We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous beaches, expensive food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
San Carlos, CA
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fabulous beaches, expensive food”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

The Hilton Hawaiian Village was just what I was hoping for. On check-in, I was upgraded for free. I don't know what that was worth since I've never stayed here before and cannot compare to a non-upgraded room. The room we got in the Ali'i Tower was very spacious. The bedroom area had plenty of room between the foot of the bed and the dressers -- nice when you have 2 little kids who are running around. The bathroom was divided into 3 rooms -- the toilet in a very small space, a sink and tub in the next space, and a double sink in the area closest to the bedroom. The overlarge doors were cumbersome. We had a balcony with a view of the other towers and the chapel. It was a very quiet room and we heard no noise from other guests, adjoining rooms, or the elevator. The elevator was gratifyingly fast. No long waits to get to our room.

I liked the location of the Ali'i tower. The Tropics restaurant and Starbucks was in this tower, the super pool was right outside -- we didn't swim there but after seeing the fireworks we could step into our tower and quickly to bed. It was very close to the main lobby, the village shops, and Camp Penguin for the kids. It was a long walk to the slide pools but that didn't bother us too much. We only walked to and from the slide pools once a day (spending the entire day there) whereas we were running back and forth between everything else and our room repeatedly.

The amenities of the resort included an amazing, humongous beach. The Hilton is adjacent to a military recreation area which means you aren't cheek-to-jowel with another massive hotel and its guests. The slide pool had a tube slide, side-by-side open air slide, and a toddler tube slide. My children loved it. The lagoon offered rentals of paddleboats, standup boards, kayaks, inner tubes, etc. Perfect for those who want some water sports but aren't keen on doing it in the ocean!

The resort restaurants were too expensive. $4.50 for a glass of milk! $10 for a hot dog! I really felt gouged. There was no food really near the slide pools. I had to walk quite a ways to get to the hot dog place which was expensive, slow, and not very tasty. Tropics was tasty but very expensive. We ended up breakfasting at Starbucks after the first day. If I'm going to pay over $4 for a cup of coffee, it will at least be a Starbucks cup of coffee.

The village had lots of shops and restaurants. I wish we had gone there for dinner instead of Tropics. Round Table Pizza was cheap eats. Benihana was terrific fun. Lambert's Ice Cream was very good. And we bought our souvenirs at ABC.

My biggest disappointment: The Starlight Luau, held on the rooftop of the HIlton, was not held over the weekend and was sold out for the days that we were there. (We ended up going to Magic of Polynesia though and that was probably a better experience in the end.)

Room Tip: Ali'i Tower is centrally located. Rainbow Tower is closer to the slide pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarenB_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14,640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,663
    5,037
    2,466
    900
    574
See reviews for
5,731
4,834
374
1,381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,587)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cibolo, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We selected the Hilton Hawaiian Village because we wanted to be “on the beach.” Our ocean front room in the Ali'i Tower was spacious with a nice size lanai. The only negative was the lack of a T-Mobile signal inside the room. To use our phone we had to sit on the lanai. Check-in and out was quick and easy. There is plenty to do in the village and a very helpful staff. Their Tropics restaurant has a good pulled pork sandwich for lunch and their Mai Tai was the best we found on our trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TX-BJ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We only stayed here 2 nights, but I wish it had been longer. Lots of stuff to do both at the resort and within walking distance. Shopping , listening to live music, people watching, eating. Since it was February, it was a bit cool, only low 80's, and sometimes windy. But it was very pleasant. The room was very nice, nothing special, but we were hardly in it. We were upgraded to a room with partial ocean view. It was fine and we could see over the city and water. We really enjoyed the music by the bar outside our tower and sat there listening to different groups. The water was too cool for me to go in one of the several pools or the ocean.

Room Tip: I'm sure one of the towers closest to the water would be lovely, but also pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindyjkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

very disappointing. the place is huge. all they want is your money. people unfriendly. waste of money and time. i will not come back to hilton or waikiki

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shabingie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAPAN
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Before returning home to Japan after our Europe trip we decided to break it up for a couple of days and relax at the HHV. Check in at the hotel was painfully slow, there were long lines even on the HH side.We were pleasantly surprised to see that as highest level members of the HH program we got upgraded to an ocean view room on the 31st floor of the Rainbow Tower. The room is fantastic, very spacious and just recently remodeled. The mattress is heavenly and provided for a very peaceful sleep which was only improved by listening to the ocean waves rolling on shore. Interestingly enough, although the room is high up, noise for the beach and pool area is quite intrusive. The room comes with a fridge, a safe and a coffee machine. The flat screen TV has good programming choices including NHK Japan. The balcony overlooks the beach and we have a great view towards the Diamond Head area. Internet is free for HH Gold and above as is complimentary Continental Breakfast. Try not to sit outside, the birds are in your food quickly. There is a breakfast buffet at the restaurant on the ground floor which I can't recommend. It is overpriced with a limited selection of food and just not worth it. The bathroom is of good size, the amenities are top notch, there is a bathtub, deep and Japanese style it seems.Parking is very expensive at $ 24.00 a night, we looked for free parking around the area and found a spot on the Ala Wai channel. We arrived on a Friday and got the usual Friday night treatment of a Hawaiian show at the main pool and the wonderful fireworks. This is certainly a nice ending to a wonderful trip and we will be sad to leave tomorrow.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WEISSBIER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Hilton Hawaiian village-this 5 star hotel disappoints me...here is my real experience...can you believe If I raise my hand to call a server, it is being rude? I was in a restaurant called "Tropical" in this hotel, and they gave me Japanese menu after I was seated. I raised my hand to call one of a female waitress to change to the english menu for me. She came by and told me that " put your hand down...you are being rude!." I told her to get me another server, and she said "yeah...sure...that's a lot easier." She got me another server called Ramfis who was much nicer. However, I was really upset at that time so I complained to her manager, and he promised to talk to this waitress. After the conversation, she went back to her work and gave me the gesture of "what are you looking at?? I am not gonna apologize for anything!! " Omg!! I guess I am really unlucky with this hotel because it's my second time to be treated badly. First one is on the phone before I came and the second one is in the restaurant after I come. I have been to Hotel Riu Palace in pv and Melia in Cancun. These hotels are also 4 to 4.5 stars and those people are very nice...they smiled a lot and treated us nicely...but in this hotel, we pay for everything, and we still got bad experience...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed here in July 2011 in the Tapa tower. The was great. We had a "partial" ocean view, but to me it was a FULL ocean view. It was beautiful. The private beach at the hotel is gorgeous. The pools were all great and my son had a blast. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay there. The only problem is how busy it is and how they nickel and dime you on any extras, but we were expecting that. Also, there was no obvious place to self-park, so we valeted most of the time. Check-in took FOREVER, but it was the prime time for everyone to do the same. Once we got past check-in, though, our stay was near-perfect. The animals throughout the resort are so neat. My son loved it. The food is very high-priced, but that's to be expected.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,360 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing