We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great stay overall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I stayed with my wife and daughter for 4 days earlier this month and has a great time. We upgraded to one of the suites on the penthouse leve with a full ocean view. Very worth while. Waking up looking at the ocean and Diamond Head was fantastic.

The pool is very small, but we were there for the ocean so that didn't matter.

The breakfast restaurant is fantastic with excellent service and food.

The other restaurant - Banyan Tree I think was mediocre. Food was ok but limited selection. The staff were nice and friendly but way understaffed so service was very slow. Beach service was the same.

All other aspects of the hotel were great including location. Right in the heart of Waikiki.

I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were in the tower on the penthouse level which had a great view of the ocean and was high enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ken031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,245
    1,366
    540
    239
    219
See reviews for
1,257
2,062
182
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

The hotel itself is nice and the staff generally pleasant. We were informed while there that it is a honeymooners hotel, which made sense with constantly being asked if we were on our honey moon (which we were not). I went down to the beach side bar one after noon alone and sat for 45mins waiting for service, until I left. This was in comparison to prior within minutes having someone ask to assist you when with my partner. Was rather annoyed at the appearance of if alone you don't deserve service or must be waiting for someone else.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank trippin_traveller_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

The Westin is centrally located on it's own beach front. As a 5 star hotel, it is what you expect. Clean, friendly, upgraded, excellent bed, robes to use and slippers.

Check for AAA rates and special packages that include breakfast. Resort daily fees include pre-paid self parking across the street in the Sheraton Princess hotel. Otherwise, valet will be an additional $15 per day. Resort fees include beach towels available at pool side. Pool attendants Sharon, Mo, Jazzel and the staff make you feel like family. Our room cleaning lady even knew our names on the first day. I felt the personnel touch.

Beach umbrella rentals are $50 for the day. You need to get in line at 6:30am to get choice umbrella location. We stayed in the Tower Wing which is new. The Moana was opened in 1901. It is modern except for the old classic style. I am told the rooms are larger in the towers. I would not recommend staying in the main older part of the hotel or at least not on floor two or three. The views in the west Tower begins on floor 10 and above so you can see over the roof of the main building. But if you are hardly in the room, save a few $ and stay in the lower tower floors.

The wife enjoyed the gym located on the 2nd floor each day.

It is a nice touch that you give you kakuli nut necklaces as your aloha welcome. The staff oat the front entrance are great. The front desk was understaffed. The concierge desk was very friendly and very helpful. They were super.

I believe kids under 12 eat free for each adult. Breakfast buffet is $30/adult as was good but not spectacular. Duke's next door in the Outrigger Hotel has breakfask buffet for $17/adult with a beach/ocean view for the same type of food selection and quality. The Westin's small pool is good for kids under 8 yrs old. There is no adult pool. The beach with the gentle waves are fun for the kids and adults. Depending on the time and beach renovation, you may have small rocks to step on in the surf zone. On weekend and holidays, the beach gets very crowded. The Westin as the last hotel is a great location to paddle out to the surf line up. There are other Waikiki Surf spots going from the Westin to the Hilton Village.

The main street, Kalakaua, is fun to people watch. We got the end city-view room with two balconies and can watch the people on Kalakaua. The street artist and the high end shops intermingled with the local ABC Stores makes it a unique experience.

Room Tip: Check the website for specials and ask about AAA discount that may include breakfast. There are onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windiveski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

We had a great stay and this Hotel is as beautiful as the place it's in. We had an ocean view and walking into the room was like walking into a post card. It could not have been better if it was virtual reality or a movie set. We walked through the room to the small balcony and were treated to a panoramic view of Wakiki. Beautiful blue water sandy beach and people enjoying the surf, in the distance Diamond Head.
The Hotel was spotless and rooms clean the staff always professional and courteous but perhaps a little stiff. I agree with another poster who mentioned staff do not seem as happy as in other hotels we visited. Perhaps they were tired after spring break or something.
This was our first trip too Hawaii and this hotel easily surpassed our expectation of Hawaii it was just surreal. Not sure when we will get back again as this trip would be hard to match but wanted to say thanks for a beautiful stay and great experience.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Actually staying here now and felt compelled to write this review. This is the third time that I have stayed at the Moana Surfrider in the past year - for business. I use SPG Cash and points and am also Starwood Gold which should allow for an upgraded room. On all three occasions, I asked but no upgrades were ever available and the room was over the front entrance overlooking the street. So, I get it - dont expect a room upgrade at the Moana. In addition, I would echo several other guest issues: bathrooms are small with minimal amenities for a resort and spa (Shampoo, soap and conditioner), room door didint lock unless you remember to push it closed to latch. Housekeeping knocked on my door to tell me that it was open several times.

Food opportunities are delicious - ate in the bar and had great Mai Tais with several appetizers for dinner including an incredible seafood stack with lobster, tuna, oysters and king crab, with a caprese salad that had locally grown heirloom tomatoes - real hit with me!

And finally - the noise. Being on the street side about the entrance, both nights I experience loud guests returning from a big night at 2 a.m. continuing their party all the way to their rooms. Fortunately the air conditioning fan drowned them out but it was a 2 a.m. wakeup call.

Fitness center is decent - 5 treadmills, 3 elliptical, 3 bikes, weight machines and free weights. There is also free yoga at 7:30 a.m.
So - all in all it was a good stay. As a Starwood Gold member, do expect much if any upgrade available and you will always be placed on the street side.

Room Tip: Not over the main entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carshalton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I wanted to stay here as it was the oldest hotel in Hawai. we were only here one night but it was amazing. The room was small but perfect views of the beach and a lovely big bed made up for this. it was over priced in the hotel $30 to rent a sun bed but you could lay on the beach for free and there were plenty of other places to eat and drink.
There was a lot of atmosphere inside and out the back but out the front it was like a posh Benedorm [not a complaint]. Would love to come back there would be plenty to keep you busy for a whole holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctcCarshalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at the Moana Surfrider for five days and had a wonderful time. The hotel is in a great location right on Waikiki beach. The hotel is beautiful and well kept. The rooms were large, quiet and very well maintained. We stayed in a partial ocean view room - and it is a tad generous to say that it has an ocean view - one has to stand prettty far out on balcony to see it. I recommend requesting a higher floor as the lower floors view is blocked by the other hotels.

The pool is quite small but I am not sure that matters given the hotel is right on the beach. One thing to note is that the pool and beach chairs fill up very quickly. We rented chairs and an umbrella but you need to do so by about 8am or they are all taken. I recommend saving your chair and then go have breakfast.

Our room included a free hot buffy that was of really good value.

The hotel entertainment is amazing. There is a very talented young man who sings and plays the piano at night - he is absolutely amazing and I highly recommend that if you see him.

The outdoor bar is in a beautiful location - however, the service there is a bit poor. The staff generally seem very uphappy to be working there (I did not notice that with other staff hotel - everyone else was very friendly and helpful) and we often had to go and track a server down to just make an order. As mentioned, the rest of the hotel staff was great so I am not sure why the servers at the Banyon seem so unhappy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pod87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,510 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,349 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Property: Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Starwood, Priceline and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing