We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,950)
Filter reviews
3,950 results
Traveller rating
843
1,642
894
350
221
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
843
1,642
894
350
221
Show reviews that mention
All reviews splash bar across the street a pool view room waikiki beach nightly entertainment the international market heart of waikiki partial ocean view beach chairs an older hotel bottled water hotel is in a great location lobby area pool side bit dated high floor city view
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 3,950 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2018 via mobile

As a Platinum elite member I have been to many Sheratons in the past. This place is not worthy of the Sheraton name. The striking employees are irritating but not necessarily anything they can do with the strike. They could be more understanding with the patrons and give a severe discount. Very disappointed. The place is very dated and dirty.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
3  Thank gvblack502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPK, Manager at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Aloha Darren G,

We are truly sorry for failing to deliver the exceptional stay you deserve and are disappointed to know we let you down. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this caused. When you have a moment, please contact us via telephone at 808-522-5811 so we can arrange to credit you with Marriott Reward points. We would very much like to regain your trust here at the Princess Kaiulani. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a better impression of our hotel upon your next stay in Honolulu.

Mahalo,

Bri K.
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2018 via mobile

I have loved this hotel in the past but the Employees are striking right now and management does not really care about the guests. We paid in advance so we got no refunds. We could not leave and go somewhere else which I would have preferred. Not only is the noise, megaphone screaming, drum beating, and insults to the guests occurring from 5 AM till 10:30 PM an irritant, but there are no services. We literally have to pick up our towels, and other items needed in our room, downstairs in the lobby. We have to take our trash and our linens down the hall and deposit them in separate bins. We are doing all the work that support staff would do with no compensation from management. We paid the price for a nice room with services, with a nice bar and a nice restaurant all on site. However none of that is available and there is no compensation for it other than us doing the work ourselves. I will never stay at another Sheraton hotel because they do not really care about their customers.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5  Thank Freedom794561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPK, Manager at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Aloha Freedom794561,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this caused. We would like to connect with you directly if possible. Please check your messages via TripAdvisor or when you have a moment, please contact us via telephone at 808-522-5811. All managers have been deployed for the operation of the hotel, including the front office. Please ask for manager and one will be glad to assist you.

We would very much like to regain your trust here at the Princess Kaiulani. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a better impression of our hotel upon your next stay in Honolulu.

Mahalo,

Bri K.
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2018 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights before heading up to the North Shore. It's big and it's busy, but they have great rooms, we had an Ocean view, comfy beds and a good balcony. They provided chairs and towels so you can walk 3 mins to the beach itself and enjoy. The staff were helpful. Breakfast was busy, but a good selection of food. This place really hit the spot for our short stay and I'd recommend on that basis.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank JoJo036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPK, Manager at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

Aloha JoJo036,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our beautiful ocean view rooms. We're so glad you had a chance to try out our complimentary beach chair rental to enjoy nearby Waikiki Beach. There's nothing quite like that view of Diamond Head, is there? We hope to welcome you back to the Princess Kaiulani should your travels bring you back to Honolulu in the future.

Mahalo,

Bri K.
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2018

We stayed here in January 2018 and had such a great experience that I decided to return here to celebrate my BIG milestone b'day!

Upon arriving at the hotel, we were 'greeted' by many protestors chanting outside hotel. This loud noise continued the entire 6 nights we stayed here. Not really what you want to hear when you're trying to relax on the holiday you've planned all year for! We could hear them from our room and pool, from early morning until late at night.

We also had no one to clean our room, we had to empty the trash ourselves, help ourselves to our own clean towels from the lobby, as well as shampoo, soap etc. Not really something I expected to be doing whilst on a hard earned holiday.

During our stay, we had no pool side service, the bar there was closed. We had also booked a package including breakfast, which again, we did not receive. The convenience of having breakfast at a hotel is a major drawcard for us.

The hotel seemed well prepared for the disruptions, having flown people in from all over USA to help out. What was most disappointing was that no guests were pre-warned of this. They told us their negotiations take place every 3 years!

What's also disappointing was the way 'compensation' was handled. They told us the 'resort fee' would be waived! Really? Given there was no service, geez, I'd expect that! Secondly, because we booked hotel through a third party, no refund of breakfast was offered. We did receive one nights' free accommodation.

I would still recommend staying at this hotel - it's a great location and usually great service. Perhaps in about 3 years time, I'd phone ahead to make sure there aren't any more negotiations taking place with their staff. For me, it has left a very bleek birthday experience - and that's a shame, as we are the people keeping the protesting staff in a job!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPK, Manager at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

Aloha Maria P,

Thank you for sharing your experience and we are truly sorry that your second visit to the Princess Kaiulani did not exceed your expectations. We so look forward to celebrating our returning guests and their important milestones, and we are so disappointed to have let you down. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the central location and hope that we can welcome you back in the future to regain your trust. We will be reaching out to you directly to better understand your experience with us.

Mahalo,

Bri K.
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

After reading the reviews here, we made sure to book a newly renovated room, which was pretty nice with a very comfortable bed. This hotel is very conveniently located in the heart of waikiki,across the street from the beach, and reasonably priced. Our check-in was quick and convenient but we were a little disappointed that we had to ask if there were any upgraded rooms available even though we have elite status. We were celebrating a birthday so it was really nice that they had a dessert surprise for us when we came back in the evening.... thank you! We stayed there before the strike so please consider the status of the strike when you book.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank mickayla813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPK, Manager at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

Aloha mickayla813,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in Waikiki! The central location of the Princess Kailuani makes it super convenient for shopping, dining and enjoying the iconic Waikiki Beach. We hope you enjoyed your birthday celebrations with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Mahalo,

Bri K.
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews