We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Certain Parties”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I thought the property was very attractive - both in terms of location as well as inside. Location kept you away from the direct hustle and bustle of downtown traffic noise, but certainly a good location for many downtown locations.

The property seemed a little expensive. I booked a king suite. The bedroom was great but the sofa bed was not very attractive for teenagers. The main room really is more geared for a resident traveler - I think a business person or couple would be most happy with the facility, especially if you have a good travel budget. With a family of 4 or more, you probably would want a 2-bedroom suite and that really hikes up your price.

If you're traveling with family, you will also be disappointed with the bathroom not having a sink separated from the toilet/shower area, although you can always use the kitchen sink as an alternative sink. If you need some space to entertain or might use the kitchen space for meal preparation, then this would be a great place in the heart of Cincinnati.

I'll put an excellent rating on the facility, as it is, but again you will probably find better value in terms of sleeping space, etc. for families at another location.

Room Tip: We had a city view, which is basically looking at a bunch of buildings, but it was very quiet and we...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OmahaTraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Thank you for the review and thank you for your feedback on how we can continue to better serve our guests. I am excited to hear you felt the property itself was attractive but disappointed to hear the spacing did not fit your needs. The hotel actually has 13 different floor plans and we will benefit moving forward from your comments as there is no doubt that some floor plans are better situated to serve a family (i.e. a room that has the sink outside of the bathroom or a room that has different living room layout to make the sleeper sofa a more appealing place to sleep) and we should be more conscious of that when assigning suites.

Thank you again for your comments and I assure you we will put them to good use!


David Meisner
General Manager
david.meisner@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (722)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 722 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

By far the best hotel experience. Location good, rooms spacious and very clean and comfortable,with the staff amazingly attentive to the smallest detail and friendly. It is the only place to stay in Cincinnat!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eileen0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for the review and most importantly your continued support of our hotel. I assure you will continue to provide the same level of service and product so that you can always count on enjoying your stay while with us!

We look forward to your next stay!

David Meisner
General Manager
david.meisner@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I chose this based on reviews on this and other travel sites. In a word, they were correct -- this hotel is outstanding. The front desk was both friendly and totally on the ball. The "room" turned out to be a suite with a kitchen. The free breakfast was one of the best that I have encountered, and included eggs, hash browns, and make-your-own waffles. There is also a very nice small art museum, the Taft, a stone's throw away, which I also recommend.

About the only thing that I didn't care for was the odd color scheme of the lobby--dark wood, yellow, and blue--a very minor quibble!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TangeloTabbycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Thank you for the great review. I am glad to hear that the hotel and the team lived up to the reviews! It is also great to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, our breakfast team takes a great deal of pride in the breakfast we offer and I will be sure to share your comments with them.

We hope that if your travels bring you back to Cincinnati you will once again choose to stay with us!

David Meisner
david.meisner@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

What a fabulous hotel location! Right downtown and very convenient. From valet to check-in, very helpful and personalized service was cheerfully given.

Arrived at dinnertime but didn't want to seek out a restaurant so we dined right at their bar "The Phelps".... we had not only some amazingly wonderful food (like lean Pulled Pork on Pretzel Rolls!) but our server Laura made the evening very special with her very focused and friendly service. She is a real asset to their staff!

Only issue for some might be the nearby traffic noise but you should expect that in a downtown location. Did not effect our great night's sleep.

Will stay here again whenever we can!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for the great review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the service the team provided, we take a great deal of provide in the experience we create for each and every guest and its comforting to know we are living up to our standards. I am also glad to hear you enjoyed both the service and food in our Phelps Bar, we think Laura and our Pulled Pork Sliders are amazing as well!

Thank you again and we hope when your travels bring you back to Cincinnati you will give us another chance to provide you with a great experience.

David Meisner
david.meisner@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This was by far the best Residence Inn I've every stayed at & never knew it was there!

The staff was overly accommodating and cheery. The room was very clean and we had every amenity needed - including a great (free) breakfast. Just be sure to get down there early on the weekends to avoid the lines.

The hotel had a nice seating area out front and across the street is the nicest little park. Close to the highway and walking distance to the ballparks and "the Banks" area downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank devo1645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Thank you for the great review of the hotel. I am happy to hear that the staff service and suite amenities exceeded your expectations. It is also great to hear that you were able to experience our veranda seating and to take in the serene feeling of Lytle Park.
The entire team hopes that if you travels bring you back to Cincinnati that your will once again choose to stay with us.

David Meisner
david.meisner@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We were in Cincy for a mini-vacation with our 2 y.o. daughter and the hotel was one of the highlights of the trip. I agree with all of the other reviews about the friendliness and cleanliness, I didn't think a hotel could be so clean. The room was very spacious and very quiet. It gave us plenty of room to move around and play hide and go seek. The kitchen in the room was great and had everything you would need to cook and eat (they even have tupperware). The windows even open a little bit to let in some fresh air. The staff spoiled our daughter (in a good way) and made the trip extra special for her. There is a great closed in patio with green space and a fountain that is a great place to relax. We could sit back and relax while our daughter ran around in the grass and played. The breakfast had plenty to choose from and the food was great. The hotel is close to everything, 10 min to the museum or zoo and 5 min to the aquarium. It is also a very short walk to Fountain Square. There is a great little park across the street with a little playground and there is a much larger park and great big playground down by the river litterally 2 minutes away. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OSUBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Thank you for the great review! We are excited to hear that you not only enjoyed the suite and the staff service but also made good use of the area surrounding the hotel. Most importantly though, I am glad to hear my team treated your princess like a princess! We know how important it is when traveling with family to have each member of the family treated with the same kindness and hospitality.

We hope if your travels bring you back to Cincinnati that we will again have an opportunity to WOW you.

David Meisner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Our Daughter attends Xavier University in Cincinnati. We made several visits to the area before she decided to attend. Each visit we would stay at a different hotel to get to know the area better. That was until we stayed at the Residence Inn Downtown. Words can't describe what a pleasure it is stay as a guest. From the moment you pull up front, being greeted by the most friendly staff to the special greeting each time you return to the hotel. We spend nearly 100 nights a year in hotels and this is by far out most favorite!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Xavierdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMeisner-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

I am happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that we are now your hotel of choice when traveling to Cincinnati. The team here at the hotel strives to provide an exceptional experience in all areas at all times and it is great to hear we hit a home run with your stay.

We look forward to seeing you and your family and providing you with another wonderful hotel experience on your next trip to Cincinnati while visiting your daughters.


David Meisner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#10 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,330 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#16 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,109 reviews
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#18 of 51 in Cincinnati
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps

Address: 506 E 4th St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-3303
Region: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range: $270 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Phelps Building in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's business district, Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps is an extended-stay Cincinnati hotel that blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Come stay with us and enjoy our comfortable accommodations, whether you're traveling for business or for pleasure. Our Cincinnati extended-stay hotel is an all-suite hotel featuring free daily breakfast, a fitness center, complimentary Wi-Fi, a business center and meeting rooms, and an ideal location close to Downtown Cincinnati's top businesses and attractions. Great American Ballpark, Jack Cincinnati Casino, Duke Energy Convention Center, and more are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown Hotel Cincinnati
Residence Inn By Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing