We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Atmosphere - But Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Trees Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Big Trees Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
113 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere - But Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

I really liked sitting out on the veranda in the late afternoon, enjoying the scenery. I enjoyed the look of the hotel. The rooms were 'cute'. We had two rooms with a bath in between (a Jack and Jill set up). Our rooms were billed for 3 people - NO WAY! There was a double bed in our room and a twin - luckily only two of us needed that room - we slept in separate beds since the double was so small. The room would have been better with one king or queen bed.

Bathroom - mold on the ceiling - and a traditional claw tub shower that when you get the hot water going, the shower curtain sticks to you. Yuck.

Lastly, if we wanted only one room with a bath, then our bath would have only been separated from the next room by a single door - any sound can easily be heard in the rooms adjoining the bath rooms.

Check in was friendly but so slooowww.

Overall, it was a good location for us since the next morning we got up early, walked the Mariposa Trail up to Wawona point and since we were so close, we got there early and beat the crowds. This is the only reason you stay here.

Room Tip: Get a room with a bath so you don't have to schlep to the bathrooms at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicago Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    750
    304
    175
    88
See reviews for
507
1,053
60
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zermatt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

We are working in the hotel industry (in Switzerland) and have never been so disappointed. We paied almost 200 Dollar for a small room without bathroom, it was very loud, the internet wasn't working and we had to wait 20 minutes for the check-in. But don't forget, there wasn't another client before us, the staff had 20 minutes in order to make our (and the only at the reception) check-in!

Us have been told, that for a historic hotel, that is normal how it is. NO! In Switzerland we have many historic hotel and you just can keep them up to date without loosing the historic touch. They just want to make as money possible, without any quality! It reminds me in overal, how the US hotel industry came down the last 20 years!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierre188098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Just spent two nights at the Wawona Hotel (first time staying in the park) and have to say the it is a very unique destination and oozes charm. The continental breakfast was really, really nice. They have a piano player on Saturday evenings and that was a real treat.

We had a few issues that seemed rather odd. First, there isn't any place to park for hotel registration - nor did the hotel staff care that you had to find a place to park that might, or might not, be anywhere near your room (in this case we had to haul things through the parking lot and across the lawn). Although they give you earplgus, the place is still extremely noisy at night/early morning. Our room did not have a bathroom attached and we received bad information on where to go.

As for going back again, because of the distance to the rest of the park, I'd opt for a place in Curry Village - or find a place outside the park.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Wawona is just what it bills itself as, a quaint older hotel with a very distinguished lineage of visitors, no TV, no in room coffee makers and optional in room bathrooms. But the other reviewers are right, it is getting run down. We stayed in a room with a bathroom at the Washburn Cottage the week before Memorial Day weekend. There were still vacancies. The walls are thin and the lights are kept purposely dim in the rooms.

The location is everything. It is 35 to 40 minutes of winding roads to the tunnel view in the valley. But the food and gas prices in the Wawona Hotel and convenience store are crazy high. I would advise stopping in Oakhurst (junction of 49 and 41 south of park) and getting gas and food. Don’t worry, the main bear rule is to keep nothing in your car, rooms are fine.

But the location is everything. To stay at Oakhurst would add 45 minutes to your valley floor trip. But be forewarned, Wawona Hotel is telling the truth. It is an over 100 year old hotel with few modern conveniences.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CincinnatiPiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed at the Wawona Hotel in October 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It was like stepping into one of my grandparents' photographs and was a magical experience. We booked our rooms through Priceline, and so while they were (relatively) inexpensive, they were also the leftovers. That being said, everything was lovely and charming. There are no phones or televisions in the rooms, but having them would ruin the charm of the hotel. There is WiFi in the lounge farthest away from the main lobby. There are personal touches everywhere and the facilities are well maintained. Folks planning on staying here should do their research...this is an old, and historic facility, and as such will not have all the mod cons we are used to nowadays. So there are no tv's...have a conversation! It was fantastic to drink hot toddies , listen to the live
piano, and spend quality time with each other. To modernise anything would be like putting false eyelashes on the Mona Lisa, because we think she'd look better! This is a lovely hotel, and we plan on returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsskceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corning ne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

a historic hotel with rustic charm that needs updating badly . Yosemite is the crown jewel of the park system ,but this place is showing its age and its staff should be ashamed of how it is run for the price that is charged and the service that they give .A noisy hotel with thin walls and loud closing doors ( THEY LEAVE EAR PLUGS ON THE NIGHT STAND FOR YOU),Needs to be remodeled so each room has its own bath . As for the restaurant , what a joke !!! if you are a party of six you can make a reservation , but if your a party of two you wait in line all day while the person running the dining room takes each group to their table while all of us in line to eat wait for her to come back and then do it again ,and again ,and again!!!!!! (THEN GIVES YOU ATTITUDE WHEN YOU SPEAK UP FOR YOURSELF) . yeah its overpriced ,but hey, your on vacation, right.!!! Breakfast should start earlier than 7am and be a buffet so you don't wait around all day as again a line forms and the person running the dining room takes each party to their table while the rest of us wait in line again. I bailed out on breakfast as i had already had enough problems getting dinner the night before . The swimming pool has not been usable for years i was told . staff said it needs concrete repairs ??? the parking is far away from the rooms and you walk across a lawn that is un -even and hard to walk across .the sprinklers were almost always running but it still looked bad . Now i know i was not staying at the ahwanee and and was not expecting the same amenities .BUT I DID EXPECT THAT A HOTEL IN THE CROWN JEWEL OF THE NAT. PARK SYSTEM WOULD BE A BETTER FACILITY WITH PEOPLE THAT KNOW HOW TO RUN IT.

Room Tip: Stay in a room with its own bathroom and bring your own food .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

They asked for feedback and this is my comments....
The quality of the rooms available in the hotel is simply not good enough. I do not accept that a "quaint" hotel offers dingy rooms:-
1. not only with no bathroom facilities, but having to endure listening to someone using their "facilities" next door via an adjoining door. This is completely unacceptable standard.
2. The room are in fact no better than a bed. I accept no TVs, but no wash facilities, no clothing storage, no iron, no shampoo, no Internet, no hairdrier, shared (dirty and tacky) toilet/bathroom between 8 rooms, no coffee making, no fridge, no bar after 9:30 (I now laugh at this one)........the list could go on and on and on.
Given the price we paid, the facilities were not good enough.
I was totally and completely ripped off.
Having traveled around 3 states (Calif,Nevada,Arizona) in 3 weeks staying in numerous hotels of various standards and prices, this was by far the worst value for money I experienced not only on this trip, but on any trip I have ever taken.
The dining service (food quality and staff) was the *only* plus point.
This hotel ruined my visit to Yosemite National Park. You have been warned.

Room Tip: Simply do not go to this dump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allybally354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
22.2 km away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
36.6 km away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
22.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
22.2 km away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
18.5 km away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Trees Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Trees Lodge

Property: Big Trees Lodge
Address: 8308 Wawona Road, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Wawona Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Trees Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Trees Lodge is cherished as one of the most respected and most frequently visited Yosemite hotels. Its authentic Victorian architecture features beautiful white buildings, classic verandas and lush natural surroundings. At the Big Trees Lodge, there's something for everyone-including golf, tennis, horseback riding, or fishing. Evenings are spent gathered around the piano for musical performances in the lounge. Big Trees Lodge dining is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Big Trees Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wawona Hotel Yosemite National Park
Wawona Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing