We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A house befitting heaven”
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Halekulani Hotel
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A house befitting heaven”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Halekulani means "a house befitting heaven" in the Hawaiian language. It is all that and more. The staff so magically remembers the guests names that I suspect hidden cameras and microphones are used. The House Without a Key restaurant and bar is excellent morning, noon, and night. Kanoe Miller is magical on stage on her nights. Lewers Lounge is the best place on Oahu for a nightcap. It is possible to vacation on Waikiki and have an actual enjoyable upscale experience -- this is the place.

Room Tip: Ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xenos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,779
    461
    152
    52
    38
See reviews for
650
1,192
66
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We just arrived home from a two week vacation in Hawaii - the first few days spent at Halekulani. I have been staying at Halekulani for over 20 years whenever we are in Hawaii. And it just never disappoints. The service is outstanding. It is elegant, quiet and understated. If you are looking for glitz, this isn't the place for you. But for those who enjoy quiet elegance, beautiful surroundings and attentive service, this is the place. The restoration was a non issue - we didn't hear any banging or noise associated with it at all. It was all being done very discreetly. And the renovated guest rooms were updated in a very modern, but still Halekulani way. Very beautiful. And on our final day, two hotel executives came to our room to ask us if everything ahd been to our satisfaction and if the renovation had been an issue.

I will never go to Waikiki and not stay at this "House Befitting Heaven".

Room Tip: Rooms with a veiw of Diamond Head are the ones to get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

My husband and I returned from a fabulous stay in Honolulu. The highlight of our trip was the amazing time we spent at the Halekulani hotel. We travel regularly to Hawaii, this was our first trip to the Halekulani as guests. From the moment we checked in, until the moment we departed, we were treated as valued guests. Every detail is addressed and executed flawlessly. The check in process is handled in your room, and in a discreet and professional manner. Each member of the staff is carefully trained and their concern for your happiness is thought of in the questions they ask, and the follow up you receive. The room we had was a beautiful oceanfront room. The furnishings were gorgeous, and the decor was updated and lovely. Our lanai had 2 chairs, with a full size chaise lounge. The room was everything you would expect from a 5 star property, and we much preferred the room to other 5 stars we have visited previously. Dining was always excellent, we missed Le Mer on this trip as it was being remodeled, however, House without a Key and the Verandah for afternoon tea were both excellent. The location of our room was so well situated that we could listen to and watch the nightly show from our lanai. The hula and music are definitely worth watching and sipping a nice cold Mai Tai only makes the experience more enjoyable. Each time we needed to get our car from valet, we were greeted by warm and friendly service, always asking if we needed a map, water, or a recommendation. You cannot beat the prime location, and if you want to shop you are close by to many shops and restaurants. We enjoyed the Halekulani so much that we spent most of our time either at the hotel or visiting our friends on the island. Our next visit will definitely be spent here, and it is definitely an experience that was 5 stars all the way!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our 11th floor room, but they all have amazing views if you are Oceanfront, definitely wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank welovetravelsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

From the moment you arrive at the Halekulani, you are made to feel welcome. This is a quiet, serene and elegant hotel. The staff was always pleasant and accommodating. Our very comfortable room had a view of the ocean and pool. We invited guests to dinner at one of the hotel restaurants, Orchids, where the food and service were perfect and the view of the ocean dramatic .

The Halekulani is a little bit of heaven in the midst of busy and touristy Waikiki. It was fun to explore the shops and restaurants around the hotel, and then return to our oasis. The pool area is beautiful and never crowded, but there is really not much of a beach. They are finishing renovations on the property and, for that reason, we requested a room as far away from the construction as possible. We did not hear any noise during our stay and would never have known that there was any work going on. The Halekulani is a very special, gracious hotel and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: We thought it was worth it to get a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Priscilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Hts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

What an elegant, beautiful hotel! The service and attention to detail was incredible!
We would love to live at the Halekulani for the rest of our lives, if we could afford to!
The location is prime. We enjoyed the House Without a Key for drinks and the lovely Hawaiian music and hula. Orchids in the morning for breakfast was so relaxing and peaceful. The service there and everywhere at the Halekulani was impeccable! The view of Diamond Head from our balcony was gorgeous. If you can afford to, stay at this hotel...it is an incredible experience!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed here March 2011 and it was a lovely hotel. it was close to the beach it had a very big pool, and convenient restaurants with the hotel which makes it very convenient for families to stay. as you walk out of the hotel, the nearby shops, starbucks, and ABC shops are all close by. It is very conveniently located and lovely hotel with clean rooms. the service is also fantastic, i really couldnt flaw the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nazdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Halekulani is hands down the finest resort on Oahu. It's worthy of its 5-Star rating as the facility is gorgeous, rooms are nice, bathrooms are very nice, service is great and restaurants are fantastic!!!

Note though that this is a very quiet resort so if relaxation is what you want...this is THE place for you.

The negatives: NO BAR IN THE POOL AREA!!! Which, I find to be pretty unbelievable. Regardless, we've stayed there many times and it's hands down our choice of accomodations on Oahu. Also, gym is a bit small but definitely adequate.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nofalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,855 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Property: Halekulani Hotel
Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1988
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing