We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Renew
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Just left yesterday from Hotel Renew.Great breakfast-this could have cost an extra $15 easy in Hawaii, fresh fruit,cereal,juice,coffee,yogurt,pastries.The staff was great-smiles were abundant.We were allowed a room to shower since checkout was noon and we did not need to be to the airport till 7 pm and spent the afternoon at the beach.As said before beach towels, chairs and mat were free -beach is one block away.Bed was great -I often have a problem with this since my arthritis acts up on beds that are too hard. Clean,clean,clean !

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy47Coldwater_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,283)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Renew
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,007 - 1,013 of 2,283 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed 8 nights at Hotel Renew in February and could not be more pleased with our stay. This is by no means a resort hotel, but they more than make up for it with exceptional customer service (this means you, Daniel, Adam, Anna, Grace and Tina!!) and added complimentary services that really set them apart from other hotels. The hotel is very clean and nicely decorated, and not in kitschy Hawaiian like some hotels. They provide free wi-fi, complimentary beach towels, beach mats, beach chairs and boogey boards, and a courtesy room for one hour the day you are leaving if you have a late flight so that you can freshen up. The continental breakfast is very well done considering how little space there is in the lobby - cereals, pastries, fruit, yogurt, juice and coffee. The bar does not skimp on the drinks and the atmosphere is very pleasant and relaxing. Our housekeeper, Tina, went out of her way to make us feel welcome every morning and took excellent care of us and the room. We were so impressed with the service - every single staff member was friendly without being fake and seemed to genuinely like their jobs. I had reviewed Tripadvisor prior to booking this hotel and can say that those reviews, for the most part, were absolutely spot on. The reviews that mentioned the elevators being slow were correct but come on! You are on vacation - what is your hurry? As for the noise from the street, you are in a major city amid other hotels, restaurants and clubs. Of course there is going to be noise! But we were amazed at how quiet the room really was. You could hear the music from Tiki's and yes, occasionally there was siren noise, but the air conditioner humming blocked out the worst of it. The room (we had a king bed) had plenty of room, plenty of storage space for belongings, a very nice flatscreen w/HDTV, and eco-friendly lighting conveniently located. While we prefer Maui and the Big Island, if we stay on Oahu again in the Waikiki area, we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor with an ocean view. We were on the 8th floor and had a wonderful ocean view...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen8487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Myself and my husband spent the first few nights of our honeymoon here (early Feb 2012) and we cannot tell you how great the service was! The staff went out of there way to make it a great stay, including refunding us one night's stay because our plane was stranded due to bad weather! The hotel itself was super clean, great location and great breakfast. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher floors, ocean view.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed 6 nights at Hotel Renew in February. The staff gave us excellent service. We had an ocean view room. It has a beautiful view. We saw a beautiful sunset. When we checked in, they gave us cold pineapple juice and cold facial towel. The free continental breakfast had fresh fruits, toast, and variety of pastries. The free internet saved us a lot of money. They gave extra shampoo and conditioners since we went to the beach often. They also let us borrow beach towels, chairs, and beach mats. We definitely stay at Hotel Renew again. It was a great value hotel.

Room Tip: Request room #908. It is quiet and beautiful view.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 87,505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was my second trip to Renew. The location is excellent, very close to the beach. The service is fabulous. They treat you like Kings and Queens. They had a fresh fruit plate ready for me when I arrived as a welcome treat.
They have happy hour with great cocktails. They have chairs, umbrellas for the beach. They breakfast is very good too.
It is a small hotel which feels like a family.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franciscain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We just spend a month at this great hotel. Located just steps from the beach you will not find a better deal in all of Waikiki. The rooms are very modern with big screen TVs and super comfy beds, the free brakfast is great with the best coffee in the world and lots of fruit , pasterys and fesh pineapple juice. They also offer free beach gear (towels,mats,chairs etc.), daily newspaper and free Wifi in all their rooms.
The Hotel is super clean, the staff will make you feel like family and go out of their way to help you in any way they can.
Sure there is no pool , but the greatest pool , Waikiki Beach, is only steps away.
In an month we did not have one complaint or regret and can not wait to be back next year.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front room on the 8th or 9th floor. We watched whales and dolphins in the ocean fro...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wegelagerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This hotel is a first rate, hip, boutique hotel, and is located within a 90 second walk of the beach. The staff is very helpful, and the room furnishings appear to be new, and include a gigantic flat screen high def TV. There can't be a better value in Waikiki. There is no hotel pool, but we didn't find that to be an issue, since the beach is so proximate, and the staff even provides (for free!) beach mats, towels and chairs. Continental breakfast is included each morning for no additional charge.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMDiGiovanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,430 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,525 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,456 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $249 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing