We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time, but, not last time!”
Review of Sotto

Sotto
Reserve with OpenTable
Sotto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 2,164 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Walnut Street
Description: It is a concept of casual intimacy and communal romance.Sotto is the art of simplicity, a steward of restraint. It’s undressed, gutsy and human. It is fire, meat, wheat, and laughter.Above all, Sotto is Italian.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been wanting to go to Sotto for a while and, when our double date plans fell through, we went a family of four (kids ages 9 and 14) and we all loved our experience there. The ambience is perfect - cozy, dark, and warm. Our waitress was exceptionally attentive. Everything was delicious - we all tried a different type of pasta. Best of all was the $6 house glass of wine and the desserts - donuts and the chocolate budino. We'll definitely be back!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JKNiebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 661 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2018

This is my go to for birthdays and anniversaries for me and my fiancée. The food is amazing., the service is top notch. and you can't beat the atmosphere.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank U7979JYdavidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2018 via mobile

Make your reservation early at this very popular restaurant. And once you’ve been there, you will know why. The ambience, the food, & the excellent service all add up to a great dinner. We shared a large porterhouse, bone-in steak among the four of us, & it was prepared to perfection. From appetiters, salads, & through the dinner, it was all superb. Only problem we had was there was no room for dessert. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank SANCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2018

We live way north of Cincinnati and will gladly travel the 45 minutes to indulge at Sotto. Cozy and intimate, stepping down the stairs from street level feels like stepping into another world. We usually prefer to have dinner at the bar, but sometimes take a table in the dining room. Food is all amazingly delicious. Small plates are the perfect size to share several and still feel sated. The cocktails are interesting with a mix of sweet and savory/herbaceous drinks to choose from. Great for a date night, celebration, or dinner with friends.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Erin619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2018

My wife and I came here with a group and were seated in the main dining room, which granted, was a little cramped, but the food was absolutely spectacular. I generally don't like a restaurant where I have to ask the server to explain every dish on the menu, but the names of the dishes and some of the ingredients were obscure to the point of being indecipherable. Nevertheless, our server was patient, extremely knowledgeable and helpful. The wine choices were wonderful and the six of us decided to order one of almost every entree to share among us. Portions are small but every bite was a savory joy, and as others have written here, the ricotta donuts for dessert are worth saving space for. This is a special occasion kind of place, and special in every way. A gem.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RCSColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sotto also viewed

 

Been to Sotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing