We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, decent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki
Ranked #61 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Arlington, VA
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location, decent place to stay”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We traded into the Imperial through RCI. Overall, we were very pleased. As others have said, the location canʻt be beat. Itʻs right in the heart of Waikiki with an ABC store in the building and beaches are just across the street.

We were in unit 1104, which is a handicap unit, so the layout was a little different. As everyone says, the decor is dated and tired. But the unit was clean enough and everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful. There are only 3 elevators & it can be a bit of a wait sometime. Laundry facilities on the second floor were serviceable and reasonably priced. There is a footwash available in the back of the building, which is great after being on the beach. We were on the Diamond Head side & I didnʻt have any issues with the noise, although there was a jack hammer one morning.

Because we traded in through RCI, we were able to use the owners lounge on the 26th floor, which is a very nice perk. The lounge is at the front of the building and has a kitchen, large screen TV and pool table. Views are terrific. We were able to use the lounge after we checked out on our last day, which was great since we had a late flight.

Because of the late flight, I requested a late check-out & was given the room until 6:00 for $66, which seemed fair. It was nice to be able to use the room after exploring Honolulu for the day. After we checked out, they were able to store our luggage until we left for the airport.

Room Tip: Higher floors would be better and the Diamond Head side is probably quieter than the Lewer Street si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PrettyKitties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    289
    136
    45
    31
See reviews for
234
186
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The Imperial Hawaii is one of those places that I would classify as a well-kept secret. My wife and I stayed in a one bedroom unit for two weeks in March and let me tell you that dollar for dollar it can't be beat. If you travel with a budget in mind then the Imperial is the only choice. The staff, whether at the front desk, housekeeping or valet, was always very friendly, courteous and always willing to go that extra step to make you feel welcome or assist you. The unit was clean, quiet and comfortable. The bed provided a comfortable night’s rest and the kitchen was amply equipped. Location, location, location. How can you go wrong being right off of Waikiki Beach. The Beach is just a short block away and a great place to spend the day reading a book, snoozing, swimming or walking along the beach. After a day at the beach, you can return to your unit and either enjoy a home-cooked meal prepared in your personal kitchen or simply walk to some of the best restaurants in the area. The area offers a wide variety of cuisine in a complete range of prices. Like to shop? The hotel is located right in the middle of shopping mecca; from the International Market to specialty boutiques. The roof-top swimming pool is a favourite place for sun-worshippers to gather. On an exchange? At the end of the day, go upstairs to the Owners Lounge, mingle with fellow travelers, take in a beautiful sunset and even watch fireworks (usually on a Friday). Bang for the buck? Our buck stops here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Roman-Irka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian River, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Rooms are dirty yuck. Got here an the sink was backed up popcorn on floor spider in bed and dryer up puke on the toilet great location though

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aloha387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I just returned from a week in this place. IT was an exchange from my existing timeshare in Cancun. I was hoping for similar to what I have in Cancun but that did not happen. We had a 1 bedroom Banyan suite. It has a queen bed in the bedroom ( looks more like a full bed) a full murphy bed, and queen pull out sofa (horribly uncomfortable). We had 3 adults and my 4yr old daughter. It was a tight fit. They say it is good for 3 but really 2 is best. Not necessarily a family place... I did not get a welcoming family feeling especially when I took my daught to the roof top pool. We were in 802, I personally did not sleep well our view was of the back alley and trucks start coming in about 4 am. The tour busses are coming in about 6 am. It is very close to the tour bus pick up location at the Sheraton just right around the corner in alley so that is convient for touring.
There is no kitchen just a convection microwave, small sink, and mini fridge. We ususally prefer to cook ourselves. THere are tons of restaurants in a very short distance. Cleanliness leaves a bit to be desired. THe floors are dirty looking, the decor is old. They only come once a week to clean your room. The rest of the time you have to go down to housekeeping to request new linens and pick them up. Ice machine is on the 2nd floor in the garage or the 26th floor.
Upon Check in if you have an exchange they have to take your credit card info for a $100 deposit up front. but it was not charged to me just the daily room tax. If you have to print anything at the front desk it is $.50/page. With the owners Exchange you get access to the owners lounge on the 26th floor which is nice and has a nice view of beach.
THe staff was nice but not outgoing but you could tell they had good relationships with the people who come often. The tour concierge Michael in the lobby was very good and booked everything for us. Through him I recommend on your first days take the majestic circle Island tour and the Polynesian Culture Center tour. They show you places you will want to go back to the rest of your trip.
Would I use this place again If I had not other options but I would have to get a larger suite if one is available because the family.

Room Tip: THe higher the room the better and you want closer to the back of the building toward the beach. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diane16523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We recently returned from a week at the Imperial (corner of Kalia and Lewers) in Waikiki. This was our 7th trip to Hawaii and 4th trip to Oahu. One of us stayed on Lewers Street 30 years ago (in a place since torn down) so it was quite interesting to see the changes.

The location (across from the Halekulani on the beach side and Roy's/Trump/Embassy Suites across Lewers) is hard to beat. Just steps from the beach and in the middle of all the *happy hour* activity in the area. Plenty of places to eat, drink, walk, relax, etc.

Also, our favorite haunt while there was the ABC Store down below. You can get everything there --- food to fix in the unit, juices/alcohol/souvenirs/clothing ---- everything. That ABC store became like home to us during our stay.

There are also some clothing/jewelry/souvenir stores adjoining the lobby, as well as a Denny's which we wouldn't normally eat at but the rain was so heavy while we were there that we actually DID eat at the Denny's one night and the food was pretty good.

I can't say enough about the bell staff. The regular desk staff was good but the bell guys who you work with to move your car back-and-forth OR to call a cab ---- OUTSTANDING. Friendly, polite, efficient, helpful. They don't get any better. I loved those guys.

We rented a car for two days (parts of 3 days --- 48-hours) and because we got the unit on an RCI exchange (thus I guess we qualified for a timeshare parking rate), we paid $20 for two days of parking. Obviously, we gave the guys well-deserved tips. It was cheaper than I expected and so easy to leave the keys with the guys.

The hotel has a pool up on top and a couple of hottubs on the 3rd floor, along with a sauna and fitness room there. We didn't use any of those as the weather was so awful --- constant rain. But, they are there and we did check them out.

We paid for the DSL internet. The Imperial didn't have wireless available. Internet was $15 a week which we were happy to have since we needed to change all our plans, due to the weather. Very handy to have access for a lot of quick Googling.

As far as the unit, we got what we reserved (an RCI trade) and it had many amentities (Palm unit --- 2 baths, 2 flatscreen TV's, DVD players, full kitchen, 2 extra beds as fold-outs, etc.) but, frankly, it was a dump. Except for the new Mr. Coffee coffeepot and the flatscreen TV's, everything else in the kitchen was very old and dated. The stove and dishwasher and microwave looked so old, I didn't use them. Fixtures are dated. Cabinets are very dated and cheapo particle board. Furniture and tile and bath counters were very old and looked dirty or very tired. There was a huge chip (chunk out of) in a bath counter.

It's possible that the unit we had was one which had never been upgraded as we did see pictures of other units in the building which were more modern and less tacky. Also, there are a lot of mirrors in the unit which make it look bigger than it was, in the advertising.

Our unit (2004, on the 20th floor) is about 520 square feet (we measured it) and did have two tiny balconies, but the unit backed out to the Waikiki Parc and the Sheraton (with a small ocean view between the Sheraton and the Halekulani) and seemed to be in an elevator shaft-type space. In other words, down below were the generators (and garbage-collection centers) of all the high-rise hotels and we could not open the balcony doors without being overtaken with a huge roar of noise.

All in all --- we appreciated the location and the staff (and the comfortable bed in the tiny bedroom) but our unit was a *blast from the past* (old and tired) and not relaxing. We're not so picky on the view but it would have been nice to have a little more quiet out on the balcony, so that we could open the patio doors without being blasted with high-volume urban generator noise.

Maybe they'll upgrade unit 2004 soon? It sure needs it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room which isn't over the hotel generators. It can be extremely loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarlySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleton On Hudson, New York
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Spent two weeks here in Waikiki. The imperial is not the fanciest hotel but a great location. Having a full kitchen while in Hawaii works great for us. The hotel can use some updating but it is clean and staff is great. Worth the money. The hotel is a small walk to the beach, one small block. There are grills on the beach which we used often for both lunches and dinners. There are many supermarkets nearby, I recommend the Food Pantry. Close, clean and reasonable in price.

Room Tip: Upper floors may provide some oceans views depending on floor and location of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DBOUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Can't say any more (or enough) about the location, it's perfect. Close to everything you need in Waikiki, incuding the beach. The hotel (or resort, however you want to describe it) is an older building but is clean and comfortable. We stayed in a Palm suite for a week (Interval exchange) and it is quite comfortable for 2, not sure I would want to stay with 4 and definitely not 6 as advertised. Other big pluses are ABC Store on site (although you can find 20+ more within a 10 min walk), Denny's on site (a tad expensive but open early), owner's lounge on the 26th floor has magnificent views (yes it is available to exchangers, no it is not available to renters). About the only negative I can think of is although they have 3 elevators, they are all pretty slow. All in all the Imperial helped make the first Hawaii vacation a very enjoyable one. The hustle of Waikiki was fun, off to the Big Island for a quieter second week (Kona Coast Resort review coming soon).

Room Tip: Third floor is not a good choice (hosekeeping services located here), higher floors are nice but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hornet_441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Waikiki Parc Hotel
Waikiki Parc Hotel
#32 of 84 in Honolulu
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
587 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,835 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#41 of 84 in Honolulu
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki

Property: The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki
Address: 205 Lewers St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1939
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha! Mahalo for considering The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki. We are conveniently located in the epicenter of Waikiki and are steps away from the famous Waikiki Beach. We are surrounded by shops and restaurants for you to browse and enjoy. We know you will enjoy your visit, and are looking forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Imperial Hawaii Resort At Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
The Imperial Hawaii Hotel
Hawaii Imperial
Imperial Hawaii Honolulu
Imperial Waikiki
Imperial Hotel Waikiki
Imperial Of Waikiki
The Imperial Hawaii Resort At Waikiki Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing