We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good campground, but it's a campground, what do you expect?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hodgdon Meadow Campground
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I see a lot of reviews on here about how much this places sucks because there are no showers or you are sleeping on a slope. What do you expect? You are camping! In the wilderness. If you need a shower every day, drive up the road 2 seconds to the public showers. If you don't like sleeping on a slope, find a less slanted place on your campsite and pitch your tent there. For people going camping, it seems they like luxury. If you like luxury, you should probably be sleeping in a hotel.

We stayed at Hodgdon Meadow two nights in August and had a great time. The first night we were close to the bathrooms, which was nice, but less privacy than some might want or expect. Bathrooms are clean enough for what they are. I wasn't expecting them to be pristine, since we are CAMPING, but they were always stocked with toilet paper and had a sink to wash your hands.

The second night we stayed near the Group sites and were much more secluded. I enjoyed this spot, except it was a bit of a trek to the bathroom in the middle of the night. They had a closer bathroom that was just a toilet that dropped into a really long hole so you can't flush anything. That was a little gross, but hey, you are camping and they had other bathrooms nearby.

Food storage lockers were sizeable. We had plenty of room for our food and belongings. Fire pits seemed taken care of. Campsite was free of trash. We didn't see any bears, even though we were expecting to. All campground rangers seemed nice enough, no one was overly loud and everyone seemed respectful. I would stay here again. Campground also has a BEAUTIFUL meadow. Definitely a must see!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank FloreanFortescue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Hodgdon Meadow Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

We spent a week in Yosemite in a VW camper with our two boys. We had as much trouble as everyone booking a campsite through the reservation system when planning our trip so we felt lucky to get one at all. We entered through the upper park entrance and were happy to find our campsite so close - it was getting late and we were all tired. We were surprised to find out that they encourage you to burn wood from around the campsite. It was also a little ironic that a ranger lectured our boys about how you can't take anything from the national park (in their case, a pinecone), but you can go ahead and burn it! Doesn't seem to make sense. We were in campsite #8. The first night our camper was on a 20 degree slope. There was absolutely no level place to put it. For the following nights, we drove the back wheel up onto a piece of hardwood and managed to level it out enough to sleep comfortably. The campsites themselves are so dusty that everything gets filthy - feet, clothes, chairs - everything! There is cold running water in the washrooms but they are very dirty.

It was very nice to be away from the bustle and crowds of the village. We enjoyed the drive in and out of the valley and the relative quiet of our campsite.

We are used to camping and don't mind rough conditions, but this campsite could be so great with a few, very minor improvements. If they graded the sites and put down some gravel, the sites would be much more comfortable for everyone. A propane water heater in the washrooms would allow some hot water to keep things clean, without a noisy generator. Also, it would benefit from the addition of large outdoor sinks where people could wash their dishes. It seems odd that you're not supposed to have food around but you have to wash your dishes at your campsite.

Yosemite is spectacular and we will always fondly remember our week there - even with the sloped campsite.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wspears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I have been to Yosemite many times and to many campgrounds. This is probably my least favorite campground. I stayed for 2 nights at a walk-in site and didn't enjoy it much. The site (#22) was on a slope which made it difficult to load and unload our vehicle. The sites were very oddly placed in that there was no option other than to go through someone else's site to enter and exit our own (much like our other neighbor's sites). I don't like to walk through other's sites so that really made me unhappy. The plus side to our site was we had no rear neighbors so we could put our tent as far back as we wanted. The bathrooms were pretty far away so it was quite an uphill trek especially at night. I also thought it was far from the valley so it cost a lot in gas to drive back and forth. This would not be my first choice of a campground and I probably wouldn't stay there again if given a choice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBRfan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Luckily we only stayed at hodgdon meadows for one night, we could not get out of there fast enough the next morning. The campground is poorly laid out and managed. Roads through the campground are very rough, bathrooms were dirty, no showers, and they do not sell firewood here (if we had known this before it wouldn't have been an issue but by the time we figured it out the closest place to buy some was closed and we had to gather fallen wood from the nearby woods in the dark). The worst thing about this campground though is the sites. Sites ate clustered together with no privacy, sites are not leveled or delineated. There are no paths through the campground and people just walk through each others sites. We were unlucky enough to be in site 57 which was right next to the bathroom and people walked through our site, next to our tent talking, shining flashlights in etc all night long.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLOVELL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We reserved a site that said it was appropriate for an RV. We were on a SEVERE slant. I mean so severe that we had to hold on to our countertop & table to walk in the RV. When we saw how bad it was I walked back to the ranger check-in station at the campground entrance. I asked the ranger if they had any cancellations because our RV was on a severe slant. He said "Let me guess, it's site #35?" He was right on. He said that everyone that rents that site complains and that there was nothing he could do about it. He showed no empathy & cold heartedly handed me a piece a paper and said we could lodge a complaint if we wanted to. Lovely, like that would do any good.

My husband tried taking a shower in the RV. We placed a towel under the bathroom door but we were so sloped that the towel barely helped and water ran the whole way from the bathroom down to the drivers seat! On the bright side my kids did have fun having slide races on their butts in the RV and sitting at opposite ends rolling water bottles to each other!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank blue2ribbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed in campsite #4. Then we had paid and were supposed to stay in campsite #98 for two nights. This site had no place to pitch a tent. Everything was at a 40 degree slope. There are two bathroom buildings (2 stalls each for men) for the whole campsite. There was duct tape holding one toilet seat together with a wooden lid covering the toilet tank. The bathrooms were covered in filth from not being cleaned! We had just come in from camping at Kings Canyon where things were maintained. The only water at the site was at the bathroom. The gate keeper made everyone in the vehicle (Made for a very slow entrance, some over an hour) read the bear warning because they were handing out fines to people who weren't within arms reach of their food at all times. This was a trip we had planned for over a year. We didn't stay in campsite #98 as we couldn't see sleeping on a slope like that! There were others there who felt the same way. Campsites are very, very small. People were under a lot of stress from living so close. If this is what the future of camping in Yosemite is going to be like we will never return. I camped in the Valley many, many, but this was the worst!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkPeveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

The staff were very helpful, felt safe, was a great atmosphere and excitment on the campground. Everyone around us were friendly. We were lucky enough to have an RV site at the top of the campground where it was a little quieter and away from the larger groups. Bathrooms are not much to rave about...but who cares...your in Yosemite!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank surfchick106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
36.4 km away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
603 reviews
12.1 km away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,855 reviews
34.2 km away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.0 km away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,142 reviews
10.3 km away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,619 reviews
33.0 km away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodgdon Meadow Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodgdon Meadow Campground

Address: Just past south entrance off Highway 120, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Number of rooms: 105
Also Known As:
Hodgdon Meadow Campground Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing