We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Ranked #53 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Mn
2 reviews
“Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Very courteous staff, breakfast was very good, accommodations were good, the only problems we had were the neighbors were noisy until we pounded on the wall and told them to be quiet at 5 AM. The only thing we did not find was a jacuzzi/hot tub.

Room Tip: If you are not going to be in your room much why pay extra for a view, we had a partial view which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twoloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    1,522
    781
    262
    168
See reviews for
1,046
1,508
116
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (926)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

This is our second time to have a one week vacation at this hotel. We love it. If you can get a good deal on the room rate, it is a great value.
The breakfast option is very good with many options. It is served from 6:30-9:00. It is well attended, but the lines move quickly.
We enjoy the location. It is right at the beach. It is at the end of the strip, so lots of walking as you explore dining and shopping, but nothing is too far away.
Rooms are small, but beds very comfortable.
View is lovely, but depends on floor and which direction you are facing.
There is a $3/day safe charge.
No coffee makers in the room. Thankfully we knew this ahead of time and packed accordingly. Free coffee is of course available during breakfast, but we prefer in room option.
Free wifi is in lobby, but if your room is above pool you may be able to get it from your lanai.
I would absolutely stay there again, but only if I was able to get a good promotion rate.

Room Tip: Above pool is nice, as long as you don't mind enjoying the music from Tiki restaurant some eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coreena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We really liked this hotel. It certainly isn't the quietest, given the location and the open air bar, but it is very convenient to everything -- right across from the beach! -- is very comfortable, and has a great free breakfast that you can take to the beach every morning. I agree with some of the reviews -- service is a bit hit or miss. Some staff were really friendly and helpful, and others clearly couldn't care if we were satisfied or not. Overall, though, we really liked this hotel and have recommended it to others to stay here too. We'd stay here again no problem.

Room Tip: Get something on an upper floor on the pool side or in the front overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travellingfamily003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel for one week (March 24-31 2012). Our room, #1429, was an ocean front, king bed room with a balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach. The view was panoramic: uninterrupted ocean view and the balcony was able to accommodate two chairs and a small table. It appeared that the rooms having parallel views would not be nearly as scenic and in our opinion the room was worth the upcharge.
The room was spacious and well equipped with effective air conditioning, a mini-fridge that did an excellent job of keeping drinks and fruits cold, and ample closet and storage space. The only complaint regarding the furnishings was that there was no place to store toiletries in the bathroom and we had to put items on the floor. The carpet, furniture and bedding were clean and in very good condition and showed little wear.
Being located at the east end of the Waikiki strip (near the zoo), the hotel is in a less congested area (both for foot and vehicle traffic) which was a nice break after visiting the central beach area.
The entire Waikiki beach is being “refreshed” meaning more sand is being added, and we were concerned this would be noisy and inconvenient and emailed ahead to the GM, but it turned out that while the beach immediately in front of the hotel is being worked on, you need only walk 100 feet east and the refurbished beach is wide and less busy than that further west. There was no noise to speak of.
The breakfast provided was more than adequate. There was mixed, fresh fruit, cold cereals, instant oatmeal, muffins and breads (all fresh) tropical flavored yogurts and several varieties of coffee. There were also waffles available for $3 and Omelets made to order for $5. (We did not care for the orange juice so we went and bought a 1/2 gallon at the grocery store for $6 and kept it in our refrigerator for the week.) You are given a soft sided cooler that is sufficient to hold a six pack of soda or all of your breakfast items if you wish to take them to your room or the beach. In fact, there is often little available room to sit around the pool area where the breakfast is served.
The facilities of the hotel are very nice and well kept. The pool does close at 7pm which seems quite early, and the water temperature was quite cold (about ocean temperature). The bell staff was helpful and security at the hotel is adequate. The elevators are key controlled and not nearly as difficult to use as you may read in other reviews- there is always someone on duty to assist if needed.
Parking is quite expensive at $27/night. We heard there was cheaper parking elsewhere but were never able to find it and ended up parking for free (after 6pm) at the nearby park. There is also street parking nearby but you have to feed the meters until 6pm at $1.50.hour with a 2 hour max.
We had several problems which were technology related. The safe code stopped working after 5 days and had to be reset by maintenance. We were told this was the policy but it was inconvenient as we were locked out. The safe charge is $3/day.
Also, the internet in the room in not wireless- they do provide the hook up cable though- but it was a poor connection and had to be adjusted by maintenance.
These two items were overall very minor and did not detract from our enjoyment of the hotel. We would definitely stay at this property again.

Room Tip: spend the money to get an oceanfront room -- we ate every breakfast on the balcony along with a coup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Solperros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012 via mobile

I am staying at this hotel currently and have been repeatedly disappointed in this place.  Unfortunately, I got this reservation on book it.com and can't even switch hotels without losing everything I paid for!   My flight was delayed 24 hrs due to "mechanical problems" and when I called the bookit representative, she told me the hotel usually tries to be accommodating, esp since it was a mechanical problem on the plane and not nature related.  We finally got here, exhausted from our travel here.  I spoke with the supervisor to see if they may be able to comp our room for the night we lost there and the entire next day, but she looked upset that she had to even walk out to speak to us.  She replied that they are unable to comp a night and were unable to offer anything else except that they would charge a little less for late check out on the day we depart!  Whaat?  I have never heard of being charged per hr on checking out late!  I have never seen a manager that does not seem to want to do anything to make the customer happy, esp. after all we went through to get here!  She just said, "Well that is the airline's fault, not ours."  Really?  I realize it's not their fault but they should be a little more accommodating. When we checked into our "partial ocean view" room I called the front desk and informed them that I did not see an ocean and there was only a view of the run down apt building next to it.  She pointed out that if you walk into this 3ftx1ft balcony and look through the corner to the right, there was a small view of the ocean....wow!  What a scam!  Sure enough it was there between a few buildings, but what a joke!  U think I'm really going to step out on this 1 ft diameter balcony to look to right and see the ocean???  So, we have 2 double beds and they are full size only and no queen size beds available. I asked about a king with a sofa bed and a roll away, and of course they want to charge more for each day.  I have never been to a hotel that has not accommodated such requests.  This just shows me how cheap of a hotel this is!  We went to breakfast which is 6:30 to 9 am.  It had a decent selection for a continental breakfast but the staff is so rude!  I asked for a cup to get juice for my kids at 9:05 and they guy there says the breakfast ends at 9 and refuses to give me any milk or a cup for juice!  

In summary, I would never stay in a such a hotel in the future.  I am very disappointed in their service and their attitude here.  This may be a good, economical hotel choice for kids on Spring break, but not for a family trying to enjoy a relaxing vacation.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank sherpunjabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The hotel is right on the beach, as all the hotels on Kalakaua Ave are. It is the furthest hotel from the shops and restaurants of Waikiki. The room was small but the furnishings were nice. The staff was hit or miss, some nice and helpful, most seemed bothered by a simple request. The valet parking is convenient, but there is a free lot just on the other side of the zoo which is very close. There is also an hourly charge lot just behind the hotel, if you don't to spend $27 a day to park. The room was very noisy at night, between the thin door/walls, we could hear the cars at the intersection and the hissing wind while we tried to sleep. The elevator system is very annoying, for some reason you can take an elevator from the ground floor to your floor but not the other way around. Every time we left the hotel we had to wait for 2 elevators to get to the ground level. All around there are much nicer places to stay for the same price.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

The Aston Waikiki is just steps away from the beach, just like the hotel advertises. When we first arrived and were placed in a room next an elevator so we asked to be moved. The staff was very accommodating of our request and we were moved to a far better room just after our arrival. The daily continental breakfasts were always the same but very good. There was usually a musician or dancers but since it rained most of that week it was only sporadic at best. Overall, we liked our stay there because it is central to the action going on; be it beach-going or shoppping/dining, whatever. We had a great time and would book another stay at this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: The higher floors have less noise going on (people and A/C units alike)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,103 reviews
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#47 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,169 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Property: Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3698
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 645 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing