We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Ranked #28 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
High Desert, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Stay!”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We booked a Diamond Head Room and were upgraded to the Diamond Head Junior Suite when we arrived. Gorgeous view of the mountain as well as a partial view of the ocean. Staff was very friendly (except for one trip advisor downstairs) and the service was impeccable. The room was cleaned every day and the bed turned down every night. The food was amazing in the main resturant, although a little pricey. The drinks were strong but great as you watched the sunset. Also, the hotel is located on the best beach in Waikiki and no pool is needed. Location was great since it's far enough away from downtown that you can fall asleep to the ocean but close enough to walk to go to any bar, resturant or other hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and plan on staying again!

Room Tip: The Corner Head Suite was large with a complete "L" shaped balcony all the way around, wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieL402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    372
    115
    52
    16
See reviews for
151
490
72
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel is a medium-rise, dated, sleepy, limited-service, unglamorous hotel that is set on a beautiful beach on the quiet, Diamond Head end of the Waikiki strip -- and it is enchanting. Rooms are small, there is no pool, common areas are minimal, and the "gym" is a vendor-operated bare-bones facility, but the service is relaxed and attentive, the whole place oozes with a friendly island vibe, and the hotel's setting on the low-key Sans Souci beach could not be more perfect. It's a great home-base for a Hawaiian vacation, for the location manages to feel quiet and beach-y, yet it is within walking distance of the bustle of Waikiki, and an easy drive to Oahu's top restaurants, attractions, shopping centers, cultural institutions (which are few in number), and outdoor options. If you want to park yourself at your hotel during your visit to Honolulu, go to another place with more amenities, but if you want a comforting place to rest your head in a welcoming and clean, island-style establishment, there is nothing else quite like this place. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The point of many travelers to Hawaii is to be near the Pacific Ocean, so the natural choice is prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerhnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oahu, HI
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We were upgraded to a partial ocean view unit that was actually a corner unit. The blue ocean and wonderful sea breeze lulled me to sleep. The sound of the waves throughout the night was soothing and very relaxing. We joined friends for Sunday brunch at the Hau Tree Lanai restaurant and I enjoyed my Crab Benedict with lots of coffee. This stay-cation was much needed. Mahalo to the helpful staff and very courteous valet employees. We will return!

Room Tip: Ask for a unit in the 3 story walk-up. These are large apartment dwellings with separate living roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oheloai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

There is no pool, but you are right on the best swimming beach in Waikiki. However, the hotel itself feels tired and dated. Louvered door to the bathroom was rather embarrassing when sharing a room with a friend. Overall, not worth the money

Room Tip: If you get a room on the side, instead of ocean front, you get a better view of Waikiki, The Royal H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn7352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed here for four nights in the run-up to Christmas. It has a great location right on the quiet Sans Souci beach, and a history of having had Robert Louis Stephenson to stay. It is on the site of an old family house, although all that seems to remain is the great verandah. The staff are nice, and the hotel is genuinely pleasant, while being something more than a dreadful modern concrete block. it is also conveniently located - a short, easy bus ride from town.
The rooms were small but workable.
The big problem, at least for a non American, is the air conditioning, Hawaii has a pleasant winter climate, trade winds, nice night time breezes, no need for fans however if you open the window you are assailed by the sound of a hundred whirring machines, it sounds as though you are at the end of a runway with a plane preparing to take off. So that leaves you with little choice but to swelter inside your own room with windows shut or to put on the dreaded machine in your own room. No wonder the US's carbon foot-print is appalling.

Room Tip: Go Ocean view if you can afford it, although you will still be bugged by fans
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flyingshuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This is my favorite hotel to stay at while on Oahu, which I visit at least once a year. The beach in front of the hotel is beautiful, but away from all of the hustle and bustle of Waikiki, which is about a 15 minute walk away (a very beautiful stroll along the ocean!).

Our room had a spectacular view of beach and the Waikiki coastline. It was so peaceful and relaxing to wake up to the sounds of the palm trees outside our window and we love, love, LOVED being able to just head downstairs and straight onto the beach!!

Note: Definitely try out their restaurant on the ground floor, which features a delicious brunch on a terrace right on the beach!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

If you don't mind walking to the "main drag" this is the spot. Since the hotel is away from the main area, the beach seems private. This hotel offers a waterfront hotel, with a inland price. You can literally exit th hotel and step on the beach (and go swimming). We had a dimond head view and were on like the 13th floor. We loved our room, very nice & clean. Bed was comfy and the room had a flat screen TV which was nice when we wanted to get away from the beach. The quarters seemed very private.

The hotel offers delicious food. The Restaurant is on the water and we ate there three times, because it was, honestly, better than the other restaurants we tried. Another benefit is that it is easy to get in your car and drive because it's on the outskirts of town, giving easy on and off freeway access. We loved this hotel and can't wait until we can afford a trip to Hawaii so we can visit again.

Room Tip: We had a diamond view room, and we really liked it. The room was perfect for me and my husband.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,476 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
483 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#17 of 84 in Honolulu
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,611 reviews
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#50 of 84 in Honolulu
3,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Property: The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Address: 2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of its paradisiacal setting, The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel is a refreshing escape from the crowds of Waikiki. This boutique hotel sits right on one of Honolulu’s best white-sand beach, cradled next to the slopes of Diamond Head Crater, and located directly across from the 108 acre Kapiolani Park, perfect for those seeking a recreational or romantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Kaimana Beach Honolulu
Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Hawaii
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing