We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“wonderful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

The hotel was excellent but I would not recommend the moderate rooms....No view and very small...we upgraded to a suite and were very happy...If you like a quiet , small hotel in a lovely area then this is your choice...The food is excellent, although expensive and the staff at the hotel is friendly and good. We will come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lois S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    351
    107
    49
    16
See reviews for
136
468
68
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grandville, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Thank you, Otani Kaimana. We had the time of our lives there. We want to come back for our 5th anniversary. Cant wait to be there again. Aloha!

Axel and Aida Foerster

Room Tip: Beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunSeekers4882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torremolinos, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed in the lower building with the fridge, sink, and Microwave so we could make lunches or breakfast, altho' the Lanai HauTree restaurant is delicious. We were so close to the beach, had a gorgeous view of the park, bay and Waikiki in the distance. We did not have to listen to bands playing and drunken crowds as did others who stayed in the crowded Waikiki area. The hike to town by beachwalk or street to catch the expedition buses took about 20 minutes, usually in the dark of early morning. The street people sleeping in the park or on sidewalks were harmless, there is no crime. The hotel provides beachmats, towels & umbrellas. The staff are so polite & helpful; hotel is very clean & the beach & swimming area just a few steps away, was great, with surfing, kayaking, snorkling, etc. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: The Park view rooms are walkups but have a small kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

My husband & I were in Honolulu for 8 days on business and booked ourselves into the Halekulani which is a very upscale elegant hotel in Waikiki. The first two days there was no hot water in the hotel, some boiler problem and we felt the management did not properly respond to our concerns so we moved to the New Otani which was approximately half the cost. We were delighted we changed. The Halekulani is definitely fancier and more elegant but in many ways the New Otani was much more to our taste. Being enclosed in buildings and people in Waikiki is not our style so we appreciated the distance. One could still walk there or take the bus if needed. To us an important part of the Hawaii experience is the beach and the New Otani sits right on an excellent beach with good swimming. The hotel has beach towels, mats, chairs, and flippers available. We booked an ocean view deluxe room which hung out over the beach. The floor to ceiling windows and sliding glass doors provided a wrap-around view of the ocean and Waikiki. From the lanai we could also see Diamond Head. We loved it so much we chose to have breakfast and cocktails on our lanai rather than in the restaurant which can get crowded and what could be more romantic than that stunning view. The food was very good; many local people come to the charming outdoor restaurant for breakfast, lunch, and dinner occasions. The hotel could use some sprucing up as it is a bit dated in decor but it certainly made up for it in location and views. And, there was hot water!

Room Tip: I would definitely go for the ocean view deluxe. Our room was on the 8th floor and the views were s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rivertraveler1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
112 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Overall this is a good hotel but there are some buts. The first problem is that this hotel is somewhat away from Waikiki so you really need a car to get around. On the other hand this hotel is really close to the beach. In fact it is on the beach so it's easy to go for your early morning or evening swim. Breakfast is served in a lovely open air terrace filled with shady trees. The problem is that there aren't enough seats to accommodate all guests and opens only at 7 am so you either book in advance or you will queue for a loooong time. The hotel is getting a bit dated and will probably need a bit of TLC some time soon. But overall a nice hotel for a restful hoilday. Prices are a bit on the high side but this is Honolulu.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterp_belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

This was my first trip to Hawaii and it was perfect! The hotel has a fantastic restaurant with a wonderful breakfast daily. Be sure to make a reservation for breakfast. It can be very busy... It has beautiful views of the ocean, as well as Diamond Head. The location is ideal because it is within walking distance of Waikiki, yet, it is not crowded or loud. The beach area is beautiful with a variety of activities. I simply cannot say enough about the location and price. For such an expensive destination, the price for staying at this hotel was more than ideal. We did park our rental car in the park at night, basically, right outside of our sliding glass door, and didn't have to pay for parking. Do be careful where you park in Honolulu though... We were towed our very first night there (out of a parking garage) because we had no idea we were parking on private property. That was our mistake.... However, that has nothing to do with this lovely and quaint hotel. The service was excellent and I look forward to staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crichwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Desert, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We booked a Diamond Head Room and were upgraded to the Diamond Head Junior Suite when we arrived. Gorgeous view of the mountain as well as a partial view of the ocean. Staff was very friendly (except for one trip advisor downstairs) and the service was impeccable. The room was cleaned every day and the bed turned down every night. The food was amazing in the main resturant, although a little pricey. The drinks were strong but great as you watched the sunset. Also, the hotel is located on the best beach in Waikiki and no pool is needed. Location was great since it's far enough away from downtown that you can fall asleep to the ocean but close enough to walk to go to any bar, resturant or other hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and plan on staying again!

Room Tip: The Corner Head Suite was large with a complete "L" shaped balcony all the way around, wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Park Shore Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#34 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Property: The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Address: 2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of its paradisiacal setting, The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel is a refreshing escape from the crowds of Waikiki. This boutique hotel sits right on one of Honolulu’s best white-sand beach, cradled next to the slopes of Diamond Head Crater, and located directly across from the 108 acre Kapiolani Park, perfect for those seeking a recreational or romantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Kaimana Beach Honolulu
Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Hawaii
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing