We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
34
38
14
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
38
14
10
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 104 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The lodge are located inside the Yosemite park in a great position that allows you to reach all the places from where most of the trails start. We stayed in the condo lodge, really well equipped, with kitchen, laundry room, TV, fire place, barbeque and WI-FI connection that actually was not working.. but you cannot ask more considering that you are in the middle of Yosemite park! (I would suggest the owner simply not to include WI-FI in the services list…). We also had the chance to see from our balcony a bear walking close to lodge! Beautiful experience! It’s a pity that the place is not so well maintained (in our room window was not closing well, mosquitoes’ net was out of order) because the place is really nice! Overall I would definitively suggest it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank enzo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We booked 2 nights in August, my only regret is that I didn't book 3. This is a well located lodge, central to all that you might like to see in the park. The lodge was spotlessly clean, with everything that you could need to make a comfortable stay. Soundproofing between the lodges isn't great, but it isn't too intrusive either. A great BBQ on the balcony we cooked beautiful steaks after a days trekking - fabulous with a cold beer on a warm peaceful balcony.
If I was to request one thing from a British traveller, it would be a kettle ( boiling water in a pan to make tea, is a pain!)
Beds were comfy, nights were peaceful - lodge was comfy.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Happygirltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2013

For the third time, we stayed in the Falcon's Nest for the Christmas holidays. We love the big, beautiful room with Kay's interesting selection of art and textiles. The apartment was clean and comfortable. There were a few minor maintenance issues (just like at home!) but nothing to hinder our great experience, Sitting by the fire and looking out at 3 feet of new snow was magical. The kitchen was quite adequate for our needs. We didn't cook any major meals but could have. The bedrooms seem to get too warm even when the thermostat isn't turned up but that is easily remedied by opening a window. The driveway was cleared of snow in a timely manner and Danna, the resident manager was helpful and courteous and friendly. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in the loft lodge, in Yosemite West Condo in July 2012, as part of our 2 week trip to the US with our sons aged 22 and 18. It was the only disappointing experience of the holiday. Having booked two nights, we left after the first and stayed in a comfortable motel just outside the park. Air con was not working, kitchen facilities basic, sofa bed very uncomfortable, no one around to greet or to complain to, so we left a note for the owner and heard nothing in reply. We thought before we went that it was important to stay in the park, but there are some good alternatives just outside the gates, and if we went again, we would stay anywhere but here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank CAJGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kay p, Owner at Yosemite Peregrine Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

The review immediately below this one ("Just What We Wanted") is a pretty fair assessment of our two (of 48) condo units. B- 209 where these guests stayed has a much better view as it is of the woods and not a parking lot but there is just one queen bed and the sofa bed, which we will be checking out and most likely be replacing. It's true, there is no air conditioning in our units nor anywhere else in Yosemite West. At 6,000+ elevation people just open the windows and enjoy the fresh air. Summer daytime temperatures in Yosemite West are usually in the upper 70s, and occasionally lower 80's. Generally 10 degrees below Yosemite Valley which is 4,000 ft. elevation. And, it cools down a lot at night. The kitchen is small but hardly basic with a 4 burner stove, a dishwasher, microwave, fridge, toaster, electric kettle, basics such as oil, sugar, flour, herbs.

I'm sorry the guests did not receive a response. The person who cleaned was a new, part time employee who did not report seeing a note to our manager, Danna. As noted in the previous letter, when those guests reported a problem it was handled immediately. Unfortunately, these guests evidently chose not to leave a message when they phoned so Danna was unaware of any problems. We do our best to respond to complaints but we have to know there is a problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed in the Yosemite West Condo B-202 for 8 nights in late July. 2 adults, 2 teenagers.

Location: the great advantage of Yosemite West (YW) is that you can enter Yosemite Park without going through an entrance station. YW is not in the park but the only access to YW is from inside the park. That means no waiting in a line at a park entrance every day (and we saw quite a line one day when we left via the south entrance near Wawona.)

YW is quiet. If you want to be around hundreds or thousands of people all the time, then YW is not for you. Consider Yosemite Valley instead. But if you like it quiet, you will find that in YW. (The only bears we saw during the whole week were in YW.)

The Condo building: Yes, it is a bit old. The walls are not as sound-proofed as you will find in any modern hotel. It is a two-story building. We were on the second floor so no footsteps overhead. Ice machine, Laundry rooms.

Condo B-202: Pantry/refrigerator in a room to the left as you enter. Full bath to the right as you enter. Go two steps farther and you are in the main room. Small galley kitchen to the left. 4 burner electric stove. Smallish dishwasher. Built-in bar style table. Microwave. The main room has a sofa with a fold-out bed (queen, I think) , a comfy chair, a fireplace (we didn't use), a TV, a large supply of movies; a balcony with two plastic chairs, a propane grill, and an uninspiring view of the parking lot. In the loft: 2 queen beds, side by side. A closet/luggage area; and a full bath.

My main objectives in a place like B-202 are 1) a good night's sleep; and 2) ability to prepare simple but good meals for the family.

For sleeping, I give this condo a 3 out of 5.

B-202 does not have air conditioning. The loft has a ceiling fan. During our stay, Yosemite Valley was about 95 degrees during the day. Higher areas such as Glacier Point were 10 to 15 degrees cooler. The loft was warmer than we liked when we went to bed but cooled off so much during the night that we would wake up chilled and grab a blanket. I imagine that the temperature would have been less of a problem during a cooler part of the summer.

The mattresses were comfortable.

For ease of meal prepation, I give this condo a 5 out of 5.

There was a nice assortment of pots when we arrived. There was only one sad skillet but when I pointed this out, they provided a complete new set that very day. Good knives, good cutting board, silverware. The kitchen had basics: oil, flour, some spices. The grill worked fine.

I've stayed in housekeeping condos/cottages all over the place. B-202 is better than most.

If you want luxury, B-202 isn't for you. If you want the sorts of things that my family wanted, B-202 is probably as good as you are likely to get for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 175David175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews