We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gift shop and beautiful site”

Mammoth Site of Hot Springs
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: America's International Treasure. This National Natural Landmark is an internationally renowned indoor working paleontological site/museum. More than 62 Columbian & woolly mammoths have been unearthed, as well as over 85 other species of associated Ice Age fauna. Hands-on activities for children, an educational experience for the entire family. One of the top fossil interpretive sites in North America. Open year-round. Located in the Black Hills of South Dakota. New Learning Center opened May 2015, two new 53-seat theaters, universally accessible walkways, new HD Introductory video, New Digital TourGuide system.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile

The gift shop had really low and reasonable prices then what we are used to in other gift shops! Although the woman at the cash register was grumpy and unpleasant! I believe her name was Mary! What they call the bone bed was quite enjoyable! If you have teenagers, this is the place to take them! My kids learned so much in the short time we had! There are guided tours and tours you can take on your own! We took the on your own tour but wish we would've taken the guided tour as the booklet we were given was wordy and lengthy! We will be coming back!

Thank Flyer695208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mammothtoo, Public Relations Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2017

Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Mammoth Site. We appreciate hearing feedback from our visitors. We take our reviews very seriously and use them as training tools for our staff. We apologize for your unpleasant encounter with one of our staff members and this situation will be addressed with them. The Mammoth Site strives to provide the best experience for our visitors. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the rest of the museum. We look forward to you coming back to see us again and when you return please ask for the Public Relations Coordinator. Also if you would like to discuss this matter further please feel free to contact the Public Relations Coordinator at 605-745-6017. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dig site"
in 156 reviews
"guided tour"
in 132 reviews
"sink hole"
in 52 reviews
"active dig"
in 28 reviews
"ice age"
in 30 reviews
"all ages"
in 75 reviews
"ask questions"
in 22 reviews
"exhibit hall"
in 16 reviews
"gift shop"
in 77 reviews
"short video"
in 21 reviews
"amazing site"
in 15 reviews
"interesting place"
in 21 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 17 reviews
"own pace"
in 14 reviews
"black hills"
in 60 reviews
"walk around"
in 20 reviews
"whole family"
in 24 reviews
Filter

361 - 365 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2017

This was such a find! My 7 & 9 year old boys had a great time on the fossil dig and they are still talking about the spear throwing class! I was amazed by the quality of fossils and the information I learned at this site. It was amazing. Definitely an excellent addition to the Rushmore trip.

Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mammothtoo, Public Relations Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2017

Greetings KM,

Thank you for your review of The Mammoth Site. We appreciate hearing the feedback from our visitors. We are glad to hear that your children enjoyed the Atlatl Class and that your family was also "amazed by the information at the Site". We hope you and your family will visit us again in the future and maybe your children will be able to try the Junior Paleontologist Dig Program!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2017

This is an out of the way, but unique and well worth while excursion for any amateur paleontologist, child or lover of natural history. Since the site has been preserved within the museum, while still being actively excavated, you not only get to experience the extraordinary prehistoric finds but also get to feel part of the action.

Thank ericl446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mammothtoo, Public Relations Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2017

Dear Eric L,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Mammoth Site and share your personal experience during your visit. We are glad that you found The Mammoth Site to be "well worth" it. We appreciate the feedback from our visitors and we hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2017

The Mammoth Site is just a stone's throw from Wind Cave, so I decided to burn a couple hours here before my cave tour. It is definitely worth a visit and this is an attraction that is unique. You must visit the Mammoth Site via guided tour, which run pretty frequently. There is a video then a guided tour around the dig site. The pit is kind of grim since this was basically a death trap for loads of mammoths. They would bend down to eat grass, slip in the water, then died trying to get out of the slippery slope. Everyone didn't seem to mind that it was an ancient Saw trap though. If you have the time and are visiting Wind Cave, make the detour down and check it out.

1  Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mammothtoo, Public Relations Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2017

Greetings Chris N,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Mammoth Site. We are glad you decided to take the time to visit us while waiting for your tour at Wind Cave. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and found the Site to be "unique". We hope that you will come back and see us again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile

Your was the right length and level of detail to prime you for more exploring. It's kid-friendly and both my young kids enjoyed it.

Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mammothtoo, Public Relations Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2016

Greetings Rebecca J,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Mammoth Site. We appreciate hearing feedback from our visitors. We are glad you thought the tour was the right length and enjoyed the information that was given to you by our guides. We are also very happy to hear that your children enjoyed their visit as well. We hope that you will visit us again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mammoth Site of Hot Springs also viewed

 

Been to Mammoth Site of Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing