We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$350
US$302
Outrigger.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$333
US$304
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach(Honolulu)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$262
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$354
US$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$205
US$194
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Modern Honolulu(Honolulu)
US$322
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$372
US$239
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$283
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Prince Waikiki(Honolulu)
US$350
US$289
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
US$217
US$163
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,641)
Filter reviews
1,641 results
Traveller rating
820
506
188
74
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
820
506
188
74
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsala moana blvdmarina towerred lobsterabc storealoha spiritwaikiki beachwithin walking distancestreet noiseflat screen tvsmall hotelconvention centeracross the streetlight sleepercoffee machinethe entire staffsmall poolbus stop
Filter
Updating list...
1,094 - 1,099 of 1,641 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2012

The rooms are comfy as can be. Big mattress for great sleep after long trip. Front desk people make the difference here! They totally go out of their way to make the stay a very enjoyable experience! They are quick to check you in, so you can go about enjoying Waikiki! Need a cab? Pronto its there! Good location only a few blocks from Waikiki! Safe as can be! And me I love my MacDonalds coffe in morning..right down the street. More important "Special Thanks" to Renee and Puka for being the difernece from staying there versus other hotels. People do make the differnece!

Room Tip: Call ahead!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjod_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at The Equus, an Ascend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Pjod_1,

Thank you for taking the time to compliment our hotel and staff. Our employees take pride in their work, and are passionate about sharing the aloha spirit with our guests. I will certainly share your positive feedback, and ensure they are recognized for their achievements. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This is a very good value hotel, clean with adequate housekeeping. It is in a great location, near the Ala Wai canal on Ala Moana Blvd. Close to the bus and easy to walk to the mall, beach, Ala Moana park & restaurants. There was some traffic noise at night, but the beds were comfortable so we slept well. More drawers or a suitcase rack would be nice. Breakfast was simple but OK - fruit, juice, pastries and coffee. It would benefit from more seating, another toaster & hot water with tea bags. The pool is very small and shaded, go to the beach instead. Internet didn't work in the room, which was annoying. It was accessible in the lobby. The staff was outstanding however. We had problems with our netbook, including connecting to the internet. We left it with Jason, who had it working when we returned in the afternoon. Everyone was pleasant and helpful. There is a long flight of stairs at the narrow entrance & Keo offered to lug our suitcases to the sidewalk for us. I would book here again.

Room Tip: ask to be away from Ala Moana Blvd, the motorcycles are really noisy esp at night
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanB_222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Without exception the staff were friendly, efficient and accommodating. As far as I am concerned, this is a good find for budget travellers but it does have its frustrations. My frustrations were as follows: (1) No plug for the bathroom sink; (2) often waiting until 5:00 and beyond for fresh hand towels; (3) slow elevator - you need to be able to climb a flight of stairs to get to the lobby; (4) the bathroom configuration is such that if your roommate is in there with the door closed, you cannot access the closet. I had no problem with the internet in the room; however it works only with devices that plug in. My roommate had to get internet on his phone in the lobby or breakfast room. We both found it mildly annoying that we needed a new code every day. Housekeeping was adequate but no gold stars. The continental breakfast was fine but patience is needed as they keep running out of things so you get to wait for replenishment. We stayed here for two weeks and despite the frustrations would likely stay again if the rate was good (we booked through the hotel directly and got the seniors rate).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We spent 3 nights here and thought that it was a great value. The location was excellent--we liked being away from the towering hotels that line Wakiki Beach and the convenience of being able to walk to many good restaurants. Our room was clean and we slept well in a comfortable king-sized bed. There was a shower but no tub in the bathroom.

Breakfast was a bit of a free-for-all as the space where the food is made available was small. It was other guests who were rude taking lots of food while others waited in line. We found that if we were patient, that there was plenty for everyone. The breakfast was simple pastries, toast, juice and coffee. There is an ABC store nearby where you could buy cheese or yogurt to supplement your breakfast. Refrigerators are in the room. Some guests complained that the were told that breakfast was served until 9:30 though we were clearly told that breakfast ended at 9:00 am. Posting breakfast hours in writing either at the front desk or in the room could eliminate the potential for confusion. In the case mentioned, the staff was more than courteous.

There was noise from the busy street below but we didn't lose any sleep because of it.

We would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2012

My husband and I did a last min. travel to Hawaii. We wanted to stay in Waikiki for a few days but did not care to be on a beach. These were the things on our the top of our list. good clean room. not much more then $100 a night, pool/spa and close to Hilton were I had some cousins staying. This was a great place if you don't need a big fancy name hotel.

Room Tip: We have AAA, and got a discount using it!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aubrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews