We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait....well worth it!”
Review of Side Street Inn

Side Street Inn
Ranked #45 of 2,331 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Ala Moana - Kakaako
Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

I didn't realize when I got there that they open at 2pm (they do have a limited lunch table tho) so I had to wait an hour to enjoy what was the best meal I had in Honolulu to date! I noticed on trip advisor prior to my meal that everyone posted photos of the pork chops....so I decided to get that alongside their famous fried rice and the Ahi tuna. Wow! What a meal!! I was "hangry" but after my first bite I suddenly became a happy man! The service was fantastic and the abundance of food was overwhelming! I highly recommend stopping in at the Side Street inn! Truly a five star meal!

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank terryf415
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 272 of 843 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

Local eating house recommended by local people always a good starting point! Got in straight away, a lot easier with just 2, ordered lightly but let me tell you plates are huge! We are not big eaters but this was amazing, could have served another couple easy! Good was great staff great also thoroughly recommend

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

The food here is delicious! Come early because it gets busy. We ordered the pork chops, kalbi beef, and chow mein to share and we still had leftovers. The bread pudding with vanilla ice cream was also a hit. Service prompt and friendly.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank df12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 18, 2016

Great bar/restaurant. Technically a sports bar, but great for families or couples just looking for good food. And the food was really very good - tasty, well presented, and not pretentious. And HUGE portions (OK, well probably normal-sized US portions, but huge if you come from anywhere else!) The cocktails and wine list were also excellent. The best place we ate in during out stay in Honolulu. It was worth the walk to get there. Extremely busy though - we had a 20 min wait for a table, but managed to score a seat at the bar, so just ate there instead.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Outinthemiddaysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

This place has really good reviews, but I found the service to be awful: negative/ glass half empty/ reckless/ and rude. Some of the male servers seemed nice, but avoid the females if you can. This is a family style restaurant. (Complete with shrieking children) The portions are huge. Nearly every item contains soy sauce, so prepare yourself with lots of water. I have celiac's disease, so my choices were "a plain steak, or a plain piece of fish with garlic and butter, but not garlic butter." ????? I could also have white rice or a plain salad with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. When I asked which container had the balsamic, the waitress acted like I was dense and flippantly pointed at the dark red salad dressing. I wasn't quite as stupid as she thought I was, so I didn't touch it. She came running back and snatched it up and said "Don't eat that...Did you eat it?" Uh, no, I'm not the stupid one here... I know what balsamic vinegar looks like. It's not gelatinous. In the end, the food was decent. Nothing special, but not too expensive., so I didn't feel completely ripped off.
Our party of 10 tried to stay to enjoy a cocktail, but we were given "stink eye" or negative looks by the waitresses, so we left.
With all the fabulous restaurants in the area, I would not choose to go there ever again.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank LanikaiLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Side Street Inn also viewed

 

Been to Side Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.