
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Hawaiian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Punahou Street and McCully Street
Description: Consistently voted as one of Hawaii's best restaurants, James Beard award-winning Chef Alan Wong uses the freshest locally grown produce and the bounty of the Pacific Ocean to create local favorites with a contemporary twist. Inspired by the unique ethnic influences found in Hawaii today, his menu reflects Hawaii's cultural diversity of its people, traditions, and lifestyles. "Taste Hawaii."
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Hawaiian Cuisine in a High End Setting”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Came off of an 11 hour flight from NY, showered and headed straight to Alan Wong's. We were an hour late for our reservation but we called from the airport and they kindly moved it to 9pm. It was so nice to be at a high end restaurant enjoying wine and clean linens after a long journey.

Food was delicious. The Nori Wrapped Tempura Ahi was one of the most amazing things that we ate on our trip to Oahu. The tempura batter was extremely light and the ahi was very tender. The sauce MADE the dish. We loved it so much that we soaked it all up with our bread.

For entrees, I had the Ginger Crusted Onaga Snapper. This is one of their signature dishes and we can totally see why! The flavor and texture combinations were amazing. I took the leftovers home and it was just as good the second day.

My husband had the short-rib and this is where 5 stars became 4 for me. Granted, he liked it but for one of the most amazing chefs in the world, I would have expected a slightly more tender, melt in your mouth short-rib.

The parmesan garlic mashed potatoes that comes with the meal is a must!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katster88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    933
    252
    109
    56
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“HRC at it's best”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Actually came here in February 2011.

As one of the founding members of "Hawaiian Regional Cuisine" Alan Wong's has never failed to disappoint.

When coming here for special occasions, personalized menus are presented. Customer service is great, as is the food. Fresh local ingredients are used. Dishes have a distinct Hawaiian twist to them.

The Caesar Salad is one of the best things I have ever eaten in my life. The Kalua pork adds a nice smokiness to the dish, and is a great substitute for bacon.

The Onaga is delicate and flaky with the corn and mushrooms giving it a nice earthy flavor.

The lamb chops with the mac nuts give it a great textural contrast, with the lamb having just a hint of gameyness to balance out the rest of the dish.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank TheMysteryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“World Class Cuisine Period!”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I have been dining at this gem for over twelve years. We go there everytime we're in Honolulu. This superb restaurant makes my top ten in the country. The service is impeccable. The food creative and delicious. Among the many first plate selections, you must try "Da Bag" .What arrives looking like a big bag of Jiffy Pop waiting to have the foil cut into, becomes a tasty plate of kalua pork,clams,spinach & chicken stock that begs you to dip your bread in the remaining broth. The Pan steamed Opakapaka (pink snapper)with the shrimp pork hash&tapioca pearls is one of me favorite entrees. The Twice Cooked Shortribs Soy Braised & Grilled "Kalbi" Style will wow you. Save room for desert if you can.....chocolate devotees will love the Waialua Chocolate "Crunch Bars as well as the many other deserts that will bring a regretful end to your culinary night of adventure. The extensive wine wist and specialty cocktails are also not to be forgotten. You will remember and savor your evening and leave planning your next visit back to this delightful piece of paradise.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caltraveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“don't believe the hype”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

we went here for my birthday in december. it was extremely disappointing. we have been here three times in three years and have always ordered the tasting menu. the first year, it was acceptable. the second year, it was great. this last year it was unbelievably bad. i will never go back again. it looked like a bunch of kids who had never cooked or eaten the food they were serving were in the kitchen with no supervision. the fois gras was raw (not even warm and not even close to crispy on the edges - just raw). the last dish was so salty no one at our table could eat it! other than these, none of the dishes were memorable or even tasty. it's like tossing the dice here and to me, it's not worth it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank peripatetic55plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious Asian Hawaiian fusion food”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Bill for two was about $200 with tip, but well worth it! Surprising combination of traditional Chinese ingredients to create wonderful tasting dishes, like the whole tomato salad with li hing mui (dried plum) dressing and ginger crusted red snapper. One of the best restaurants I've been to. As with many Hawaiian hangouts, though the food here is high class, you can still dress pretty casual. :)

Tips: bring a sweater/jacket--it can get cool in the restaurant

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cambrige_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alan Wong's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Alan Wong's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing