We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Ready for Prime Time!”
Review of Big Trees Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Big Trees Lodge
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Wow - we went last year (2011) for the first time and loved it! This year we came back and brought a friend up. We were all shocked by the issues we had.

1. The breakfast buffet is NO MORE / mgt's cost cutting efforts changed this two weeks ago. We had no idea. We awoke starving only to find out it was a HUGE wait for Costco crap food. We tried to eat it - but it's SO processed and rubbery, it could NOT be any more disgusting.

2. We had to go to Oakhurst - a drive out the park - just to get a real breakfast the next morning.

3. For $250 a night, I got to stay in a hotel
room with a broken leg ripped off the Victorian Chair, with the broken chair leg lying on the floor!! Someone cleverly pushed the chair up against the wall / hoping no one would notice. TOTAL safety issue - Never seen this in my lifetime actually.

4. For spending $800 on a friends room and our room I expected an edible breakfast and a functional hotel room. Curry Tent cabins are a better deal and better sleep than the Wawona. You can at least walk to decent food from there.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xbot77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,450 - 1,456 of 2,129 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend for 3 nights and found it to be a charming, relaxing place removed from the hectic pace of the Valley. We were lucky to have a sink in our room and the shared bath just around the corner. Also we had private parking out back. So the key is to book early and request room 89 in Moore Cottage. There are probably other desireable rooms, but ours was perfect. No TV, but do you need it? With everything around you , it's a nice break to be away from it. Breakfast was acceptable - if you want more, you can order from the menu. Prices are high though. We ate dinner on the porch twice with food from the deli and in the restaurant one night. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerAthens_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I really liked sitting out on the veranda in the late afternoon, enjoying the scenery. I enjoyed the look of the hotel. The rooms were 'cute'. We had two rooms with a bath in between (a Jack and Jill set up). Our rooms were billed for 3 people - NO WAY! There was a double bed in our room and a twin - luckily only two of us needed that room - we slept in separate beds since the double was so small. The room would have been better with one king or queen bed.

Bathroom - mold on the ceiling - and a traditional claw tub shower that when you get the hot water going, the shower curtain sticks to you. Yuck.

Lastly, if we wanted only one room with a bath, then our bath would have only been separated from the next room by a single door - any sound can easily be heard in the rooms adjoining the bath rooms.

Check in was friendly but so slooowww.

Overall, it was a good location for us since the next morning we got up early, walked the Mariposa Trail up to Wawona point and since we were so close, we got there early and beat the crowds. This is the only reason you stay here.

Room Tip: Get a room with a bath so you don't have to schlep to the bathrooms at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicago Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We are working in the hotel industry (in Switzerland) and have never been so disappointed. We paied almost 200 Dollar for a small room without bathroom, it was very loud, the internet wasn't working and we had to wait 20 minutes for the check-in. But don't forget, there wasn't another client before us, the staff had 20 minutes in order to make our (and the only at the reception) check-in!

Us have been told, that for a historic hotel, that is normal how it is. NO! In Switzerland we have many historic hotel and you just can keep them up to date without loosing the historic touch. They just want to make as money possible, without any quality! It reminds me in overal, how the US hotel industry came down the last 20 years!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pierre188098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Just spent two nights at the Wawona Hotel (first time staying in the park) and have to say the it is a very unique destination and oozes charm. The continental breakfast was really, really nice. They have a piano player on Saturday evenings and that was a real treat.

We had a few issues that seemed rather odd. First, there isn't any place to park for hotel registration - nor did the hotel staff care that you had to find a place to park that might, or might not, be anywhere near your room (in this case we had to haul things through the parking lot and across the lawn). Although they give you earplgus, the place is still extremely noisy at night/early morning. Our room did not have a bathroom attached and we received bad information on where to go.

As for going back again, because of the distance to the rest of the park, I'd opt for a place in Curry Village - or find a place outside the park.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Wawona is just what it bills itself as, a quaint older hotel with a very distinguished lineage of visitors, no TV, no in room coffee makers and optional in room bathrooms. But the other reviewers are right, it is getting run down. We stayed in a room with a bathroom at the Washburn Cottage the week before Memorial Day weekend. There were still vacancies. The walls are thin and the lights are kept purposely dim in the rooms.

The location is everything. It is 35 to 40 minutes of winding roads to the tunnel view in the valley. But the food and gas prices in the Wawona Hotel and convenience store are crazy high. I would advise stopping in Oakhurst (junction of 49 and 41 south of park) and getting gas and food. Don’t worry, the main bear rule is to keep nothing in your car, rooms are fine.

But the location is everything. To stay at Oakhurst would add 45 minutes to your valley floor trip. But be forewarned, Wawona Hotel is telling the truth. It is an over 100 year old hotel with few modern conveniences.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CincinnatiPiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed at the Wawona Hotel in October 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It was like stepping into one of my grandparents' photographs and was a magical experience. We booked our rooms through Priceline, and so while they were (relatively) inexpensive, they were also the leftovers. That being said, everything was lovely and charming. There are no phones or televisions in the rooms, but having them would ruin the charm of the hotel. There is WiFi in the lounge farthest away from the main lobby. There are personal touches everywhere and the facilities are well maintained. Folks planning on staying here should do their research...this is an old, and historic facility, and as such will not have all the mod cons we are used to nowadays. So there are no tv's...have a conversation! It was fantastic to drink hot toddies , listen to the live
piano, and spend quality time with each other. To modernise anything would be like putting false eyelashes on the Mona Lisa, because we think she'd look better! This is a lovely hotel, and we plan on returning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsskceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
24.4 km away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,689 reviews
23.6 km away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,943 reviews
36.6 km away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,213 reviews
22.4 km away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
7.3 km away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Trees Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Trees Lodge

Address: 8308 Wawona Road, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Wawona Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: $396 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Trees Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Trees Lodge is cherished as one of the most respected and most frequently visited Yosemite hotels. Its authentic Victorian architecture features beautiful white buildings, classic verandas and lush natural surroundings. At the Big Trees Lodge, there's something for everyone-including golf, tennis, horseback riding, or fishing. Evenings are spent gathered around the piano for musical performances in the lounge. Big Trees Lodge dining is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Big Trees Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wawona Hotel Yosemite National Park
Wawona Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing