We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki
Ranked #61 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Castleton On Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Location location location”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Spent two weeks here in Waikiki. The imperial is not the fanciest hotel but a great location. Having a full kitchen while in Hawaii works great for us. The hotel can use some updating but it is clean and staff is great. Worth the money. The hotel is a small walk to the beach, one small block. There are grills on the beach which we used often for both lunches and dinners. There are many supermarkets nearby, I recommend the Food Pantry. Close, clean and reasonable in price.

Room Tip: Upper floors may provide some oceans views depending on floor and location of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DBOUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    284
    136
    44
    31
See reviews for
228
184
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Can't say any more (or enough) about the location, it's perfect. Close to everything you need in Waikiki, incuding the beach. The hotel (or resort, however you want to describe it) is an older building but is clean and comfortable. We stayed in a Palm suite for a week (Interval exchange) and it is quite comfortable for 2, not sure I would want to stay with 4 and definitely not 6 as advertised. Other big pluses are ABC Store on site (although you can find 20+ more within a 10 min walk), Denny's on site (a tad expensive but open early), owner's lounge on the 26th floor has magnificent views (yes it is available to exchangers, no it is not available to renters). About the only negative I can think of is although they have 3 elevators, they are all pretty slow. All in all the Imperial helped make the first Hawaii vacation a very enjoyable one. The hustle of Waikiki was fun, off to the Big Island for a quieter second week (Kona Coast Resort review coming soon).

Room Tip: Third floor is not a good choice (hosekeeping services located here), higher floors are nice but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hornet_441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The Imperial's location can't be beat for downtown action, catching excursions or hopping on the trolley. Waikiki means shopping and restaurants, it is not the carribean vacation you have experienced in the past. Definitely do the cirlce island tour on your first day and then make plans to go back to Haunama Bay to do the snorkelling, this is where you'll get the most kick for your buck and experience.

The beach is a city block away, what beach there is..remember Waikiki is a manmade beach. The hotel has a pool on the roof top that is the same size as most homes. It is incased in cement walls with no view, windy. The hot tub facility is a joke, with two home style hot tubs on the 3rd floor, only one worked.

The hotel staff is great and friendly, a Denny's is located next door. This hotel needs to do some upgrading, it is very functional but small. Do not stay in a studio, even for two people!!! We stayed in a Banyan and it fit us and our luggage. Waikiki is a touring holiday, not a beach holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Lewers street, if you don't you will listen to garbage trucks all night lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AirArmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The hotel room was upgraded to an ocean view by someone in reservations. The view was spectacular.
We rented a car and felt the conceirge desk would have preferred that we book our tours through their services, not very helpful at all.
Best advice we received was from our rent a car agent at the airport. Three wonderful places for dining were recommended. Also, used the Internet, Trip Advisor for other places to see & dine.
Breakfast @ the hotel was $30 pp and dinner $60 pp. A bit pricy.
Do not go @ Christmas, it drizzeled everyday except one.

Room Tip: If handicapped, request a room that is handicapped and near elevator. This hotel is enormous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 73Elaine73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Preface: I booked a studio for 3 days for myself. When my friend arrived I moved to a 1-bedroom for a week. See my other review for the 1-bedroom.

Service/Staff: Accommodating. Polite, but not particularly outgoing, warm or friendly. Occasionally a single person at the front desk could not efficiently handle the line of guests.

Amenities: Good weight room, sauna and nice rooftop pool. An owner’s lounge on the top floor is a nice place to relax and take in panoramic views. Overnight parking is reasonable for Waikiki at $25/nt. No free Wi-Fi, Lan connection for pay.

Location: Premium. The Imperial is an excellent location in the middle of Waikiki. 1 block to the beach, steps to all shopping, restaurants and amenities.

Studio room, Unit 301 : Clean but Horrible. Dark, dank, depressing and noisy. Located 1-foot from housekeeping’s door, 3 feet from the staffs changing room, and next to the sauna, spa, and gym, doors were always banging/sqeeking, opening and closing 24 hours a day. The patio of 301 was covered with a tarp. No light, no view. Situated on a alley, workers on smoking breaks could be heard at all hours. This room should not be available to guests. It should be storage. In fact, all rooms on the 3rd floor should be avoided. At over $100/nt, there is no value in these rooms. If I had to stay more than 3 days in this room, it would ruin a vacation.

Please see my other review of Unit 905.

As always; I travel to Waikiki several times a year, I can advise that Waikiki is a nice tropical urban adventure. The city comes with the negatives of a big city, along with the overwhelming benefits of a beautiful beachfront resort. Generally, everything in Waikiki is “a little tired” although there have been continuous improvements in the last few years. If you are traveling solo, take Roberts Hawaii from the airport for $10 (no rsvr rqd). Two or more people, take a taxi from the airport to the hotel (should be under $30). In Waikiki, nearly everything is walking distance or a short shuttle/bus away. If you need a car for the day, you can rent one in Waikiki.

Room Tip: Do not allow yourself to be put on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mjgriffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
212 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Typical timeshare with need for update. Nice staff, convenient location.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpatrickr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Stayed for seven nights with family (2 aduts, 2 teenagers). One bedroom with fold down bed in lounge was cosy, but as the location was excellent, we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. Roof top pool was good, as was the bar / lounge on level 27, especially for a viewing the Friday night fireworks from the Hilton Village resort. Decor is a bit dated, but great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baldtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Waikiki Parc Hotel
Waikiki Parc Hotel
#34 of 84 in Honolulu
1,514 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki

Property: The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki
Address: 205 Lewers St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1939
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha! Mahalo for considering The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki. We are conveniently located in the epicenter of Waikiki and are steps away from the famous Waikiki Beach. We are surrounded by shops and restaurants for you to browse and enjoy. We know you will enjoy your visit, and are looking forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Imperial Hawaii Resort At Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
The Imperial Hawaii Hotel
Hawaii Imperial
Imperial Hawaii Honolulu
Imperial Waikiki
Imperial Hotel Waikiki
Imperial Of Waikiki
The Imperial Hawaii Resort At Waikiki Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing