We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting display of war time aviation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor

Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor
Book In Advance
More Info
US$35.00*
and up
Aviator's Tour
Ranked #22 of 318 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the principal Pearl Harbor Historic Sites, our unique interactive museum is located near the Battleship Missouri in the battlefield hangers of historic Ford Island which were attacked by the Imperial Japanese Navy on December 7, 1941, the beginning of WWII. Aircraft, such as a Japanese Zero and the Stearman in which former President George H.W. Bush soloed as the war's youngest aviator, illustrate how aviation helped stem the war. You'll view historic videos, including a movie of the beginning of the war. Enjoy the authentic gift shop, 1940s themed cafe Laniakea, and the combat flight simulators in which you can virtually fight the battle of Guadalcanal in either an American or Japanese plane.Pacific Aviation Museum's mission is to develop and maintain an internationally recognized aviation museum, which educates young and old alike, honors aviators and the support personnel who defended freedom in the Pacific Region, and is dedicated to preserving Pacific aviation history.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Phoenix
Level Contributor
259 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Interesting display of war time aviation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We were given a tour but given a chance to wander around on our own. Since we had enough lectures to listen to that day, we chose to wander around and thoroughly enjoyed seeing all of the aircraft and reading about them. This is included in the Heroes Tour.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank LovemyAcura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    731
    383
    156
    42
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
globeseeker007
Level Contributor
1,099 reviews
633 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,129 helpful votes
“Takes one back into history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

There is a lot to see in this museum. First, there is a short film about the Japanese attack on Pear Harbor. Then there is an exhibit about Pan American Airlines. Following this, there are exhibits throughout the museum. There are aircraft and military vehicles and other items of interest distributed all around. Then one is directed over to a huge hanger where there is still more aircraft inside as well as outside. The aircraft dates from WWII through Vietnam to the present. There are helicopters including a huey and a cobra, both made famous during the Vietnam War. The place has a large gift shop as well as a restaurant. If you like aircraft you won't be disappointed with this museum.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank globeseeker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodend, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

So many aircraft in one place, fantastic. Still see the bullet holes in the hangar!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank RobynM814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Include this with Pearl Harbor!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

If you enjoy history this museum is worth going to. Very well set up and lots of planes to see new and old, as well as great facts and history on the wars and the attack on Pearl Harbor

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Michele1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
251 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Great museum; lousy food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

The Pacific Aviation museum is located on Ford Island. Next to the large hanger is the still-standing air traffic control tower that survived the bombing of Pearl Harbor. Scaffolding is all around the tower with workers restoring this historical building.

Admission was $12 with a military discount. Two hangers contained aircraft such as the P40, Japanese Zero, B25, SBD, F4F, and N3N. My husband truly enjoyed this place, as he’s a pilot and majored in history. At the entrance is a huge panorama on the floor of the area, which was quite neat to see.

There’s a small cafeteria where we had lunch. I do not recommend this place at all! I had the mahi mahi sandwhich, which tasted terrible. I wondered if the fish was not fresh. Tony had the cheeseburger, which was ok. Portions were small and the food was overpriced. When we first arrived to the place we could smell something delicious in the air. We thought it had come from the cafeteria at the musuem. No, it was in the building across the street. We didn’t realize this until we left the museum. I would recommend coming to this musuem before/after lunch.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank mjpileggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing