We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we bargained for.”
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The Hotel is okay, the staff are nice, and the price is nice. However, we did not get what we planned. Part of the reason we stayed there were for the advertised tennis courts and larger pool. Turns out they lost their contract to those (they actually belong to a building behind the hotel) a month before we arrive. Uh, that's when we made our reservation. They should have shared this with us. Further, we saw there was parking available & didn't know that meant they only have 8 spots. We ended up parking a 15 minute walk away. If you don't mind the location (15 min walk from Waikiki) & just need a bed, you'll be happy.

Room Tip: Room with canopy bed felt considerably smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tkfirefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

tkfirefly,

Mahalo for taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time in Hawaii. We apologize for any inconvenience you were caused by the change in amenities, and assure you we have addressed the manner by making it very clear on our website. In the future, we would be glad to move you immediately to a room in the Marina Tower, where of course you would have full access to the amenities of that building.

In regards to our parking, we are more than capable of handling parking for the building. In the cases of any overflow, we advise our guests of a lot directly across the street, for the same price. I am sorry to hear that this was not available to you, and appreciate your feedback. We will be sure that our staff is more vocal about alternative solutions.

We hope that you will contact us upon your return to Waikiki, and allow us to show you a much improved stay.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,024 - 1,030 of 1,569 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

The rooms are comfy as can be. Big mattress for great sleep after long trip. Front desk people make the difference here! They totally go out of their way to make the stay a very enjoyable experience! They are quick to check you in, so you can go about enjoying Waikiki! Need a cab? Pronto its there! Good location only a few blocks from Waikiki! Safe as can be! And me I love my MacDonalds coffe in morning..right down the street. More important "Special Thanks" to Renee and Puka for being the difernece from staying there versus other hotels. People do make the differnece!

Room Tip: Call ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjod_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Pjod_1,

Thank you for taking the time to compliment our hotel and staff. Our employees take pride in their work, and are passionate about sharing the aloha spirit with our guests. I will certainly share your positive feedback, and ensure they are recognized for their achievements. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This is a very good value hotel, clean with adequate housekeeping. It is in a great location, near the Ala Wai canal on Ala Moana Blvd. Close to the bus and easy to walk to the mall, beach, Ala Moana park & restaurants. There was some traffic noise at night, but the beds were comfortable so we slept well. More drawers or a suitcase rack would be nice. Breakfast was simple but OK - fruit, juice, pastries and coffee. It would benefit from more seating, another toaster & hot water with tea bags. The pool is very small and shaded, go to the beach instead. Internet didn't work in the room, which was annoying. It was accessible in the lobby. The staff was outstanding however. We had problems with our netbook, including connecting to the internet. We left it with Jason, who had it working when we returned in the afternoon. Everyone was pleasant and helpful. There is a long flight of stairs at the narrow entrance & Keo offered to lug our suitcases to the sidewalk for us. I would book here again.

Room Tip: ask to be away from Ala Moana Blvd, the motorcycles are really noisy esp at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanB_222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Without exception the staff were friendly, efficient and accommodating. As far as I am concerned, this is a good find for budget travellers but it does have its frustrations. My frustrations were as follows: (1) No plug for the bathroom sink; (2) often waiting until 5:00 and beyond for fresh hand towels; (3) slow elevator - you need to be able to climb a flight of stairs to get to the lobby; (4) the bathroom configuration is such that if your roommate is in there with the door closed, you cannot access the closet. I had no problem with the internet in the room; however it works only with devices that plug in. My roommate had to get internet on his phone in the lobby or breakfast room. We both found it mildly annoying that we needed a new code every day. Housekeeping was adequate but no gold stars. The continental breakfast was fine but patience is needed as they keep running out of things so you get to wait for replenishment. We stayed here for two weeks and despite the frustrations would likely stay again if the rate was good (we booked through the hotel directly and got the seniors rate).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We spent 3 nights here and thought that it was a great value. The location was excellent--we liked being away from the towering hotels that line Wakiki Beach and the convenience of being able to walk to many good restaurants. Our room was clean and we slept well in a comfortable king-sized bed. There was a shower but no tub in the bathroom.

Breakfast was a bit of a free-for-all as the space where the food is made available was small. It was other guests who were rude taking lots of food while others waited in line. We found that if we were patient, that there was plenty for everyone. The breakfast was simple pastries, toast, juice and coffee. There is an ABC store nearby where you could buy cheese or yogurt to supplement your breakfast. Refrigerators are in the room. Some guests complained that the were told that breakfast was served until 9:30 though we were clearly told that breakfast ended at 9:00 am. Posting breakfast hours in writing either at the front desk or in the room could eliminate the potential for confusion. In the case mentioned, the staff was more than courteous.

There was noise from the busy street below but we didn't lose any sleep because of it.

We would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband and I did a last min. travel to Hawaii. We wanted to stay in Waikiki for a few days but did not care to be on a beach. These were the things on our the top of our list. good clean room. not much more then $100 a night, pool/spa and close to Hilton were I had some cousins staying. This was a great place if you don't need a big fancy name hotel.

Room Tip: We have AAA, and got a discount using it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aubrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My boyfriend and I are a dual military couple and he suprised me with a vacation to Hawaii. We arrived in Honolulu to find that our original hotel was not fit for human occupancy. We called about 15 other hotels and they were all full. We stumbled upon the Equus on the internet and Clinton was able to accomodate us for the three nights of our trip. Clinton had superb customer service skills, they were head and shoulders above any other person we spoke to that day. It was refreshing to speak to a person who genuinely cared about our needs. He booked us a room in the tower on the 10 the floor. There were some undesirable things about that room but we were not able to move until the morning because a member of our party was very sick. The next morning we packed our bags and went to the front desk and spoke with a gentleman. We briefly told him our problem and immediately he asked us to check out a room in the main building. Ur gave us a key and told us he would watch our bags. We went into the room, were blown away with how beautiful it was and went back and told him we'd love to have it. He quickly changed our room and comped our parking for the previous night. He too was extremely pleasant and genuinely concerned about our trip experience. We wrote a letter to the manager (Rene) telling her about our experience and I happened to meet her by happenstance a few hours later and she graciously comped our first nights stay. No questions asked. She is a lovely lady, inside and out. She has a very genuine and meek spirit and truly sets the bar for customer service. The staff at this hotel truly makes it superior to any other hotel I've stayed at. I will definitely be back. Words can't express the dedication this team shows to its patrons.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARY J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.4 km away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,926 reviews
1.3 km away
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
732 reviews
1.2 km away
Aqua Oasis
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,553 reviews
0.9 km away
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#32 of 84 in Honolulu
342 reviews
0.3 km away
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $180 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikiki's "Upper West Side" where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world's largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel's equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. IMPORTANT NOTES: *Stairway Access Only *Valet Parking Only $25/night *Provide Arrival Time - for luggage assistance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing