We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved staying here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Renew
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
2 reviews
“loved staying here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

the breakfast isnt anything extravagant and sometimes there werent enough places to sit ( took f buood upstairs on one occassion but not much of a bother )was it nice, clean and the breakfast lady was always willing to help. shout out to daniel, paul, kris, adam, anne, grace and the cleaning staff!
thefront desk staff were veryfriendly and helpful. loved the small boutique style of the hotel where most of the staff gets to know you and tends to act like a family. the rooms were clean and modern which i preferred. the air con did make a bit of noise but personally wasnt too bothering. wi fi was good but not very fast so if intending to use a lot of internet i adviseyou bring ethernet cable, they have a port in the room. lighting was a bit dim a night but im sure if i asked staff they may of had some sort of portable light. overall the hotel and its staff made our vacation that much more enjoyable and i really appreciate all their help!

Room Tip: its up to personal preference but if you want a nicer view go for the ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jas0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,312
    684
    151
    47
    25
See reviews for
280
1,308
144
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TEMPLE CITY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

we were there from feb 20 to feb 24 2012. This was our first time in waikiki for our 42nd wed
anniversary . This property was great . Not as touresty as the rest. Staff is very professional and friendly. We wll stay there again if we go to Honolulu

Room Tip: 6th floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robkat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Just left yesterday from Hotel Renew.Great breakfast-this could have cost an extra $15 easy in Hawaii, fresh fruit,cereal,juice,coffee,yogurt,pastries.The staff was great-smiles were abundant.We were allowed a room to shower since checkout was noon and we did not need to be to the airport till 7 pm and spent the afternoon at the beach.As said before beach towels, chairs and mat were free -beach is one block away.Bed was great -I often have a problem with this since my arthritis acts up on beds that are too hard. Clean,clean,clean !

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy47Coldwater_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed 8 nights at Hotel Renew in February and could not be more pleased with our stay. This is by no means a resort hotel, but they more than make up for it with exceptional customer service (this means you, Daniel, Adam, Anna, Grace and Tina!!) and added complimentary services that really set them apart from other hotels. The hotel is very clean and nicely decorated, and not in kitschy Hawaiian like some hotels. They provide free wi-fi, complimentary beach towels, beach mats, beach chairs and boogey boards, and a courtesy room for one hour the day you are leaving if you have a late flight so that you can freshen up. The continental breakfast is very well done considering how little space there is in the lobby - cereals, pastries, fruit, yogurt, juice and coffee. The bar does not skimp on the drinks and the atmosphere is very pleasant and relaxing. Our housekeeper, Tina, went out of her way to make us feel welcome every morning and took excellent care of us and the room. We were so impressed with the service - every single staff member was friendly without being fake and seemed to genuinely like their jobs. I had reviewed Tripadvisor prior to booking this hotel and can say that those reviews, for the most part, were absolutely spot on. The reviews that mentioned the elevators being slow were correct but come on! You are on vacation - what is your hurry? As for the noise from the street, you are in a major city amid other hotels, restaurants and clubs. Of course there is going to be noise! But we were amazed at how quiet the room really was. You could hear the music from Tiki's and yes, occasionally there was siren noise, but the air conditioner humming blocked out the worst of it. The room (we had a king bed) had plenty of room, plenty of storage space for belongings, a very nice flatscreen w/HDTV, and eco-friendly lighting conveniently located. While we prefer Maui and the Big Island, if we stay on Oahu again in the Waikiki area, we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor with an ocean view. We were on the 8th floor and had a wonderful ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen8487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Myself and my husband spent the first few nights of our honeymoon here (early Feb 2012) and we cannot tell you how great the service was! The staff went out of there way to make it a great stay, including refunding us one night's stay because our plane was stranded due to bad weather! The hotel itself was super clean, great location and great breakfast. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher floors, ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed 6 nights at Hotel Renew in February. The staff gave us excellent service. We had an ocean view room. It has a beautiful view. We saw a beautiful sunset. When we checked in, they gave us cold pineapple juice and cold facial towel. The free continental breakfast had fresh fruits, toast, and variety of pastries. The free internet saved us a lot of money. They gave extra shampoo and conditioners since we went to the beach often. They also let us borrow beach towels, chairs, and beach mats. We definitely stay at Hotel Renew again. It was a great value hotel.

Room Tip: Request room #908. It is quiet and beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 87505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was my second trip to Renew. The location is excellent, very close to the beach. The service is fabulous. They treat you like Kings and Queens. They had a fresh fruit plate ready for me when I arrived as a welcome treat.
They have happy hour with great cocktails. They have chairs, umbrellas for the beach. They breakfast is very good too.
It is a small hotel which feels like a family.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franciscain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,099 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Property: Hotel Renew
Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing