We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing treasure trove of fossilized skeletons

We were amazed at the sheer number fo fossilized bones uncovered in this sinkhole, with more being... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Gfiniti
,
Rolla, Missouri
DESERVES 10 STARS

I was absolutely blown away by this incredible site. The museum houses an actual ancient sink hole... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Carolyn B
,
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Read all 1,471 reviews
  
Reviews (1,471)
Filter reviews
1,471 results
Traveller rating
1,042
347
60
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,042
347
60
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dig site guided tour sink hole active dig ice age all ages ask questions exhibit hall gift shop short video amazing site interesting place own pace kids and adults black hills walk around whole family
Filter
Updating list...
396 - 401 of 1,471 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2017

This was such a find! My 7 & 9 year old boys had a great time on the fossil dig and they are still talking about the spear throwing class! I was amazed by the quality of fossils and the information I learned at this site. It was amazing. Definitely an excellent addition to the Rushmore trip.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mammothtoo, Public Relations Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2017

Greetings KM,

Thank you for your review of The Mammoth Site. We appreciate hearing the feedback from our visitors. We are glad to hear that your children enjoyed the Atlatl Class and that your family was also "amazed by the information at the Site". We hope you and your family will visit us again in the future and maybe your children will be able to try the Junior Paleontologist Dig Program!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2017

This is an out of the way, but unique and well worth while excursion for any amateur paleontologist, child or lover of natural history. Since the site has been preserved within the museum, while still being actively excavated, you not only get to experience the extraordinary prehistoric finds but also get to feel part of the action.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank ericl446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mammothtoo, Public Relations Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2017

Dear Eric L,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Mammoth Site and share your personal experience during your visit. We are glad that you found The Mammoth Site to be "well worth" it. We appreciate the feedback from our visitors and we hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2017

The Mammoth Site is just a stone's throw from Wind Cave, so I decided to burn a couple hours here before my cave tour. It is definitely worth a visit and this is an attraction that is unique. You must visit the Mammoth Site via guided tour, which run pretty frequently. There is a video then a guided tour around the dig site. The pit is kind of grim since this was basically a death trap for loads of mammoths. They would bend down to eat grass, slip in the water, then died trying to get out of the slippery slope. Everyone didn't seem to mind that it was an ancient Saw trap though. If you have the time and are visiting Wind Cave, make the detour down and check it out.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank tumbleweedchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mammothtoo, Public Relations Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2017

Greetings Chris N,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Mammoth Site. We are glad you decided to take the time to visit us while waiting for your tour at Wind Cave. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and found the Site to be "unique". We hope that you will come back and see us again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile

Your was the right length and level of detail to prime you for more exploring. It's kid-friendly and both my young kids enjoyed it.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank rebeccaj656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mammothtoo, Public Relations Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2016

Greetings Rebecca J,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Mammoth Site. We appreciate hearing feedback from our visitors. We are glad you thought the tour was the right length and enjoyed the information that was given to you by our guides. We are also very happy to hear that your children enjoyed their visit as well. We hope that you will visit us again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2016

Our kids found the sight very interesting! They loved learning about the mammoth story and their foolishness to slip into the hot springs.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Pernille H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mammothtoo, Public Relations Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2016

Greetings Pernille,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Mammoth Site. We appreciate hearing feedback from our visitors. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your visit to the Site. We hope you will come back and see us again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews