We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
111
78
13
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
111
78
13
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family owned garden area cable tv coffee pot fit the bill wine tasting wi fi small fridge place to sleep minute drive enjoyed our stay road trip clean rooms in town blue mountains easy access wine country
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 208 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2018 via mobile

What a gem of a motel! Comfortable, quiet, unpretentious. Very homey!
There was a couch in front of the TV, the bed in a separate alcove. A microwave, fridge and coffeemaker in another alcove.
Could park directly in front of the room, so convenient for those of us with coolers!
Friendly family owners.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick T, Manager at Walla Walla Garden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Thanks for the comments. We were able to remodel that room with a little more space which made it more homey and comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2018

I grew up in Walla Walla and make frequent trips to visit family and until Mom's situation changed we stayed with her. I knew with the wine industry taking off that rooms wouldn't be cheap here but couldn't believe it when I started checking prices. All I need is a place to sleep for 6 hours and a shower in the morning and wasn't about to spent $200 or more for that. After reading some reviews decided we'd stay here. Upon driving up to the office to check in I was taken by how well the grounds were kept. Walked in and immediately greeted by John and this wasn't your usual corporate/chain obligatory smile but seemed truly genuine. After a bit of a chat went to room and have to admit was taken back a little by how small it was. But, everything you need is there, micro, small fridge, coffee etc and all were very clean. In fact everything about the room was great, carpet in great shape, brand new expertly installed good old-fashioned linoleum in the bathroom (speaking of which, may have been the cleanest bathroom I've ever seen in any place I've stayed). The bed was more comfortable than the expensive Mexican resort we were just at a couple months ago. Nice grassy area with picnic tables or chairs to just sit and relax and look at the Blue Mountains. Will be back whenever we need a place to stay in Wally World

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank fj49_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick T, Manager at Walla Walla Garden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Thanks for the kind words. We try to make every guest feel welcome and comfortable. We work on our rooms constantly and because we do most of the work ourselves you will find elements from every era from the original 1948 knotty pine to modern tile and new mattresses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018

Small but super comfortable. All been updated to include high end hardware in bathroom. AC is nice and cold. Bed feels just like home. Park your car right in front of your unit/room - how convenient. The hotel rate is more economical than any other place around. You could also easily mistaken staff members as your family members because they are so friendly. This is my home away from home whenever I visit Walla Walla.

Room Tip: No suggestion - they are all good. Only difference is one bed vs two beds...
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank auburn13356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick T, Manager at Walla Walla Garden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Thanks for the great review. As you noticed our small rooms are pretty small but that was the standard when they were built back in 1948. We've actually made them a bit smaller by adding insulation between rooms so they are very quiet. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018

if you just need a place to crash for the night, this is perfect. It is just a basic roadside motel, but the grounds are beautiful and the staff treat you like family. The cable TV channel selection was as good or better than most expensive hotels.

I recommend this to anyone not picky about their accommodations, price was 1/2 what we would've paid at the fancy hotels

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick T, Manager at Walla Walla Garden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Thanks for the review. We recently upgraded our tv service and I'm glad you enjoyed our garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2018

The Walla Walla Garden Motel consistently gets great ratings for one very simple reason: personal service. A bargain priced motel with simple but comfortable accommodations, what really sets this place apart from others charging twice the price is the care you experience when you check in. John (2nd generation owner) asks about your interests, what you like to see and do. All we had in mind was dinner and a stroll downtown (which he facilitated with a detailed map and directions). But based on his suggestions we first headed out to a nearby fruitstand to enjoy the local produce (including a bag of sweet Walla Walla onions) and ended the evening with a drive up to the reservoir to watch the sunset--things the average tourist might never know. A 5 minute drive from the old downtown, in the heart of Washington wine country, this modest lodge deserves the accolades it has earned.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick T, Manager at Walla Walla Garden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Glad you enjoyed Klickers and the reservoir. The Whitman Mission NP is also a great place for a summer sunset stroll.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews