We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Ranked #46 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location - Good hotel”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The hotel is good but not excellent. Good value for the price they charge. It does have everything you need and is comfortable. I had a kitchinette room, which was good to have breakfast and not spend money/time eating out. I do reccomend staying here. Downside is the pool. which is not very big and expensive parking lot. Hawaii is great, so the hotel is not very important! This property is well located and walking distance to Waikiki and good restaurants around.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZiggyNui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Aloha ZiggyNui,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are pleased to hear that you found the convenient location of the hotel to benefit you during your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you recommend our hotel because of our amenities and comfort. We are disappointed that you were not pleased with our pool area or parking rates. We do our best to create a nice relaxing are for our guests to enjoy and also have the convenience of parking on property. We are limited on physical space; however we definitely try to utilize our space to its fullest potential and offer competitive rates for primary parking in Waikiki.
We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    659
    222
    91
    49
See reviews for
395
777
137
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

It was an amazing trip to Hawaii. The hotel is close to everything, restaurants, ABC stores, International Marketplace, Waikiki Beach and Waikiki Strip. My family enjoyed walking every night to the waikiki strip. Staff was always helpful and accomodating. I also loved the free drinks at the lobby, I brought a water bottle for our trip and was very useful, as we fill it up with lemonade or iced tea and bring it with us to the beach. I also enjoyed the weekly manager's reception held during thursday's. Overall, I would reccomend this hotel to family and friends.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Aloha Sheila M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are thrilled that you found the convenient location of the hotel to nearby restaurants, shops and Waikiki Beach to benefit you while you were with us. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our complimentary amenities such as the beverages in the lobby and our weekly manager’s reception, the Bamboozle. We are delighted that the staff was helpful and accommodating during your stay.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Arrival:
Stayed here end of April/ begining of May. When we arrived as someone previously said we were greated very warmly, I was expected at least an "Aloha, welcome to Hawaii type thing" with maybe some conversation of if this was our first trip, blah blah but that didn't happen however we were checked in promptly.

Room:
We stayed on 8th floor facing the street and this was fine. But if you stay there and the construction is done on the pool side i would recommend a room facing that. I was really nervous coming here because of the previous two reviews about cockroaches, so when i got there i was sure to scope out our room. To my dismay I did see one cockroach under the bedside table that was dead. I called front desk and they sent someone up to get it, im really afraid of bugs so didn't want to deal with that. After seeing that I was a bit uncomfertable the rest of the days expecting to see more but thankfully we did not! The room was ok, from a quick look it looked pretty, but generally it was pretty tiny (had to get really organized to lay suitcases out because there wasn't much room). We had a small kitchentte that would have been ample to make food in the room (you can ask front desk for items like toasters, frying pans, etc.). We dirtied only a plate and knife two days and each time housekeeping cleaned those up. The bed sheets had some stains which was kind of gross, my feeling is if theres a stain that won't come out then the sheets should be tossed. There was a large closet with a safe that was nice. The balcony was ok, we didn't go out there really becasue there wasn't any chairs to sit on. We also weren't bothered by the noise from the street too much.The bathroom was also just ok. I guess in general this place looks ok on the surface until you acutally get in a room and then you start to notice the imperfections (stains here or there on walls and/or sheets, a dead bug under your nightstand, a dirty mirror, an outdated shower...).

Lobby/pool area:
Lounge was nice, couldn't get wifi in rooms only in lobby/ pool area. Only could get connected if you had laptop and ethernet cable. Just ask front desk right away because you need to connect to their wifi then go to a website and create a temporary account for logging onto wifi. The lobby had apples and 2 different types of refreshments (iced tea, lemon water, lemonade, etc.) each day. There was a coffee machine but it wasn't great at all. They also had a computer which seemed pretty expensive to use. The pool area was lovely. Nice lounge chairs and places to sit and eat a meal or suntan. Clean pool and little hot tub. There was a place for getting massages. The only bad thing was there was construction going on, on the balconies facing the pool so there was some noise from this from 9am - 5pm daily...it was definately not that quiet but for some reason it didn't distract me from relaxing at the pool and im pretty senstivite to noise like that...

Towels/ Beach chairs:
No designated spot on beach for this hotel, but they do offer towels or beach chairs at the hotel which you can bring to the beach yourself. The chairs aren't big or heavy as they aren't the full lay down ones, just little seats. The beach is so short of a walk it isn't a big deal at all like 2 blocks thats it.

Service:
Generally I found the men that worked there to go above and beyond to treat you well and take care of you. The women were nice but jsut didn't seem as friendly. There is luggage storage and they will even call a cab for you. Note we jsut took genearl taxis to and from the airport, a private fixed rate taxi for 30$ each way would have been our best best as taxis cost more with the amount of traffic you have to wait in.

In general I think what this place really needs is a good deep cleaning with touch ups and or replacements of ratty stuff, but the location is great within easy walking to lost of shops, restaurants and the beach. I did not feel this was at all in anyway in a worse location than any other hotel on waikiki that isn't directly on the beach. This is a city so remember you will see some homeless people no matter where on waikiki you go. But the crime rate here is very low and I would not be worried about walking around here day or night really. Of course if walking in the night you employe the same caution as you would in any other city. The pool area is really nice and is enjoyable if your not wanting to get full of sand that day!

Oh and FYI they have a weekly managers gathering on Thursdays from 4:30 - 5:30 pm where they ofter their signature cocktail and some light snacks for hotel guests.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LEH85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Aloha LEH85,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We appreciate your honest feedback, good and bad as this is a vital tool for our improvement and growth. We are thrilled that we were able to succeed in areas such as our relaxing, private pool area, weekly management receptions, and friendly staff. We are pleased to hear your opinions on the areas we can improve upon and I will definitely bring these up with the appropriate departments.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week just last week. We stayed on the second floor. When we first arrived to our Hotel it was already dark out so walking around the area the hotel was at this time looked shady so it seemed like the hotel was in a shady place too as their was a guy who looked to be trying to call someone down from the apartment beside the hotel looking for drugs. But during the day it didn't seem that way. Unfortunely our view was on the side looking out into the rooms of other places of the apartment beside us. Balcony to Balcony and when there TV was on next door, you could hear it. But we never complained because we were only in that room to change, sleep as we were out at the beach or out on the town during the other times. First night we arrived though, settled in and Everything work. We took a walk around Waikiki after we checked in. Came back and some of the lights and TV were not working.. One of the workers came up and attempted to fix it but was unsuccessful. They offered us to move to another room but we had already unpacked and were tired so we said No and we would wait for the AM for someone to come again. The next morning everything worked. There was construction that started at 9am but It didn't bother us and we were out the rest of the day. Staff was friendly. No bugs noticed but they did spray the rooms anyways during our stay. The maids came early sometimes, one time at 830. But if we said We were ready to have a room right then then they would come back later as we were out. The pool was cute but stayed at the beach 6 times out of 7. Kids were always at the pool. When leaving we were catching a night flight so they kept out bags in storage and pre organized a cab for us for that evening for when we were ready to leave. Been to Hawaii twice and I am Hawaii'd out but I would stay here again if I were to return. My boyfriend said he would rather way the extra money to stay some where on the strip!

Room Tip: After construction is done looking over the pool at the back or looking over the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksm_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Aloha Ksm_90,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We would like to firstly apologize for your impression of the area and the inconveniences you encountered with the lights and tv on your first night with us. We would like to emphasize our efforts for the safe keeping of our guests as we keep the doors to the hotel locked after 10pm, only entry with a guest key is permitted and we also have a security guard on duty after 10pm as our guest's safety, security and comfort is of the utmost importance to us. We are pleased to hear that the staff tried to accommodate you with another room when the power was not working, but we are happy that it returned to normal the following day. It is also great to hear that the staff was able to assist you with your luggage storage and taxi to the airport on your last day with us. We are thrilled that you found the convenient location of the hotel to Waikiki Beach and the main strip on Kalākaua Ave. to benefit you while you were with us.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in April 2012. It was very clean and there was plenty of room. The hotel overall is a little dated and doesn't feel very 'Hawaiian'. Staff did not acknowledge us upon our arrival but were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The rooms are a little tired and the noise of the jack hammer being used on their renovations was a little annoying. The rooms are very quiet and the location of the hotel is great. A great place for people on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher levels to reduce the amount of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Aloha N W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We would like to firstly apologize for the inconvenience you endured due to the exterior renovations taking place at the hotel. We completely understand that there is no good or perfect time to renovate while remaining open for business. We do our best to limit it to hours of the day that most of our guests are out so that it is quiet in the evenings and on the weekends. However, we understand that it can be loud at times and we sincerely apologize for any bother it caused. We are pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be a good value and we certainly hope that you will return to experience the true Bamboo when all the renovations are completed.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southgate, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Nice rooms with lots of space and nice pool. Great location near restaurants and close to the beach. We would go and stay there again. Great rates also. All the employees were friendly and helpful.
Gayle T.

Room Tip: Nice having a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gayle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Aloha Gayle T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are so pleased that you found all of our staff to be friendly and accommodating and we are very happy that you enjoyed your spacious room and the pool area. We are also thrilled that you found the convenient location to restaurants and Waikiki Beach to benefit you while you were with us!

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester Uk
Level Contributor
175 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. We had a double room on the 4th floor which was clean and quiet. (I never saw a cockroach the entire time we stayed at the hotel). The service was good and reception staff friendly and helpful, even ringing up a few tour operators for me and recommending restaurants. They also arranged our taxi back to the airport. The pool area is lovely, although they are doing renovations at the moment, which I believe will be finished soon. There is free tea, coffee lemonade and chilled water available from the lobby area to take out to the pool area with you which is a nice tough and plenty of recliner chairs.

The hotel really is just around the corner from Waikiki beach which means it is not too noisy at night.

Overall a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoandBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Aloha JoandBarry,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are so pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful throughout your stay and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary beverages in the lobby daily. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed Waikiki Beach, just minutes away from the hotel.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
450 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,630 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
562 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Property: Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with a lush outer sanctuary including an outdoor pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and stove-top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing