We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pools in Waikiki!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Waikiki
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best pools in Waikiki!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

Stayed 7 nights with my boyfriend in July, and loved it! We had an oceanfront room and would definately recommend this as the view overlooking Waikiki Beach was amazing! We could see the ocean whilst laying in bed and to wake up to it every morning was amazing!

Great location! Right in the heart of all the shopping, restuarants and nightlife!

Best pools in Waikiki! Spent most of our time at the infinity pool as the other pool was full with kids (great if you have kids)!! Only problem we found was it was hard to get a pool chair as they would be all taken from very early on in the day! Great cocktail selection by the pool and the pool cushions in the infinity pool were great to float around in!

I would definately recommend this hotel for both couples and families and will definately be returning!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hicksy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Online Marketing Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are thrilled you enjoyed our pool areas so much, they are our favorites too. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,184
    2,179
    825
    307
    247
See reviews for
1,984
2,012
160
463
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

Have just spent two nights in the newly redecorated hotel - the bedroom hallways, once filled with the dream of the travel poster - palm tree wallpapers, happy carpeting - are now like a prison cell block - grey, dreary and not Hawaiian at all. The rooms are dreary as well - not a club chair to sit on - only two are outside on the balcony. There are no chests in the room in which to place clothing. The bathroom, which has a shutter window opening into the bedroom, is like a utility room - stainless steel sink that is as deep as a stew pot! The folk who redid the original Sheraton Waikiki decorations should be hung on the one stainless stell hook in the room. A very dreary experience. We would never ever reommend this hotel to anyone - even for free. When we called the assistant manager to tell our woes, as the glass sliding doors to the balcony were filthy, the comment back was: "Please tell it to the Executive Committee". The happy, colorful, Sheraton Waikiki is gone. Sad! We couldn't wait to check out. And, we were called at 12:00 p.m. to say that we had over-stayed our welcome. Check out time is 11:a.m. If you are considering staying at the Sheraton Waikiki - don't. The rooms don't even have bed spreads! It's dreary all the way - even in the Ballroom!
.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bendiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Online Marketing Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Aloha and thank you for your recent review of our resort. We are very sad to hear your opinions regarding our new decor. We worked hard with local design companies to create a classy contemporary Hawaiian feel. We are very proud of our look and feel. We hope you will look us up on your next visit to Hawaii so we can give you a personal tour to show you how we came up with our new look. Mahalo again for your comments and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford NSW Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

Stayed at the Sheraton in two rooms with my wife & 17 & 14 year old. We had stayed there 18 years earlier as a couple and to be honest then the rooms looked just like they had in the famous Brady Bunch episodes from the mid 70's. I can only imagine how tired they must have become before the upgrade of a few years back.
Now I can report all however is good. While there are still trimmings that remind you your staying in an older building overall the reno has been very successful. The rooms are comfortable and well decorated with comfortable beds. They are large enough to live in for a week or so with plenty of room to put all of your gear.
The views are simply outstanding, we were on the 22nd floor looking towards Pearl Harbour and it was spectacular.
Downstairs there are some great bars including the rimfire and the pool bar all which are great places to sit and watch the sunset.
As far as location goes it is unbeatable, an easy walk straight on to the beach or out the front straight into the shops with the international marketplace hardly a 5 minute walk.
It is important to note though this is a very large busy international hotel, and the lobby & bar areas are always a hive of activity. If you are looking for absolute peace & tranquility this is not for you - but I doubt if you were looking for that you would be in Waikiki anyway.
When I return to Waikiki I will most definitely use this as my hotel of choice as the combination of the bars, restaurants, view & location are just too hard too beat.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricolours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Online Marketing Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are thrilled you and your family enjoyed your stay. We are very excited to hear you like the transformation our resort recently went though. Our goal was to have a classic Hawaiian feel with out being over the top. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian holiday. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

Booked the Sheraton Waikiki on Hotwire at a great $129 rate. For that price, this hotel is outstanding. I'm SPG Gold, so although you aren't really supposed to get those perks when booking with Hotwire, they still upgraded us upon check-in to a higher room with a partial ocean view. The room was spacious and of course had those wonderful Starwood beds. Some people have said the rooms are sparse, but it's just part of the modern look. We were more than happy with our accommodation. We hit up Happy Hour at Rumfire as soon as we arrived, and had the best Mai Tai I've ever had. No other drink the rest of the trip topped the first.

The location is fantastic. With the beach and all of that shopping just minutes away, you couldn't go wrong. We only had to rent a car for one day and utilized our feet, a taxi, or shuttle service the rest of the time.

The Infinity Pool was a great spot to relax. Chairs close to the pool were hard to come by but if you didn't mind being a few rows back they were easy enough to snag. The other pool with the slide and fountain were a nice change of pace and there were lounge chairs over there that you could position to face the ocean if you were ok with escaping the infinity pool scene.

Service at the hotel was great. We had a scare with some lost keys and the hotel was very attentive in addressing our issue. I would definitely stay at this hotel if I returned to Waikiki, especially if I was able to splurge on one of the oceanfront rooms!

I'd also ask about the Resort Fee. We were a bit concerned when we saw a water bottle in our room marked "Resort Fee", as no fee had been mentioned to us on check in. We never touched the water and hoped we wouldn't be charged the fee. We weren't charged so I'm not sure if it as optional fee? I'd clarify if you don't want a mysterious $20 a day charge on your room.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fls114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Online Marketing Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are happy you enjoyed your stay, it sounds like you had a great time. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Hawaii. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

Overall we loved this hotel
Great location very clean and staff friendly and helpful
Rooms were clean but a bit small if more than 2 people in room
We had 2 double beds way to small for 6ft 1 husband and 16 yr old son
Only other option was king bed with roll out at a cost of an extra $90 per night for roll out ( ridiculous)
All bars were welcoming and food was well priced and lovely
Only exception was hot breakfast from ingredients overpriced cold and tasteless
We would love to stay here again and are coming back to Hawaii next January but the only thing holding us back is the bed arrangements if we could get a king and roll out without extra cost this would be our choice for sure

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonesysydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Online Marketing Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are excited to hear about how much you enjoyed your stay with us. For your next stay we would recommend booking directly with our hotel to see if there are any new accommodations we have to fit your needs. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again next January. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

This resort is about arranging the deck chairs in a perfect position. It is also about kids thanks largely to the large pool with 2 slides. Blending the two (kids and mai tai drinkers) is difficult though on balance Sheraton pulls it off.

The downside is that this is a busy hotel and you will wait for most things; it has a churn type of feeling to it; and is reasonably inflexible as a consequence. Though with the amount of people walking through the door; the churn could be a whole lot worse. If you come to Shearaton Waikiki use the pool; the car park; internet and phone calls, water etc and you will quickly realise that the resort charge is actually good value. Think ahead of the crowd; sort out you bill the night before, call a porter whatever; in other words if you avoid a queue at this hotel not only would you have done well you would have had an even better time.

And the kids will have a ton of fun in the pool.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Online Marketing Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Thank you very much for your review of our resort. Even though we are a big resort we strive to deliver the highest quality service with a personal touch. We sincerely hope you and all of our guests feel the "aloha spirit' when staying with us. Thank you for your comments and your great tips for our future guests. Mahalo and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next Hawaiian holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manitoba
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our 7 day stay at this hotel. Excellent rooms. Great staff. Restaurants and bars had good drinks, good food and very nice servers. Two good pools, especially the family pool. (Much nicer than the adults only pool)

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank robbinsManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Online Marketing Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Mahalo for your recent comments about our resort. We are happy to hear you were pleased with all aspects of your stay and we hope to welcome you back on your next Hawaiian vacation. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,109 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Property: Sheraton Waikiki
Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda and Reservation Counter so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing