We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Prince Waikiki(Honolulu)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach(Honolulu)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$252
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$304
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$205
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$354
US$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Modern Honolulu(Honolulu)
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$325
US$239
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$282
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
US$215
US$167
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$919
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,640)
Filter reviews
1,640 results
Traveller rating
820
505
188
74
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
820
505
188
74
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsala moana blvdmarina towerred lobsterabc storealoha spiritwaikiki beachwithin walking distancestreet noiseflat screen tvsmall hotelconvention centeracross the streetlight sleepercoffee machinethe entire staffsmall poolbus stop
Filter
Updating list...
1,040 - 1,045 of 1,640 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel is located within walking distance to the beach, the marina and the Ala Moana Center. If you have a disability, you'll have to climb many stairs in order to get to the very small, dingy reception area. The staff are not very helpful. They are very abrupt an don't go out of their way to be friendly (I was there for 7 nights). Our "first" room had roaches, we were then moved to another room that was dingy but seemed clean (we never saw any roaches but kept our suitcases zipped up). The maid service consisted of making up the beds and replacing towels. Our room was never vacuumed and our sink never looked as though it was cleaned. The internet never worked in our room. The hallways are dimly lit at night. The full breakfast that is provided by a nearby restaurant is horrid unless you prefer greasy eggs, fried potatoes and the cheapest margarine on your toast. After our first breakfast experience and a full vacation day of being sick, we opted to purchase our breakfast at the IHOP just down the road. Don't stay here.

Room Tip: 904 had roaches. 905 didn't.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus, an Ascend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Laurspa,

Thank you for your comments. We apologize for any inconvenience caused during your time with us. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your time here. There are several issues to address:

Regarding roaches, as this is a very occasional issue, the only way to address it is moving rooms. Rarely, when this issue does occur, it needs to be addressed immediately. We apologize for having to move rooms, however Hawaii is a tropical climate, and in the instance of any kind of pest, we need to ensure your comfort and safety as well as treat the problem immediately.

Our housekeeping services your room daily unless otherwise requested. As with any hotel, we must respect any DND sign and not enter your room if it is placed outside.

Our breakfast is an additional benefit, and due to our lack of restaurant facilities, we prefer to utilize one of our neighborhood restaurants. We have had a continental breakfast onsite in the past, however we wanted to provide a full hot breakfast for our guests utilizing breakfast, and believed that professional restaurateurs could provide this more sufficiently.

Lastly, we will certainly look into the staff members that assisted you during your stay. Our hospitality and service is something we take very seriously, and pride ourselves on creating a unique customer experience. I assure you this matter will be rectified immediately.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide the service we are certainly capable of, and that you will considering contacting us upon your return.

Many mahalos,

Mariah Dailey
Mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Old and tired and not so clean. We were very disappointed and glad we only booked one night. we were put in a corner room on the 6th floor. It was really the 3rd floor as the floors were numbered differently. Wifi didn't work either. Lots of stairs to go up to reception on 1st floor and no lift to the car park on the ground floor meant that it was a challenge arriving and departing. The staff were friendly though and the porter did help us to our room from reception in he lift, and from reception to ground on departure. Staff arranged a taxi for us too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gypsywillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus, an Ascend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Gypsywillow,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate every opportunity to improve our services. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your room, as we have beautiful Ralph-Lauren inspired boutique decor. Our rooms are styled in a unique fashion, and we understand if this is not to your style.

Our housekeeping staff works hard to make the interior and exterior spotless. We will certainly look into this matter, as it is quite out of the ordinary for our rooms to appear dingy and dirty.

We are glad that you were able to enjoy our staff and their assistance with your entry and exit. We strive to individualize each stay with our unique decor and friendly staff. We hope that you will give us an opportunity to show you our capabilities as a unique boutique in Waikiki

Many mahalos,

Mariah Dailey
Mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2012

first off the staff were really great people. kudos to jennifer the manager, who baked a homemade cake for my girlfriend's (charm) bday. it was delivered to room upon arrival. thx so much. we will definitely stay again. one day the water from hotel was gonna be shut down for maintenance. however all the staff (jennifer) made sure we were taken care with another room. above all a place where we are already planning to return. a good place to stay. i recommend checking in.

Room Tip: suite with ocean view. higher floors are great.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnrealmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus, an Ascend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Johnrealmc,

Mahalo for your review. It was a pleasure to have you celebrate a special occasion with us, and great that you were able to try a delectable creation from Blissful Bites! We hope that you won't wait for the next occassion to come back and visit!

Many mahalos,

Mariah Dailey
Mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed there for 5 nights. After staying at the Royal Hawaiin (pink) for 6 nights. Obviously the two don't compare and nobody would expect them to. I must say, we were quite impressed with the Equus boutique hotel. It was clean, maintained daily & friendly staff. King bed was comfortable & room while not expansive, was big enough, nice views from the balcony and walkway. We stayed on the 9th floor. Lift is a bit slow, but we weren't in a hurry very often. Close to Ala Moana Shopping Centre (5 min walk) Ross Stores & Walmart (10 min walk) and of course there's an ABC Store nearby. Can easily walk to the main Waikiki Strip (maybe 20 mins). Close to South end of Waikiki Beach (Hilton) and close to Marina and other quieter beaches. Sure breakfast was a short walk, but was fine. Free in room WiFi, unlike some of the more expensive hotels. Overall, we enjoyed our stay in this very affordable hotel. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus, an Ascend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Phil S,

Mahalo for taking the time to check out our boutique hotel in Waikiki. It is wonderful to get an idea of the different things Waikiki has to offer. Hawaii is really what you make it, and there are so many interesting neighborhoods and fun places to discover. We are glad you were able to come check out our end of Waikiki, with great access to premier shopping, dining and great selection of beaches that most visitors miss! We Hope that you will return again soon!

Many mahalos,

Mariah Dailey
Mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This year for my birthday we North Shore Oahu residents decided to "go to Hawaii" with an overnight in Waikiki. The Equus again proved to be just the spot. Beautifully clean rooms furnished with lovely antiques, super soft sheets, new photos in the breezeways of Hawaiian Cowboy life and freshly polished brass on the entry stairway. The staff was very kind and informed. We had a fine vacation.

Room Tip: The higher you are, the better the view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GOODART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus, an Ascend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Goodart,

Mahalo for your many loyal years with us. We are delighted have have you stay on such a special occasion as your birthday. We hope to have you as part of our Equus Ohana for many years to come!

Many mahalos,

Mariah Dailey
Mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews