We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff...and good room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Ranked #43 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff...and good room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

My family just stayed at this hotel. And as vacations go, we totally enjoyed our stay! We were seldom in our room but while there we experienced nothing but friendly good service...we requested extras daily as we had four guest and we love coffee and they were always happy to help out bell helpers, reception everyone was great! What it lacks in interior flair it makes up for in guest services... the location is PERFECT! Pink trolley half a block away, the beach minutes from the door, tour bus pick up at the front door or half a block a way for the larger trips... totally worth every cent! ENJOY !!!

Room Tip: the kitchenette was terrific...had what we need to save a little cash for breakfast and snacks..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yakaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    776
    320
    80
    50
See reviews for
511
621
122
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

we stayed here for the second time December 2011/January 2012. we were welcomed as soon as we got out of the taxi and our bags were taken care of. we went up to the lobby where we were quickly checked in, nice to see Clayton again and he welcomed us so warmly with an Ohana welcome gift. we had requested our same room as last year which he were given. Clayton helped us with any info we needed, and spoilt us on New Years eve! we felt so at home,
the hotel is clean and the housekeeping staff do an excellent job. all the staff were wonderful.
we find the location perfect across from the food pantry, with Keoni,s downstairs. just a short stroll to the beach.We used the free pink trolley ride to Ala moana many times.
we will never stay anywhere else. thanks again to Clayton.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brettnsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed at the Ohana East for 6 nights. On my reservation form I asked for a quiet location as I have sleep problems. Again, when I checked in, I mentioned it again, and asked to be away from the elevators. When we went upstairs, we discovered we were only one door away from the elevators. They weren't extremely loud- sounded sort of like a wave crashing, but it was enough to wake me up. (light sleeper). The next morning I asked about changing rooms and was told I'd have to wait for the manager who wouldn't be in til 10, but they'd leave him a message.We had a tour booked and didn't return til after 8 pm. There was no message from him, and I was too tired to move then anyway. By the next morning we had our stuff spread out, and had another tour, so we decided to just suffer. The next few nights were worse as more people moved into the hotel and the walls were very thin. We could here people talking in the next room, and many toilets flushing.
If you can sleep through anything though, it isn't bad. The location is great- we ended up only spending 20 minutes on Waikiki Beach so it would have been a waste of money to stay closer to the beach. The room size was fine- I found the shower roomy enough. There was some dirt on the toilet seat when we first got our room.
The balcony was too small to sit on, but we didn't have time for that anyway. The bed was also not very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runrgrlOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medicine hat
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Thought the room was nice but pretty small , especially the bathroom. No tub for the wife and shower was hard to get in and out. Wife took a fall getting out of the shower as it was cumbersome to get in and out of the shower.
Location was good as you are only a block from the ocean. Price was reasonable with a $20 parking fee.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MedicineHatThehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
200 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

hotel was easy to get to via roberts transport from the airport.
quick checkin by meg on the front desk.
called by meg shortly after checkin to make sure room was okay! -- it was!
located in the heart of waikiki at the corner of kaiulani ave. and kahio ave. three abc stores within the block.
good restaurants, great pool and hot tub with plenty of lounges and chairs.
coffee maker and small fridge in the room. good view overlooking the pool and kahio ave.
nice coffee shop in lobby and two other restaurants on street level plus a snack shop.
great housekeepers who were sentative to my room needs.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank muscletongue3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I've just come back from my holiday in Hawaii. I've decided to write a review to help others as i read heaps of reviews before i booked my hotel. I chose the Ohana Waikiki East hotel because of its price and location. It was excellent value and the beach was only a 5 minute walk away.The main shopping strip and international markets were around the corner as well. Check in was great as we arrived at 11.30am and check in was at 3pm but they had our room ready and let us check in early, I was very happy with that because after a 10 hour flight i didn't feel like waiting around in the lobby. Angie at the front desk was very polite, helpful and extremely friendly. Excellent service there! Jettson and Raymond were also very helpful with luggages and with any questions i had to ask them. Our room was on the 16th floor which was good as we got too use the express elevator for floors 15,16,17,18 and the penthouse ONLY. The room was simple but clean with a city view and a balcony for 2 people. Noise wasn't a problem for us as we were up high and it didn't bother us at all. We had a little bar fridge which was good for keeping a dozen beers cold. The room seemed a bit dated but i wasn't there to pick on it. The lady who serviced the 16th floor was excellent, she was very polite and helpful and had my room serviced with towels and sheets everyday without fail. I think her name was Lin, great job Lin.
Overall if you want a budget stay in Waikiki that is close too everything ( including the great ABC stores which you will use everyday) close to the beach, bars , shops, clubs, etc.. which offers you a pool, spa, laundry, safe, and great customer service at half the price of other hotels then i would recommend the Ohana Waikiki East Hotel.
The ONLY thing i would do different is too make sure you get a room with a kitchenette as going out for breakfest, lunch and dinner gets VERY expensive. Also aim too get a room on the 15th floor and above too get the use of the express elevator which is so much QUICKER than the normal one. All in all you get what you pay for and we were happy with our room and stay at the Ohana Waikiki East Hotel, Mahalo.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 15th floor and above to get the use of the express elevator Get a room with a kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Libs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We just returned in Feb 2012 from our awesome Hawaii Vacation and the Ohana Waikiki East was a great location. Located right in the middle of the Waikiki hotel zone very close to the International Market and only a short walk to the beach. We had a kitchenette it was very small but enough space for 2, and having a fridge was a great way to have access to cold drinks. This hotel is very busy but the pool always had enough chairs to let you work on that tan. Very helpful and friendly staff we would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Property: OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Address: 150 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3292
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#44 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA(R) Hotels by Outrigger is our mid-tier, off-beach leisure brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise. Located in central Waikiki, this Waikiki hotel is just a 7-minute stroll to Waikiki Beach, next door to The International Marketplace and one block from Kalakaua Avenue's shopping and entertainment. OHANA Waikiki East provides safe, clean and well maintained mid-tier accommodation proudly supported by long serving hosts, many who have been with the Outrigger family for over thirty years. OHANA Waikiki East is unlike beachfront resorts where you may choose to spend your time indoors. Rather, it is an enjoyable home base for your Island adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your OHANA Waikiki East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana East Hotel Honolulu
Ohana East Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing