We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
35
6
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
6
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclouds resta wonderful stayday hikingchaletyosemitevalleyhalfparkdomecalifornia
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 44 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Dear Doe & Chris,
We very much enjoyed having your lovely, clean home to return to each day after hiking the trails in Yosemite. So much nicer than a hotel room. Your home is warm and inviting. Just like the two of you.

Our experience was a great one from the very beginning. You two were came across so warm and friendly on the phone. You made us feel welcome long before we arrived.

You seem to have thought of everything. The books and magazines you left for your guests to read were great, gave us a better idea of Yosemite and info we didn't have. We also enjoyed your husband's pictures (he is a great photographer). We learned about the "T" markings (found this in one of your books). It was very helpful in finding many of the trails. Also which trails to hike if you want to get away from the crowd. Like Lake Elizabeth, Lake May, and Lake Gaylor. Each with a beauty of their own.

Since we ate all our meals at your place it was thoughtful and considerate that you left some spices, condiments, etc. So thoughtful. Thank You.

Doe it was nice to meet you. You are as pretty as you are nice. We enjoyed our little visit with you.

We will be sure to spread the word to our friends and acquaintance's about what a score your place is.

Thanks again,
Bob & Irene Palmer
Kissimmee, Florida

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Reamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2010

This place had goods and bads. It is in the park, is between 30 - 40 minute drive from the Yosemite village (road has been under construction which can make the drive longer - obviously not owners fault). It is in a subdivision. There is housing construction going on in the subdivision. I think the driveway was my worse nightmare trying to back a full size van out past the other cars parked in the driveway. It is the upstairs of the owners home (not a good option for handicap accessiblity), owner was not home, but a list of who to call if problems is on the frig. Suite Sunshine is decorated cutely, the kitchen was fully stocked with utensils - wasn't missing much if anything and all was in good condition. Has dish washer, nice frig/freezer. Gas grill worked wonderfully. However, you must remove all of your trash when you leave, so you need to pack the garbage up in your vehicle and haul it out. Realizing you are in a park, you do expect some bugs and for the most part, place was bug free, however whoever cleans needs to dust out the cobwebs in the light fixtures and windows.

Payment was 50% down with a generous refund policy if you cancelled more than 30 days before planned stay. They do not take any credit cards, and prefer a check (I rarely travel with a checkbook on vacation).

Would recommend this to others and would probably stay there again should the occassion arise to be in Yosemite again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank itchingtotravelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Charming, quaint, close to everything - - can even walk, quiet, absolutely enjoyable !
This was our second stay, so that pretty much tells you how much we like it !

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank shadi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2010

There appear to be few choices regarding staying in Yoemite ie limited accomodation within the valley -which apparently gets booked up early, or to stay outside of the park and travel in. So it was great to learn through Trip Advisor about rented accomodation within the park. We stayed in the duplex 'Suite Sunshine' which is located in West Yosemite which is a small community of private homes within pine woods. West Yosemite is a couple of miles from the turning to Glacier Point Road and about a 20 minute drive to Yosemite valley [which is a short journey given the immense size of Yosemite National Park].
Vacation Homes essentially advertises private homes for rental but note that there is no central office or contact - the contact is made directly with the owner so it is important that you keep a record of any correspondence between you and the owner and ensure contact leading up to your stay. Our owner was not set up to take any card payment so she had to set up a paypal account for our deposit and we paid the balance in traveller cheques. Suite Sunshine has two double bedrooms and a pull-out bed in the lounge. There are two bathrooms and kitchen. There appeared to be a laundry room/cupboard but it was padlocked but you may be able to have access to it if you ask the owner. There is also a small terrace with a big table and a BBQ. This is a lovely sun trap from lunch time . The owner is lovely and gave us some advice on which hikes to do first. There is a good library of guide books and maps which really helped our stay. Regarding shopping, it is wise to stock up on food and drink before you arrive since there is only limited provision in the park.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kippur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2010

What a deligthful place to end a busy day touring. All the comforts of home. Doe and Chris go out of their way to make sure everything associated with your stay is taken care of in the best possible way.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Krisant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews