We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Ala Moana Shopping Center”
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I normally stay at a different hotel, but thought I would try this on for my overnight stay this time.
Location is 5 minutes walk to the shops. Negative is the 20 or so stairs from the street to the reception area, which certainly needs an update as" you only have one chance to make a first impression" My room was on the 4th. floor in the hotel, not the tower. It looked out to the car parking decks and the property next door. The windows don't open and there was no balcony. However, I requested two beds, just so I would have somewhere to open my large suitcase. There were two full size beds, a flat screen TV, a coffee maker and refrigerator in my room. The TV reception was terrible as the picture on most channels was continually broken up with static. The bed was comfortable and I found the place clean. Internet available in the foyer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itchyfeetGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

ItchyfeetGoldCoast,

Mahalo for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location and were able to branch out from your regular stay. Although we do have a set of steps up to the reception, we have a bellman and plenty of other staff happy and willing to help you and with any luggage.

Our rooms are designed uniquely to accent our boutique Ralph-Lauren design. They are fitted with dreamy pillow top beds, flat screen TVs, coffee makers, refrigerators and in-room Internet. Windows and doors all open wide in every guest room. Our guest service agents are available 24 hours for any questions or concerns.

We appreciate your time with us, and hope that you will come get to know us on your next visit!

Many mahalos,

Mariah Dailey
Mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 1,569 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

The hotel is located within walking distance to the beach, the marina and the Ala Moana Center. If you have a disability, you'll have to climb many stairs in order to get to the very small, dingy reception area. The staff are not very helpful. They are very abrupt an don't go out of their way to be friendly (I was there for 7 nights). Our "first" room had roaches, we were then moved to another room that was dingy but seemed clean (we never saw any roaches but kept our suitcases zipped up). The maid service consisted of making up the beds and replacing towels. Our room was never vacuumed and our sink never looked as though it was cleaned. The internet never worked in our room. The hallways are dimly lit at night. The full breakfast that is provided by a nearby restaurant is horrid unless you prefer greasy eggs, fried potatoes and the cheapest margarine on your toast. After our first breakfast experience and a full vacation day of being sick, we opted to purchase our breakfast at the IHOP just down the road. Don't stay here.

Room Tip: 904 had roaches. 905 didn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Laurspa,

Thank you for your comments. We apologize for any inconvenience caused during your time with us. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your time here. There are several issues to address:

Regarding roaches, as this is a very occasional issue, the only way to address it is moving rooms. Rarely, when this issue does occur, it needs to be addressed immediately. We apologize for having to move rooms, however Hawaii is a tropical climate, and in the instance of any kind of pest, we need to ensure your comfort and safety as well as treat the problem immediately.

Our housekeeping services your room daily unless otherwise requested. As with any hotel, we must respect any DND sign and not enter your room if it is placed outside.

Our breakfast is an additional benefit, and due to our lack of restaurant facilities, we prefer to utilize one of our neighborhood restaurants. We have had a continental breakfast onsite in the past, however we wanted to provide a full hot breakfast for our guests utilizing breakfast, and believed that professional restaurateurs could provide this more sufficiently.

Lastly, we will certainly look into the staff members that assisted you during your stay. Our hospitality and service is something we take very seriously, and pride ourselves on creating a unique customer experience. I assure you this matter will be rectified immediately.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide the service we are certainly capable of, and that you will considering contacting us upon your return.

Many mahalos,

Mariah Dailey
Mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Old and tired and not so clean. We were very disappointed and glad we only booked one night. we were put in a corner room on the 6th floor. It was really the 3rd floor as the floors were numbered differently. Wifi didn't work either. Lots of stairs to go up to reception on 1st floor and no lift to the car park on the ground floor meant that it was a challenge arriving and departing. The staff were friendly though and the porter did help us to our room from reception in he lift, and from reception to ground on departure. Staff arranged a taxi for us too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gypsywillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Gypsywillow,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate every opportunity to improve our services. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your room, as we have beautiful Ralph-Lauren inspired boutique decor. Our rooms are styled in a unique fashion, and we understand if this is not to your style.

Our housekeeping staff works hard to make the interior and exterior spotless. We will certainly look into this matter, as it is quite out of the ordinary for our rooms to appear dingy and dirty.

We are glad that you were able to enjoy our staff and their assistance with your entry and exit. We strive to individualize each stay with our unique decor and friendly staff. We hope that you will give us an opportunity to show you our capabilities as a unique boutique in Waikiki

Many mahalos,

Mariah Dailey
Mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

first off the staff were really great people. kudos to jennifer the manager, who baked a homemade cake for my girlfriend's (charm) bday. it was delivered to room upon arrival. thx so much. we will definitely stay again. one day the water from hotel was gonna be shut down for maintenance. however all the staff (jennifer) made sure we were taken care with another room. above all a place where we are already planning to return. a good place to stay. i recommend checking in.

Room Tip: suite with ocean view. higher floors are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnrealmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Johnrealmc,

Mahalo for your review. It was a pleasure to have you celebrate a special occasion with us, and great that you were able to try a delectable creation from Blissful Bites! We hope that you won't wait for the next occassion to come back and visit!

Many mahalos,

Mariah Dailey
Mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Stayed there for 5 nights. After staying at the Royal Hawaiin (pink) for 6 nights. Obviously the two don't compare and nobody would expect them to. I must say, we were quite impressed with the Equus boutique hotel. It was clean, maintained daily & friendly staff. King bed was comfortable & room while not expansive, was big enough, nice views from the balcony and walkway. We stayed on the 9th floor. Lift is a bit slow, but we weren't in a hurry very often. Close to Ala Moana Shopping Centre (5 min walk) Ross Stores & Walmart (10 min walk) and of course there's an ABC Store nearby. Can easily walk to the main Waikiki Strip (maybe 20 mins). Close to South end of Waikiki Beach (Hilton) and close to Marina and other quieter beaches. Sure breakfast was a short walk, but was fine. Free in room WiFi, unlike some of the more expensive hotels. Overall, we enjoyed our stay in this very affordable hotel. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Phil S,

Mahalo for taking the time to check out our boutique hotel in Waikiki. It is wonderful to get an idea of the different things Waikiki has to offer. Hawaii is really what you make it, and there are so many interesting neighborhoods and fun places to discover. We are glad you were able to come check out our end of Waikiki, with great access to premier shopping, dining and great selection of beaches that most visitors miss! We Hope that you will return again soon!

Many mahalos,

Mariah Dailey
Mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This year for my birthday we North Shore Oahu residents decided to "go to Hawaii" with an overnight in Waikiki. The Equus again proved to be just the spot. Beautifully clean rooms furnished with lovely antiques, super soft sheets, new photos in the breezeways of Hawaiian Cowboy life and freshly polished brass on the entry stairway. The staff was very kind and informed. We had a fine vacation.

Room Tip: The higher you are, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GOODART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Goodart,

Mahalo for your many loyal years with us. We are delighted have have you stay on such a special occasion as your birthday. We hope to have you as part of our Equus Ohana for many years to come!

Many mahalos,

Mariah Dailey
Mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed here for one night prior to catching our flight back home. I was just looking for somewhere to sleep for the night and the price was right. Basically we were at the hotel for 15 hours so my review is based on a very short stay.

The good
Although our room was not quite ready at the stated check in time they did everything they could to get us settled as soon as possible.

We were assisted with our luggage up all those stairs at the front entrance. The guy who helped us with this was really friendly !

The room was clean, although basic and a little dated. For the price I thought it was reasonable though.

Close to Ala Moana shopping centre and a few eating options.

The not so good
There is no wifi in the rooms (they do have ethernet connections but these obviously dont work with many tablets ) and we couldn't get the wifi in the lobby to work which was disappointing since we were hoping to communicate with family back home. Seriously , reliable wifi should be standard for hotels these days.

The pillows were awful!

Coffee in the rooms-Blerk! We ended up going to McDonalds which is close by the get coffee prior to our departure.

To sum up , good for a night or two but I wouldn't recommend this as your primary base if you're staying in Hawaii.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Shay k,

Mahalo for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to have you stay with us, and assist you in your short visit. We are pleased you were able to enjoy our location and friendly staff.

We are sorry to hear that you were unable to get the wifi in our lobby functioning, however for security reasons, we provide individual passwords that you can get from Guest services. This is for the safety of your information online.

We provide local coffee in rooms during your first night. We apologize that it was not to your liking, however this is remedied easily as we are surrounded by restaurants, and The ABC store as well as Kimo Bean cafe are within a block of the hotel for more selection.

In the future, we hope that you will give us more time to get acquainted with you. We strive for personalized service, and hopefully on your next visit you will have more time to share.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
Mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.4 km away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,926 reviews
1.3 km away
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
730 reviews
1.2 km away
Aqua Oasis
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,553 reviews
0.9 km away
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
341 reviews
0.3 km away
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#46 of 84 in Honolulu
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $176 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikiki's "Upper West Side" where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world's largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel's equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. IMPORTANT NOTES: *Stairway Access Only *Valet Parking Only $25/night *Provide Arrival Time - for luggage assistance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing