We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice location, nice staff, relaxing atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice location, nice staff, relaxing atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I stayed for a week in this hotel. The staff is very friendly, my room was large and very comfortable. The hotel is located next to a beach (1 min walk), close to Waikiki shops and to bus stops. Some bikes are available for use which is a great way to discover Honolulu. I'll go back to this hotel for my next trip to HLL.

Room Tip: actually my room was a bit noisy in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kptx66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    219
    54
    14
    10
See reviews for
208
441
70
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I came to Hawaii with 4 people for a wedding and we shared a room. There was no difficulty doing this and the staff was supportive, helpful and accommodating at all times. We stayed for 6 days and wished we could stay longer. The hotel was well appointed and the choice of coffee, wine and decor was excellent. All of us enjoyed being there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phrogist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We recently stayed at the Aqua Lotus for the first time and absolutely loved this hotel. The staff members were without exception friendly, welcoming and extremely helpful. Travelling with our three children, we had two adjacent rooms, which were spacious, comfortably furnished and stylishly decorated in neutral tones. We were on the third floor, so did not have a view of the ocean but still had a very pleasant outlook over the park. Complimentary wine in the lobby each afternoon, and coffee and newspapers each morning, were very welcoming touches. The location is great for those who want to relax and escape the hustle and bustle and yet still be relatively close to Waikiki. After trying a range of different options on previous trips to Honolulu, we feel we have now found the hotel that ticks all the boxes for us and look forward to coming back to the Aqua Lotus again soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjslovehawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brown's Pt, WA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

The Lotus is in a great location far enough away from the bustle of Wailiki for rest, but close enough to stroll down and have a mai tai under the Banyan tree at the Surfrider, or a treat at Yogurtland. At the beginning of the Gold Coast, we walked around the park each morning, to the Farmers Market at the community college on Sat, then up Diamond Head for a great view. It was about a 8 mile round trip and a great day. The beach is amazing for swimming. There were lots of whales spouting off the reef and during our morning swim we saw 6 turtles including the largest one we have ever seen, 3 eels and countless fish, including several Humuhumunukunukuapuaa! :) The bed was very comfortable and the room clean and fresh. The deck on the 12th floor looked at both Diamond Head and the whales, an unbeatable view. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We borrowed the bikes one day for a few loops around the 5 mile trail the circumnavigates the park. Great value and wonderful place. We hope to return.

Room Tip: Higher floors with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kleinink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

This was our first visit to the Lotus Hotel but it will not be the last. The room was lovely, big and airy. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. The views were breathtaking. It is a lovely quiet area of Waikiki but just moments away from the hustle and bustle should you want it. We loved the bikes for loan and enjoyed biking in the park an along the beach areas. The morning yoga classes set us up for a wonderful day. The extras such as a glass of wine in the evening and the internet in the room were the extras that made the difference. We will not hesitate to recommend the Lotus to our friends and hope to be back again soon.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great we had a view of Diamond Head and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We booked our first four-night stay at the Aqua Lotus when a deal showed up on Jetsetter.com. The price was right and the location perfect to our way of thinking: a bit removed from the hustle and noise of Waikiki at the foot of Diamond Head and across the street from Kapi'olani Park.

We booked our second four-night stay because we'd extended our time in Hawaii and the Lotus was worth a return visit.

The ambiance is that of a small boutique hotel. The staff, as others have noted, are professional and friendly. Several times during our second stay, we were recognized as returning guests and welcomed back. The combination of staff, the special touches offered at the hotel, the rooms and location led to our conclusion, that we've found 'our' hotel in Honolulu. We will be back.

Special touches: Morning coffee is provided daily in the lobby -- free copies of the Star-Advertiser newspaper as well. If you prefer in-room coffee, a pot, cups and coffee packets will be provided. Each afternoon complimentary red and white wine, self-served in Reidel wine glasses replace the morning coffee service. The hotel also provides beach towels and chairs as well as bikes for guests to use. Guests are also invited to participate in complimentary yoga classes offered four times a week at 7:30 a.m. Instructors lead the class in Kapi'olani park. (I had never tried a yoga class and participated in this one - it is incredible! The instructor, Courtney, was able to adapt the workout to the ability levels of each participant in the class. The park location was perfect allowing for us to watch the sun rise over Diamond Head.)

The rooms: all have postcard views of Diamond Head (and there's also a beautiful view of Waikiki Beach on the open hallway between the elevator and the rooms.) The amount of water view you have depends on how high your room is and its location in the hotel. Our first stay, we were in an ocean view room, on the eighth floor, on the end of the building which gave us two patios and a view of the water and Diamond Head. On our return visit we spent four nights on a 10th floor room and had a bit more expansive water view. Both rooms were spacious, kept clean by the housekeeping staff that visited during the day and provided an evening turn-down of the delightfully comfortable beds. Rooms have wi-fi access and a small refridgerator. The decks are large with two chairs and a large table and provide spectacular views of Diamond Head.

Hotel location: As noted above, the hotel is to the south of Waikiki, just past the Aquarium. We found it an easy walk through the park to get back to the busier part of town. In fact our hotel's location allowed for us to walk to the top of Diamond Head (7.5 miles round trip) and to Kahala Mall (about 5 miles) quite easily. But for those who don't want to walk, the Honolulu public bus system, TheBus, can take you to the island's major tourist attractions. There's a bus stop close to the hotel and is served by Bus 2 which loops you back to Kuhio Ave. (the heart of Waikiki) or Bus 14 which loops around the base of Diamond Head (past the lighthouse, and near the Kahala Hotel, to the Kahala Mall and Coco Head area. We were provided transfer coupons which were valid for four hours and as a result often didn't need pay for a return trip or provided a free transfer to a bus going to the place we were headed. The hotel front desk can provide a reference sheet and map that tells you which bus to catch to reach tourist destinations such as Pearl Harbor and the Polynesian Cultural Center and points along the North Shore. The cost per adult was $2.50 (we could have purchased a four-day pass for $25 but opted to walk to most destinations.) A rental car isn't necessary.

Restaurants: There was talk that the hotel's second floor restaurant will re-open in the future but for the present time the nearby restaurants offered high-end dining options. As noted above though it was simple to hop the bus to get back into Waikiki where multitudes of eateries at all price ranges are to be found or out to the Kahala Mall where a similar array is available.

Area free attractions: If you stay at the Lotus don't miss the free band concert in Kapi'olani Park on Sunday afternoons, check out the art along the fence of the nearby Honolulu Zoo and if you are lucky, catch one of the free hula shows in the park as well. We were also entertained watching pick-up soccer games in the park from our deck each evening.

The hotel is very close to the Outrigger Canoe Club, a private club that's been a Honolulu tradition since 1908. If you are a member of a club that has a reciprocal membership with the OCC, and plan to use it while in Hawaii, this hotel is perfectly located for easy access. Ask about OCC hotel rates when you call for a reservation.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Travelnwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Coast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

At first we were unable to find a condo that was not in the heart of Waikiki. I stumbled upon this hotel on the internet. Now am so glad we stayed there. Lovely views, Super Clean Spacious rooms, Friendly Staff and best of all quiet. Only a few rooms on each floor. Extra little touches that make it even more relaxing.
Daily afternoon complimentary wine in the lobby; Morning coffee and tea; Complimentary bikes to get you around.
Evening room turndown. Helpful staff. We will be back.
Only thing I'd change is the lobby. Needs a little more warmth - comfort to sit down and relax.

Room Tip: If you are looking for the quiet away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki - this is for you! Sans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eaglespirit77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#3 of 85 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 85 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,067 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#6 of 85 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 85 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Property: Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
Address: 2885 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4002 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated enclave located on the famed Gold Coast of Waikiki, the Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head is a fusion of Asian inspired decor and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Rent beach cruiser bikes and explore Waikiki. Enjoy daily happy hour specials and delicious island cuisine at Wisp Restaurant & Lounge located on-site. Nestled between Kapiolani Park and a spectacular white sand beach shared with Outrigger Canoe Club, this hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with remarkable views of majestic Diamond Head and the Pacific ocean. With our boutique fee, guests will enjoy amenities including: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel, Valet Parking, unlimited DVD movies and Playstation 3 games, in-room Coffee, in-room Safe, Coffee and Tea service in the lobby, daily Wine Service in lobby, Concierge Services, daily Newspaper, Bicycles and use of Beach Towels & Chairs, outdoor Yoga Classes, and Waikiki Shuttle Service. We also offer admission for (2) at the Honolulu Museum of Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Evoline ltd, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Hotel
Lotus Honolulu At Diamond Head Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing