We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Duplex in Paradise

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Honolulu, Oahu, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Traveller...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed December 16, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
6
people found this review helpful

I stayed in this apartment for two weeks in Nov / Dec this year with 2 friends. This apartment was perfectly located out of the hustle and bustle of Waikiki, but close enough to everything you could ever need. Its clean, tidy and has all the comforts of home with the added benefit of the fantastic view of Diamond Head and the ocean. Ash and family are wonderful and happy to help in any way. They had lots of great suggestions of attractions to see and places to visit and could not have been more accommodating hosts.

This experience had more a feeling of staying with friends or family than being in a rented property. Every possible need was considered with the amenities provided within the property. Staying here gives you the opportunity to experience Hawaiian living like a local.

Please note that there are a dozen or so stairs to navigate to get to the apartment which are quite steep, but they should not put you off staying at this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ash and family, the view
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ophiodon
New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean, compact and easy.”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
7
people found this review helpful

The apartment was immaculate when we arrived, even by my mom's standards. Ash and his family were very accommodating and helpful for the entire stay. The house is conveniently located so it's easy to get out to the windward side or waikiki and has a nice outdoor space for just hanging out. We crammed in 8 people, including 3 kids, and it was comfortable, but it did mean a bit more bed sharing than we would have liked. There are 3 bedrooms and 3 double or queen beds.
My cousin's son was celebrating his birthday, and not only did Ash provide cake pans so we could make our own cake, but also, per Hawaiian tradition, brought a birthday cake down. It was so considerate!
My one comment/warning, and we mentioned it to Ash when we left, is that if you plan on doing any real cooking, you might want to bring your own kitchen supplies. We had 4 plates, 5 forks, there was no cheese grater or vegetable peeler, the knives were dull. We ended up buying and reusing plastic plates and utensils and bought our own knife. It's not a big deal if you plan on eating out lunch and dinner, but we were trying to cook for the whole crew, so it was a bit challenging. Ash knows now, and he might be taking care of this for future guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Writing on the patio with my friend.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Papaya4ev...
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hospitality!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
8
people found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The house is conveniently located to all the attractions we went to and has a stunning view of the city. The owners were extremely nice and made delicious breakfast. We hope to stay again!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing