We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,012)
Filter reviews
1,012 results
Traveller rating
397
471
99
31
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
397
471
99
31
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen the ala wai canal waikiki beach food pantry two blocks lei making class rooms are huge quiet street bit dated older hotel sized fridge guest laundry kuhio avenue three blocks other hotels small pool laundry facilities
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 1,012 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2017

All Staff were very very friendly and efficient. Location could not have been better, very central to everything. Although the Hotel Rooms could do with a spruce up ( quite old ) it was very clean, comfortable and the large room and its amenities could not be faulted. Would not hesitate to stay there again, at any time in the future.Highly reccommend

Room Tip: We were on the 15th Floor (Rm 1504) and had great views over the city to wards Beach.(2 blocks away)
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2017

Aloha,

Thanks for taking time to comment on your stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our accommodations and amenities met your needs. We are glad that our staff welcomed you in the true Aloha spirit. We hope you will tell your friends about us and look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to sunny Waikiki.

Phil Sammer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2017

Hotel suites are extra large with full kitchen and lots of storage. Laundry facilities available on lower floor. Large balcony and super clean. The hotel is a bit dated looking but with a budget price and free parking, couples or families would be hard to find too much fault with this choice.
Higher Floors have ocean views on Kuhio side. Opposite looks mountainside and to the golf course. Close to The Bus, Food Pantry for groceries and beverages. One Block away from International Maketplace (sad what they've done to that icon), lots of great restaurants. Easy three block walk to the beach in front of Royal Hawaiian or Outrigger Waikiki.
Free WiFi. always sketchy if you can get a connection for more than 1 minute.. well its included in your Resort Fee. Pool is very small and in the shade.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Ala Wai (Canal) have great views golf course. Ocean views are available only on higher floors of opposite side.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISunshineseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Aloha,

Thanks for taking time to comment on your stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our location, accommodations and amenities met your needs. We hope you will tell your friends about us and look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to sunny Waikiki.

Phil Sammer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2017

This is a gem for the budget conscious traveler. We wanted lodging with parking our last day in Hawaii.
Yes the facility was a bit dated, but clean and in a fabulous location. The gentleman at check in, extremely pleasant. Our room had a city view and had a king and Queen size bed. It was a kitchenette and had good storage. I could see this hotel meeting the needs of a budget conscious family perfectly!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2017

Aloha,

Thanks for taking time to comment on your stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our accommodations and amenities met your needs. We are glad that our staff welcomed you in the true Aloha spirit. We hope you will tell your friends about us and look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to sunny Waikiki.

Phil Sammer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2017

Hawaii is expensive. It's expensive to get to, groceries are expensive, everything costs more than you want it to. We wanted to stay on the cheap as much as possible, and the Ilima hotel helped with that. Our room had a full kitchen, full-sized fridge, 4-burner stove, and pots, pans and dishes. There's a Food Pantry around the corner for groceries. This helped us keep our trip on budget, rather than eating out all the time. And the staff was amazing! Really helpful, friendly... Twice on the trip, a housekeeper saw our girls, and pulled little chocolates or treats out for them. Just really nice people.

Room Tip: Northeast views are amazing, overlooking the golf course and the mountains.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pgrantottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

Aloha,

Thanks for taking time to comment on your stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our accommodations and amenities met your needs. We are glad that our staff welcomed you in the true Aloha spirit. We hope you will tell your friends about us and look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to sunny Waikiki.

Phil Sammer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2017

The hotel itself was modest but nice, very friendly staff and clean and comfortable. Not a luxury hotel but a good place to come home to after a full day of activity and sleep well in the comfy beds.

It may not be ON the beach but it is close enough to join all the action in 5 minutes or less! We had multiple people who are unable to walk long distances and it was still just about perfect for us. Even with our slow pace, beach was only about 10 minutes away, if you are quick it was probably about 5. If shopping or nightlife are your thing, those are in between where we were and the beach; the International Marketplace is only a block away, tons of great shops, tons of awesome restaurants on many different budget levels. Also about a 3 minute walk to a major bus hub, which can get you practically anywhere on the island you may want to go for $2.50 one way (it's super easy to use, with the public transportation option on Google Maps!)

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flasni01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2017

Aloha

Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including the accommodations, amenities and especially our central Waikiki location just steps from the beach, shops and restaurants. We are pleased that the staff provided service in the true Aloha spirit. We hope you will tell your friends about us and we look forward to your next visit to 'Ilima Hotel!

Phil Sammer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews