We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$257
US$242
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$308/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$350
US$302
Outrigger.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$246
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Book now, pay at stay
US$304
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$357
US$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$258
US$239
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Modern Honolulu(Honolulu)
US$263
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 24/07
US$286
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$315
US$216
Outrigger.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$150
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,641)
Filter reviews
1,641 results
Traveller rating
820
506
188
74
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
820
506
188
74
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsala moana blvdmarina towerred lobsterabc storealoha spiritwaikiki beachwithin walking distancestreet noiseflat screen tvsmall hotelconvention centeracross the streetlight sleepercoffee machinethe entire staffsmall poolbus stop
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 1,641 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2017 via mobile

I live on a neighboring island and needed a room centrally located in Waikiki for the night. The Equus was by far the best price. I was greeted by Puka, at the front desk who was extremely welcoming, polite and a pleasure to speak to. I found everyone in the hotel staff to be just as welcoming, polite and accommodating. The room was great, bed super comfy and the hotel located in a perfect spot walking distance to everyone of my destinations. I will absolutely stay again when I visit next.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon S, Front Office Manager at The Equus, an Ascend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017

Aloha Eric,

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Mahalo,

Brandon S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2017 via mobile

So very nice hotel . their room service is so good. the housekeeper Mhila Talledo is so very friendly and nice and Im very thankful for her hospitality. me and my friends enjoyed there. we will be back again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank arnicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kika I, Manager at The Equus, an Ascend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Aloha,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your kind words to Mhila. We are so lucky to have her on our team. We hope to see you again in the near future and hope you had a safe journey home.

Mahalo,

Brandon Stalnaker
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 19, 2017

Very nice small hotel at very reasonable price for the quality. Everyone who works here was super nice and really seemed to care about making our stay enjoyable. When our first room had a little glitch with the air conditioner not working, service people responded in minutes. Since it couldn't be fixed immediately, we were moved to another room. The staff did all that they could to be sure we were comfortable and compensate for the inconvenience.

We found the location to be very convenient. On site tour director was very helpful. Public transportation, shuttles and rental cars are all close by as well as several good restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kika I, Manager at The Equus, an Ascend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Aloha Liz D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed yourself and apologize again for the AC not working in the first room we placed you in. We look forward to hopefully seeing you folks again in the near future.

Mahalo,

Brandon Stalnaker
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 19, 2017 via mobile

I love to stay in equus hotel for 3 days, I feel so comfortable and the room i stay is super clean and all I need is ready,thanks to Mhila who I met.She is so very friendly, thank you very much for all the good service.I will be back again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Duncan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kika I, Manager at The Equus, an Ascend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Aloha Duncan,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are so glad you enjoyed yourself and will pass your kind words onto Mhila whom we are so lucky to have on our team. We hope you had a safe journey home and look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the near future.

Mahalo,

Brandon Stalnaker
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2017

My boyfriend and I decided to runaway from our home island Maui and spend ONE night in Waikiki to celebrate our 4 years together. We were luckly to have our work schedules jive for that one night. We are super glad to have stayed at The Equus Hotel. The entire service was GREAT!!! Every employee we interacted with had genuine aloha. Not the corporate “aloha” you get all around Waikiki. Honest...corporate aloha isn’t genuine. RENE and PUKA were outstanding first impressions for the whole Equus Hotel experience.

We tried to get a second night but they were booked solid since it was Veteran’s Day. PUKA and RENE said not to lose faith because cancellations may arise. Sure enough, we were blessed to get that second night.

We didn’t have our own car so we don’t have experience with parking but Waikiki is totally walkable. We used Uber when we had to and there’s also Biki stations all around Waikiki.

Mahalo nui to The Equus Hotel for an awesome stay.

-Kahi and Bob

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chadwick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kika I, Manager at The Equus, an Ascend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Aloha Kahi & Bob,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and will pass along your comments to all our staff especially Rene and Puka. We definitely strive to provide excellent service with genuine aloha spirit. We hope to see you folks again soon!

Mahalo,

Brandon Stalnaker
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews