We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,089)
Filter reviews
1,089 results
Traveller rating
676
276
84
34
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
676
276
84
34
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animal orphanage william holden horse riding southern hemisphere beautiful hotel hole golf course the hotel offers hedge maze breakfast and lunch main building mount kenya the cottages beautiful grounds bush dinner colobus monkeys turn down service amazing place
Filter
Updating list...
954 - 959 of 1,089 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Mt Kenya Safari Club is in a beautiful settting. We had a family cottage which was big and luxurious. We were with our 9 and 6 year old boys and friends. The food is generally decent but not brilliant. There are so many things to do, the animal orphanage, game drive at Sweetwaters, horse riding, the kids did it all.

The staff are fantatstic - nothing is to much trouble for anybody. We asked if they could give us a small barbeque, some meat and a salad or 2 at our cottage (South Africans need to watch rugby!). We got back from a game drive and they hoad gone completely OTT. 2 chefs, salad bar, prawns, beef etc on the barbeque, soup starters, desert platters, coffee, hot chocolate, drinks etc etc. They built us 2 bonfires, brought marshmallows for the kids, and decorated the entire place. That is service.

It's comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you have a family, the cottages are brilliant. Two full size bedrooms, each on-suite and a big lunge with a fire place.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The location , looking out towards Mount Kenya, is fantastic. There are a whole host of activities to entertain the family including Golf, riding , fishing , cycling etc. We upgraded from a Deluxe room to a Signature Suite while we were checking in. At check in they offered us an upgrade for USD 70 per night while the normal upgrade cost is USD 300 per night. The suite was excellent ... Spacious with panoramic views of Mt Kenya. The additional attraction was that the equator actually ran through the bedroom of the suite we had ( 103)!
The food was reasonable ( with the breakfasts and dinners being better than lunch). The only slight irritant was the number of kids yelling and running around at mealtimes in the restaurant areas. On the 2nd day we were there, they had arranged meals for the 2 large tour groups ( which the kids were part of) in a separate area. Overall the service was warm , though the checkin could have been handled more efficiently.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doitwhileyoucan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2012

A beautiful place, worthy every money spend and place to go if you want peace and dont forget to visit the animal orphanage. Please stay for atleast two days. If you holiday in kenya and miss this place, you holiday is a waste.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobbyjohn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2012

after going through a hectic safari circuit in Kenya. Picturesque property spread out over a few acres with stunning views of Mt Kenya. Meticulously maintained lawns, gardens & 9 hole golf course. More than adequately comfortable rooms and superlative buffet spread for meals! And if you are there at the right time (we visited in last week of May) a delightful weather. What more can you ask for?

Only downside- wish they were not charging separately for every facility that was on offer......but that really is a petty downside considering doing nothing should be the goal of every visitor at this lavish club!!!!

I really recommend this place!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashishamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2012

we stayed for a night in May. The property is huge and well located, it has amazing views of Mount Kenya, has nice well maintained lawns, large rooms. The fire place, we were told later, would be put on only on the guests' request as some of the guests may have smoke allergy. When we left a comment that services could be better, the Manager Niall Cowan seemed upset and approached us aggressively, asking us as to why we felt so. When we explained about certain things that could be better managed, including and not limited to- pool having cold water and NOT outdoor heated as advertised, no hair dryer in our rooms, very limited vegetarian options for dinner, no fire in fire place etc, the said manager unsuccessfully, tried to explain that it was not so. Apart from this unpleasant experience at the time of checking out, we were very happy with the stay. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful as we experienced in all our stay in Kenya.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viroo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews