We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Breakers Hotel(Honolulu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Aloha Punawai(Honolulu)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Aqua Oasis(Honolulu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (656)
Filter reviews
656 results
Traveller rating
131
304
144
44
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
304
144
44
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurphy bedowners loungeabc storelewers streetdenny's restauranttimeshare exchangepalm suiterooftop poolfull kitchenliving roomone bedroom unitwhole weekvalet parkinglocation is fantasticsmall kitchenrented a carthe penthouse
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
394 - 399 of 656 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I just returned from a week in this place. IT was an exchange from my existing timeshare in Cancun. I was hoping for similar to what I have in Cancun but that did not happen. We had a 1 bedroom Banyan suite. It has a queen bed in the bedroom ( looks more like a full bed) a full murphy bed, and queen pull out sofa (horribly uncomfortable). We had 3 adults and my 4yr old daughter. It was a tight fit. They say it is good for 3 but really 2 is best. Not necessarily a family place... I did not get a welcoming family feeling especially when I took my daught to the roof top pool. We were in 802, I personally did not sleep well our view was of the back alley and trucks start coming in about 4 am. The tour busses are coming in about 6 am. It is very close to the tour bus pick up location at the Sheraton just right around the corner in alley so that is convient for touring.
There is no kitchen just a convection microwave, small sink, and mini fridge. We ususally prefer to cook ourselves. THere are tons of restaurants in a very short distance. Cleanliness leaves a bit to be desired. THe floors are dirty looking, the decor is old. They only come once a week to clean your room. The rest of the time you have to go down to housekeeping to request new linens and pick them up. Ice machine is on the 2nd floor in the garage or the 26th floor.
Upon Check in if you have an exchange they have to take your credit card info for a $100 deposit up front. but it was not charged to me just the daily room tax. If you have to print anything at the front desk it is $.50/page. With the owners Exchange you get access to the owners lounge on the 26th floor which is nice and has a nice view of beach.
THe staff was nice but not outgoing but you could tell they had good relationships with the people who come often. The tour concierge Michael in the lobby was very good and booked everything for us. Through him I recommend on your first days take the majestic circle Island tour and the Polynesian Culture Center tour. They show you places you will want to go back to the rest of your trip.
Would I use this place again If I had not other options but I would have to get a larger suite if one is available because the family.

Room Tip: THe higher the room the better and you want closer to the back of the building toward the beach. Rooms that are like 801-05 face an alley.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diane16523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We recently returned from a week at the Imperial (corner of Kalia and Lewers) in Waikiki. This was our 7th trip to Hawaii and 4th trip to Oahu. One of us stayed on Lewers Street 30 years ago (in a place since torn down) so it was quite interesting to see the changes.

The location (across from the Halekulani on the beach side and Roy's/Trump/Embassy Suites across Lewers) is hard to beat. Just steps from the beach and in the middle of all the *happy hour* activity in the area. Plenty of places to eat, drink, walk, relax, etc.

Also, our favorite haunt while there was the ABC Store down below. You can get everything there --- food to fix in the unit, juices/alcohol/souvenirs/clothing ---- everything. That ABC store became like home to us during our stay.

There are also some clothing/jewelry/souvenir stores adjoining the lobby, as well as a Denny's which we wouldn't normally eat at but the rain was so heavy while we were there that we actually DID eat at the Denny's one night and the food was pretty good.

I can't say enough about the bell staff. The regular desk staff was good but the bell guys who you work with to move your car back-and-forth OR to call a cab ---- OUTSTANDING. Friendly, polite, efficient, helpful. They don't get any better. I loved those guys.

We rented a car for two days (parts of 3 days --- 48-hours) and because we got the unit on an RCI exchange (thus I guess we qualified for a timeshare parking rate), we paid $20 for two days of parking. Obviously, we gave the guys well-deserved tips. It was cheaper than I expected and so easy to leave the keys with the guys.

The hotel has a pool up on top and a couple of hottubs on the 3rd floor, along with a sauna and fitness room there. We didn't use any of those as the weather was so awful --- constant rain. But, they are there and we did check them out.

We paid for the DSL internet. The Imperial didn't have wireless available. Internet was $15 a week which we were happy to have since we needed to change all our plans, due to the weather. Very handy to have access for a lot of quick Googling.

As far as the unit, we got what we reserved (an RCI trade) and it had many amentities (Palm unit --- 2 baths, 2 flatscreen TV's, DVD players, full kitchen, 2 extra beds as fold-outs, etc.) but, frankly, it was a dump. Except for the new Mr. Coffee coffeepot and the flatscreen TV's, everything else in the kitchen was very old and dated. The stove and dishwasher and microwave looked so old, I didn't use them. Fixtures are dated. Cabinets are very dated and cheapo particle board. Furniture and tile and bath counters were very old and looked dirty or very tired. There was a huge chip (chunk out of) in a bath counter.

It's possible that the unit we had was one which had never been upgraded as we did see pictures of other units in the building which were more modern and less tacky. Also, there are a lot of mirrors in the unit which make it look bigger than it was, in the advertising.

Our unit (2004, on the 20th floor) is about 520 square feet (we measured it) and did have two tiny balconies, but the unit backed out to the Waikiki Parc and the Sheraton (with a small ocean view between the Sheraton and the Halekulani) and seemed to be in an elevator shaft-type space. In other words, down below were the generators (and garbage-collection centers) of all the high-rise hotels and we could not open the balcony doors without being overtaken with a huge roar of noise.

All in all --- we appreciated the location and the staff (and the comfortable bed in the tiny bedroom) but our unit was a *blast from the past* (old and tired) and not relaxing. We're not so picky on the view but it would have been nice to have a little more quiet out on the balcony, so that we could open the patio doors without being blasted with high-volume urban generator noise.

Maybe they'll upgrade unit 2004 soon? It sure needs it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room which isn't over the hotel generators. It can be extremely loud.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarlySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Can't say any more (or enough) about the location, it's perfect. Close to everything you need in Waikiki, incuding the beach. The hotel (or resort, however you want to describe it) is an older building but is clean and comfortable. We stayed in a Palm suite for a week (Interval exchange) and it is quite comfortable for 2, not sure I would want to stay with 4 and definitely not 6 as advertised. Other big pluses are ABC Store on site (although you can find 20+ more within a 10 min walk), Denny's on site (a tad expensive but open early), owner's lounge on the 26th floor has magnificent views (yes it is available to exchangers, no it is not available to renters). About the only negative I can think of is although they have 3 elevators, they are all pretty slow. All in all the Imperial helped make the first Hawaii vacation a very enjoyable one. The hustle of Waikiki was fun, off to the Big Island for a quieter second week (Kona Coast Resort review coming soon).

Room Tip: Third floor is not a good choice (hosekeeping services located here), higher floors are nice but not much of an ocean view from anything but the owner's lounge.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hornet_441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The Imperial's location can't be beat for downtown action, catching excursions or hopping on the trolley. Waikiki means shopping and restaurants, it is not the carribean vacation you have experienced in the past. Definitely do the cirlce island tour on your first day and then make plans to go back to Haunama Bay to do the snorkelling, this is where you'll get the most kick for your buck and experience.

The beach is a city block away, what beach there is..remember Waikiki is a manmade beach. The hotel has a pool on the roof top that is the same size as most homes. It is incased in cement walls with no view, windy. The hot tub facility is a joke, with two home style hot tubs on the 3rd floor, only one worked.

The hotel staff is great and friendly, a Denny's is located next door. This hotel needs to do some upgrading, it is very functional but small. Do not stay in a studio, even for two people!!! We stayed in a Banyan and it fit us and our luggage. Waikiki is a touring holiday, not a beach holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Lewers street, if you don't you will listen to garbage trucks all night long! This hotel has no rooms that face the ocean, it is side views only, not much of a view anywhere.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AirArmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The hotel room was upgraded to an ocean view by someone in reservations. The view was spectacular.
We rented a car and felt the conceirge desk would have preferred that we book our tours through their services, not very helpful at all.
Best advice we received was from our rent a car agent at the airport. Three wonderful places for dining were recommended. Also, used the Internet, Trip Advisor for other places to see & dine.
Breakfast @ the hotel was $30 pp and dinner $60 pp. A bit pricy.
Do not go @ Christmas, it drizzeled everyday except one.

Room Tip: If handicapped, request a room that is handicapped and near elevator. This hotel is enormous.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 73Elaine73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews