We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location...And a great staff”
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 September 2014

I cannot say enough good things about the staff at the Equus during our recent stay (9/16/2014).

From the refreshing juice during check-in to the cocktails on the veranda on Thursdays and Fridays, the welcoming, accommodating staff made us feel welcome. Right after check-in we received a text from the front desk letting us know that we can text them with any immediate concerns.

We chose this property primarily because of its central location, just blocks from Ala Moana shopping center, across the street from Ala Moana Beach Park and just a little walk from the western end of Waikiki beach.

The hotel is clean and presentable. The glass sliding doors need to be brought up to modern standards. A good central location brings with it traffic noise. Updated infrastructure would help with traffic noise greatly. It would also address the heat transfer from the outside. During our stay, the trade winds stopped so it was quite hot and humid even at night. We had to run the A/C 24-7 just to keep the room bearable. Modern windows would have helped greatly.

Having relatives on the island to take us around allowed us to avoid the $25/night parking fee. This is a problem for every hotel in Honolulu.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return to the Equus.

Room Tip: A room farther to the north puts you farther away from the main street (Ala Moana Boulevard).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank spyke5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 1,570 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2014

Booked as a package through an OTA. The hotel has decent ratings but it could be improved a little.

If you are mobility-impaired, be aware that it's a flight of stairs up to the lobby: No elevator. And then there are steps within the lobby. Only one elevator and that can be slow. Rooms are nice if a bit dark.

Rooms are nice and updated. Only flaw is that the sliding doors are single glazed and have no seals left. This will result in a lot of road noise. Replace the sliding doors and it will be much quieter.

Fridge is a nice with separate freezer so you don't have the icing problem of cheaper fridges. Coffee making service is a Keurig and it's free. Don't be afraid to ask cleaning stuff for your preferred choice of coffee/tea.

Ideally placed close to the beach but also close to Ala Moana and the real Honolulu - closer than Waikiki beach.

The pool is small and shaded but water is not very chlorinated - nice if you want to avoid the sun and do some laps. No pool towels provided though.

Room Tip: Avoid low numbers (closer to the road) X04 and beyond is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank YVRcockroach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2014

Nice price and a nice location. Be sure you request a quiet room away from the street. You can walk to the beach and to some nice restaurants in the area. The room was comfortable, the house keeping a bit uneven but not bad and the staff was helpful. No way to avoid them $25/day plus tax(!) fee if you want a car, but the price for the room was the best in the area, especially considering the generally good reviews from tripadviser. By the way, if you want real soap instead of that body wash stuff, you can ask for it and they'll give a small bar of soap.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kctLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2014

We checked in pretty late since our flight was delayed, so I guess we missed out on juice and lei's! The room was clean and the King size bed was so comfortable, gave us the best sleep! The room walls were a bit thin you can hear the bathroom upstairs, I know it's an old building, but besides that it was very quiet. Yoshi at the front desk was very helpful, I enquired about late check out on our last day, which they could accommodate! The free wifi is a bonus too! We personally like to park our rental car so we don't have to wait for the valet etc. But Elias greeted us every morning and was very helpful. All the valet gentlemen worked hard. We usually stay closer on the strip, but the walk was good for us and the location was very good, close to the Ala Mona mall. We would def stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KAVIKAKAVIKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2014

The Equus is a family oriented hotel with a friendly staff and beautiful timeless decor. I absolutely love the historical beauty in the hotel- the pictures of old ranches and horsemen back in the day.

The Equus has an great old fashion touch mixed with just the right amount of modernness. Talk about going green, the hotel key has to be in it's slot in the room for the AC to run, and also the patio door must be shut. I love this aspect of the rooms and THE BEDS ARE SO COMFORTABLE!

Location is great as well. Right at the beginning of Waikiki strip and not too far from Ala Moana Mall. Almost everything in walking distance. Overall I had a great time at the Equus and I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natorias808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2014

We were in Honolulu for the weekend to see a concert and decided to stay at the Equus Hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted with a welcome drink and leis. Our group had made 2 separate reservations and asked the front desk, Tim, if there's any chance that we can stay on the same floor. Considering that it was a very busy weekend in Honolulu, we were not expecting that to happen, but Tim went out of his way to accommodate our request, which is greatly appreciated. He also informed us that they will be serving complimentary Mai Tais between 4-7pm. The concierge (which I forgot to ask for his name) is very helpful. He went above and beyond when we asked for dinner recommendations. He actually asked every single staff member that happen to pass by of what they would also recommend for us.

The room is very clean and comfortable, they have a green concept for the Air Conditioner.

All in all, we are very pleased with our stay, and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back is much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank greenypinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2014

Now that I've stayed at The Equus a couple of times it's clear that the quality and comfort is consistent with my previous visits....The staff are friendly and helpful local folks who really know Oahu, and the location is outstanding! A small boutique hotel that packs a big value, it's a little gem in the heart of Waikiki. I look forward to my next visit to Honolulu and my next stay at The Equus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skibdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.4 km away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,926 reviews
1.3 km away
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
736 reviews
1.2 km away
Aqua Oasis
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,555 reviews
0.9 km away
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#30 of 84 in Honolulu
368 reviews
0.3 km away
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $179 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Equus Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikiki's "Upper West Side" where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world's largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel's equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. IMPORTANT NOTES: *Stairway Access Only *Valet Parking Only $25/night *Provide Arrival Time - for luggage assistance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing