We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy hotel”
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 November 2017

I stayed in Euuse two years ago, and I choosed again.
Because Hotel staff are very kind.
They remember us and treat us very nice.
I enjoyed staying in there with my mom.
Ofcouse room is very cozy.
I want to visit and see Rene and Puka again.
They have wonderful mind.
Thank you very much.

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miikun808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon S, Front Office Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Aloha Miikun808,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Mahalo,

Brandon S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 1,571 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

I live on a neighboring island and needed a room centrally located in Waikiki for the night. The Equus was by far the best price. I was greeted by Puka, at the front desk who was extremely welcoming, polite and a pleasure to speak to. I found everyone in the hotel staff to be just as welcoming, polite and accommodating. The room was great, bed super comfy and the hotel located in a perfect spot walking distance to everyone of my destinations. I will absolutely stay again when I visit next.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon S, Front Office Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Aloha Eric,

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Mahalo,

Brandon S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

So very nice hotel . their room service is so good. the housekeeper Mhila Talledo is so very friendly and nice and Im very thankful for her hospitality. me and my friends enjoyed there. we will be back again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank arnicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kika I, Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Aloha,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your kind words to Mhila. We are so lucky to have her on our team. We hope to see you again in the near future and hope you had a safe journey home.

Mahalo,

Brandon Stalnaker
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

Very nice small hotel at very reasonable price for the quality. Everyone who works here was super nice and really seemed to care about making our stay enjoyable. When our first room had a little glitch with the air conditioner not working, service people responded in minutes. Since it couldn't be fixed immediately, we were moved to another room. The staff did all that they could to be sure we were comfortable and compensate for the inconvenience.

We found the location to be very convenient. On site tour director was very helpful. Public transportation, shuttles and rental cars are all close by as well as several good restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kika I, Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Aloha Liz D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed yourself and apologize again for the AC not working in the first room we placed you in. We look forward to hopefully seeing you folks again in the near future.

Mahalo,

Brandon Stalnaker
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

I love to stay in equus hotel for 3 days, I feel so comfortable and the room i stay is super clean and all I need is ready,thanks to Mhila who I met.She is so very friendly, thank you very much for all the good service.I will be back again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Duncan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kika I, Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Aloha Duncan,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are so glad you enjoyed yourself and will pass your kind words onto Mhila whom we are so lucky to have on our team. We hope you had a safe journey home and look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the near future.

Mahalo,

Brandon Stalnaker
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

My boyfriend and I decided to runaway from our home island Maui and spend ONE night in Waikiki to celebrate our 4 years together. We were luckly to have our work schedules jive for that one night. We are super glad to have stayed at The Equus Hotel. The entire service was GREAT!!! Every employee we interacted with had genuine aloha. Not the corporate “aloha” you get all around Waikiki. Honest...corporate aloha isn’t genuine. RENE and PUKA were outstanding first impressions for the whole Equus Hotel experience.

We tried to get a second night but they were booked solid since it was Veteran’s Day. PUKA and RENE said not to lose faith because cancellations may arise. Sure enough, we were blessed to get that second night.

We didn’t have our own car so we don’t have experience with parking but Waikiki is totally walkable. We used Uber when we had to and there’s also Biki stations all around Waikiki.

Mahalo nui to The Equus Hotel for an awesome stay.

-Kahi and Bob

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chadwick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kika I, Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Aloha Kahi & Bob,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and will pass along your comments to all our staff especially Rene and Puka. We definitely strive to provide excellent service with genuine aloha spirit. We hope to see you folks again soon!

Mahalo,

Brandon Stalnaker
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

It's been awhile since I've stayed at this hotel. However the staff here are awesome and so welcoming. Puka who works the front desk always greets you with a smile. Jackie was very helpful with directions and was always on top of things

If anyone wants to stay at a quiet hotel within walking distance from everything and at a reasonable price....this is definitely the hotel for you and the family.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank glynis v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kika I, Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff especially Puka & Jacquie, who we are are very fortunate to have on our team, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Mahalo Nui Loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.4 km away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,926 reviews
1.3 km away
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
736 reviews
1.2 km away
Aqua Oasis
Aqua Oasis
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,557 reviews
0.9 km away
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#30 of 84 in Honolulu
368 reviews
0.3 km away
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#47 of 84 in Honolulu
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $180 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Equus Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikiki's "Upper West Side" where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world's largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel's equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. IMPORTANT NOTES: *Stairway Access Only *Valet Parking Only $25/night *Provide Arrival Time - for luggage assistance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing