We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,050)
Filter reviews
1,050 results
Traveller rating
442
410
123
57
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
442
410
123
57
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hau tree kapiolani park diamond head minute walk waikiki skyline wrap around balcony private beach quiet end of waikiki ocean front quiet side superior room quiet location convenience store homeless people rooms are small beach mats main waikiki
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,050 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2018

This place is ancient and the rooms and overall facility show it. If you're looking for a budget option it could work, but honestly avoid if at all possible. There are plenty of better value options than this.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathanl2292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArleneManager, Director of Sales at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2018

Aloha Nathan,

Thank you for taking the time review our hotel and express our comments. Our hotel rooms have all been renovated and we are still in the process of renovating public areas inside and out. We value your comments and will look into the situation that you have experienced. Our staff are very great and customer service cannot be beat. We have a great location on the quiet end of Waikiki where it is relaxing and away from all the hustle and bustle of Waikiki.

Mahalo

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

I truly enjoyed my stay at this hotel! I paid for a moderate room (the smallest) and upon check in we were upgraded to a bigger room with a beautiful mountain view! We had no issues , until our 2nd to last day there when the air stopped working. But that was a blessing in disguise because they quickly upgraded us AGAIN to an Ocean View room with an even more spectacular view! This hotel is right on the beach! They have 2 restaurants and a bar, the restaurant outside has a great ambiance, you truly couldn't ask for a better location or scene. The beach area was quiet yet still fun, a slower pace than a mile or so up in the hustle and bustle of Wakiki (which is in walking distance as well as the shopping area in Wakiki). Also within walking distance of the Honolulu Zoo and the Aquarium. 15-30 minutes from the airport and a mall, depending on traffic. Outlet mall was like 20-30 minutes away as well. Perfect location! Rooms are nicely redone, halls and outer are clean and kept. Valet guy was friendly and informative as was the front desk staff. Ate at Hau Tree Lanai and Miyako, both great! Please do not sleep on The New Otani!!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jan'Tel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2018

Booked a friend from Japan at this hotel because staff speaks some Japanese, and their service is helpful and friendly, and the room rate for a hotel directly on the beach in front of Diamond Head and across from Kapiolani Park was perfect for his stay. The Hau Tree Lanai restaurant is excellent, and picture-perfect under the native hau trees. Not the most modern appointments, but clean and tidy, and who needs a pool when the beach is right in front? Rooms are small, but all you need is a place to sleep, then head out to the beach, sightseeing and exploring! Parking via valet but reasonable, considering this is Waikiki! Considered hotels on the beach closer to Waikiki Beach but the prices and crowds were discouraging. If you like crowds and busy shopping, this hotel is not for you as the Royal Hawaiian, Sheraton, and Moana Hotels offer full resort experiences with plenty of shopping venues.

Room Tip: Any room is fine as it is located in the quiet end of Waikiki, at the bottom of Diamond Head.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OzawaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2018

This is an unpretentious property. To be honest, the lobby and common areas could use a design refresh. However, it has a well appointed bar overlooking the beach-side restaurant under the Lau trees. The layout of the place is excellent.

Staff was friendly and accommodating although I did not have any special needs.

My ocean-view room had an epic view. The porch spanned the length of the rom with two sliding doors for access. This was by far the best vista I have ever had in a hotel room and the room made the most of it. My room had been recently renovated and felt up to date although not particularly luxurious.

The hotel is next to the War Memorial and in a very secluded end near Diamond Head (which you can walk to if you want to hike for $1), although the center of Waikiki is a mere 20 minute walk away. If you want to be close to some great parts of Honolulu without feeling like you are stuck in the middle of a city, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cameron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2018

During a period of almost 20 years I am visiting this place almost every 2nd year. Some of the current personnel I have seen since 1999 and I know some of them are there for much longer, that tells something.
It is a great place with great people and I am looking forward going there again.

If you go there try the poke :-)

The only thing I could mention that might be improved: Please don´t put the daily newspapers into a plastic bag, you are living on an island, it´s going to come back one day.

thanks for 20 great years and continue.

Markus

Room Tip: try the corner rooms overlooking the park and the ocean
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews