We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on Waikiki Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great hotel on Waikiki Beach”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Was back for one night at the Westin Moana Surfrider and had a fantastic stay. Only negative was the arrival experience - driveway was very congested and had no help with bags, etc as trying to get bags through the throngs of people, taxis, wedding parties, etc. Once inside there was a complete absence of staff, etc and although only 2 people in line at check, it was still a 20 minute wait.

but after all that, the hotel stay was amazing. Had a beautiful ocean front room which was worth the price of the upgrade. Stunning views. The room was gorgeous, well appointed, love the Heavenly Bed and the bathroom was great too.

Strongly recommend this hotel if you want to be in the middle of the Waikiki action - the hotel, the rooms, the service, etc are all amazing.

Room Tip: ocean front or ocean view will be quieter as away from street and you will have the stunning view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank totraveller12342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoanaManagementTeam, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Aloha & MAHALO to you for allowing the Moana Surfrider to be part of your island experiences. We would also like to thank you for posting a wonderful review & for your warm compliment. We agree with you 100% about the gorgeous view - being an oceanfront resort situated on the famous Waikiki Beach, Moana Surfrider offers an incredible view that simply is the best – and yes, nothing is more serene than falling asleep to the gentle sounds of waves… Again, mahalo for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa soon, hopefully for a longer stay. Until then, Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,529
    1,477
    579
    258
    233
See reviews for
1,421
2,246
201
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We have been to Hawaii twice before our honeymoon and had always made a vow to stay at the Moana for our honeymoon. So when it came time to booking accommodation for our honeymoon the choice was easy, we booked the very best room they had, being the ocean front premier and paid for everything in advance, thinking nothing could go wrong since we had booked and paid at least 6 months in advance. Little did we know upon checking in that they had no rooms available for us. It was so utterly disappointing, the hotel had even confirmed our booking 3 times prior to us arriving. We had the perfect wedding and was looking forward to having the perfect honeymoon at a hotel we had absolutely admired and raved on about to our friends and family for the past 2 years. Only to be turned away, the staff were friendly and it was beyond their control I guess, just really disappointing that you book and pre-pay for everything expecting to check into your hotel after flying for 10 hours and find that they have no rooms, how is that possible?! We are heading back to Hawaii in October for our 1 year anniversary and will not make the same mistake again, really disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thuykoval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoanaManagementTeam, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. It is our hope you will allow us an opportunity to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa for your upcoming trip in October, and we would very much appreciate an opportunity to discuss different options with you. At your convenience, kindly call the hotel’s main number and ask to be connected to the manager’s office. We look forward to hearing from you. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I have to compliment Sheryl of the pool restaurant wonderful service always with a smile. The Bellman were great.
I would also like to say how great Sonny is as a mamnger as well as I saw him helping a woman who was lost and in the wrong hotel and she seemed very confused.
I also like the hotel as it is so centrally located in Waikiki.....
Very clean hotel.
My favorite spot to stay when we are there.
Nice to see the staff care about their guests

Room Tip: Feeling Aloha when you pull up to the front of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank store2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoanaManagementTeam, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Our sincerest MAHALO for your gracious compliments. We are truly delighted to hear you enjoyed your time in Waikiki and our staff was able to share their “aloha” with you. We sincerely believe our amazing associates and their Spirit of Aloha set us apart from the competition and will keep our guests coming back year after year. We appreciate your generous compliments and will be sure to share them with our associates. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. Until then, Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

As we arrived the two full beds look like something out of motel 6. Then we moved to " street view". Now we have a band howling at the moon all hours of the night in the lobby. Would not have anyone stay here. Better off in the park down the street.

Room Tip: Different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yogiinmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoanaManagementTeam, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Mahalo for staying with us at the Moana Surfrider during your recent visit to Waikiki Beach. We certainly value your business and would very much appreciate an opportunity to personally connect with you to address your concerns. At your convenience, kindly call the hotel’s main number and ask to be connected to the manager’s office. We look forward to hearing from you. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We normally stay at the Royal Hawaiian when in Waikiki. However, they were sold out for this time that we wanted to go. So, we decided to try someplace new and decided to try the Moana for a change. It was great! The staff and service was pretty good. Maybe a little unattentive out in the bar area. But, unlike at the Royal Hawaiian there was actually some energy and life at the bar at the Moana. There was more going on at Moana...The Royal Hawaiian is always kind of dull feeling even though it is really nice! The rooms at Moana didn't compare to those of the RH. The rooms were clean and a good size (in the tower), but NOTHING at all special about them. Very dull colors and just nothing special. No mini-bar either. The bathrooms need some work. They are not horrible...but the tubs need replacing and so do the faucets. Anyway, we would stay here again for sure even though we didn't love the rooms because we didn't end up spending much time in them anyway! The location is great too, a little more convenient than the RH...

Room Tip: Stay in the Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AquaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoanaManagementTeam, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Our Big MAHALO to you for staying at the Moana Surfrider and for posting a review! It is great to hear you took advantage of our convenient beachfront location right in the heart of Waikiki – as you experienced, our resort is just a few steps away from all the amazing things Waikiki has to offer including fantastic restaurants, world-class shopping & tons of fun activities. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. Until then, Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Positives: very nice lobby and outdoor sitting areas. Pool was decent. Exercise facility was adequate. Service people were polite and efficient. Very clean, both the room and public areas.

Negatives: room was too small (maybe ok for Japanese or British tourists used to their cramped hotels). The furniture took up about 90% of floor space. Couldn't open up suitcases on the floor, had to throw them on the bed. They charge a hefty fee for use of an umbrella and chaise on the beach. At the time we booked the room, they denied having such a fee. Sleeping was difficult because we kept getting woken up by the wind rattling our window as well as people in the hallway and next door. Soundproofing of the rooms was substandard.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadRusski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoanaManagementTeam, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Aloha & mahalo for taking the time to share your resort experiences. As you experienced, being recognized on the National Register of Historic Places, Historic Wing guestrooms are indeed smaller compared to those in our newer wings. We certainly hope that you will allow us an opportunity to welcome you back, to experience accommodations in the other two wings of the Moana Surfrider that hopefully will exceed your expectations. Until then, Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

When we go to Hawaii, we want to see the ocean -- so we booked an ocean front room, thinking it was the nicest quality room at the Moana ---- it was the nicest room AVAILABLE, but the website did not advise us it was in the Banyan Wing (I think it was called). There is a lovely new tower that we thought we were booked in until we went to our room. It turned out to be fine -- not luxurious. Adequate size, a small lanai with a great views but with no chairs (and really no room for them) and a very small bathroom. Some decorating would have made a difference. Old beige wallpaper, scratched and rusted bathroom door frame. Great shower. Good Westin sheets, but interestingly enough, the towels we were given at the ocean and pool where whiter than the towels in our room.
The staff was WONDERFUL! Very pleasant and helpful.
Breakfast buffet was very good.
The Banyan Courtyard and Beach Bar have the best location on Waikiki (with the possible exception of the Royal Hawaiian). But the drinks leave a lot to be desired. The first night there we had foo-foo Hawaiian drinks with a couple from Switzerland -- and not one of us finished our drink. Sooo - no more 'fun' drinks there -- back to vodka tonics or vodka rocks. The hamburger we had for dinner was good -- but all the other food we ordered there during our week was exceedingly average. We kept trying other things hoping to find something we liked. A hot dog on the beach would have been an improvement. So - we walked down a couple doors and had GREAT happy hour, pupus & dinner at the Hula Grill -- several times. Also had wonderful drinks and pupus at the Royal Hawaiian.
When we got up early enough to reserve chairs and umbrella on the beach (apparently you need to have stayed there 10 years to have the privilege of reserving them in advance, which is a very nice perk for returning guests). The beach attendants brought ice water, took orders and brought wonderful complimentary pineapple from time to time. Very nice.
The veranda is a lovely place to sit -- despite the fact that the cushions on the chairs REALLY need to be replaced. There are wonderful rocking chairs with a view -- in front of the beautiful old hotel. The Moana has great character -- we loved it -- the bar food and drinks were the only downer.

Room Tip: Ask if you are in the "new" tower and if you have an unobstructed view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WYjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoanaManagementTeam, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Our MAHALO to you for staying at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review. We truly appreciate the specificity and timeliness of your comments, and our operations team will be addressing each of the items mentioned in your review. Again, mahalo for allowing the Moana Surfrider to be part of your island itinerary, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Until then, Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
2,520 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Property: Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing