We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, very interesting”

Old Court House Museum - Eva W. Davis Memorial
Ranked #10 of 35 things to do in Vicksburg
Attraction details
Reviewed May 12, 2018

Marlene is a very friendly and helpful person, she is very informative about the museum and the whole area. The courtroom is very cool to walk around and see. Very nice gift shop. One of the top attractions for Vicksburg.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"teddy bear"
in 6 reviews
"court room"
in 9 reviews
"historical artifacts"
in 6 reviews
"civil war"
in 25 reviews
"beautiful old building"
in 2 reviews
"warren county"
in 3 reviews
"bottom floor"
in 2 reviews
"interesting items"
in 2 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 2 reviews
"national military park"
in 2 reviews
"courtroom"
in 15 reviews
"courthouse"
in 24 reviews
"information"
in 11 reviews
"documents"
in 4 reviews
"gordon"
in 3 reviews
"flags"
in 5 reviews
"clothing"
in 5 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 97 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2018 via mobile

I love antiques and snippets of history and I found both in this museum. I felt as if I had been transformed back to antebellum South

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank JQuilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2017

This is your basic small town historical museum which holds artifacts that grandkids didn't want, Civil War memoribilia, information about the city's founders and even a bunch of Indian arrowheads. Those looking for African-American history will find a few things though slavery is pretty much glossed over. The civil rights era isn't really covered in much detail either.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank ruthjoec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2017

Our time was short after spending most of the day at the national military park, but we stopped during the last half hour that the museum was open. The fee is small, and we enjoy history, so we made the most of our short time, and staff did not rush us out. The rooms of the old courthouse are stuffed full of historic treasures of the town and its people. Each space is dedicated to a particular aspect of the town history. Visit the areas that most interest you, or allow time to enjoy every room. Don’t miss the preserved courtroom!

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank RetiredTravelerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2017

This old-fashioned museum is located in Vicksburg's most prominent landmark - its old hilltop courthouse - and offers an extensive, matter-off-fact chronicling of the city's history - before, during and after the Civil War. Lots of artifacts, both military and domestic. It's the best museum in the city.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Fastenyourbelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Court House Museum - Eva W. Davis Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Old Court House Museum - Eva W. Davis Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing